We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Inn”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Nice Little Inn”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a great little place that looks like it may have once been an old motel and has been nicely transformed into an inn. I cannot say enough about its strongest point - location! It is within walking distance of most of the wonderful sights and tastes of historic Charleston! The city market is only two short blocks away, Hymans Seafood is across the street, Fig restaurant is on the same block, and King Street is a block away! The breakfast is very nice as well as the afternoon wine and cheese. The courtyard is a great area to sit in while eating or just relaxing after an afternoon of walking the city. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. The staff at the desk was friendly and helpful. I came across only a few negatives to the inn. The parking spots are small and difficult to maneuver a minivan and you have to pay $10 per night to park. The room itself is small especially when you have 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids.) But I was able to unpack and put things away in an orderly fashion to keep us from feeling cramped. The last negative is that the price is high, but I believe you are paying for the location. It is wonderful to be able to walk to everything and not worry about driving and trying to find a parking spot. That said I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The third (top floor) seemed very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theballowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Historically the Indigo Inn was a warehouse for indigo, a chief export of Charleston; the Limehouses made the purchase with the intent to turn
the building into an Inn. I do apologize about the parking lot; there are future plans to develop it
further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    272
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
191
470
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Indigo Inn. The Inn is in a great location! Everything is within walking distance..great restaurants and all the sites of historic Charleston. The breakfast was nothing overly fancy, but served its purpose. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is nice. The courtyard, where you can eat, is very beautiful and relaxing. The room was not overly spacious, but was just fine for what we needed, sleeping and showering! The only complaints we had was that the AC unit in our room was very loud, you definitely heard every time it kicked on. Also, the area where breakfast is served is not very spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, we were pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVchick421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We chose the Indigo Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The location could not be better, with all of historic Charleston within walking distance, as well as a remarkable number of excellent restaurants. The courtyard, for breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese, was very beautiful and peaceful. The room and bathroom were a little small, but we don't spend much time in a room, and they were comfortable. The only drawback to our room was that it was situated in a corner, and our window looked onto a corridor instead of the courtyard.

Room Tip: A window on the courtyard would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for allowing us to meet your lodging needs; we appreciate your business.
We apologize that you were less than pleased in the mini-suite room with the sitting area.
When you make your future reservation, please ask the Front Desk agent to be placed
in a room with a courtyard view. We look forward to your seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Indigo Inn was very well located near many restarurants and in walking distance of the College of Charleston and the port from which the boat to Ft. Sumter leaves. There is a lovely courtyard where breakfast and wine and cheese may be enjoyed. the one problem was a very congested parking lot where it was very difficult to back out and move around. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts offered a nice variety of choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpirit33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and for alerting us to the parking situation.
There are future plans to redevelop the parking lot area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed at the Indigo Inn on a recent Charleston long weekend getaway. The inn's location is GREAT. Convenient to all downtown Charleston activities and sites. The staff overall was very friendly, and there were some nice "extras" (such as the afternoon wine and cheese hour, and the enclosed courtyard). The room, while certainly fine for what we needed (sleep and shower), was not luxurious by any stretch. But again, we were out early walking the city, and returning late in the evening from dinner; so the accommodations were fine for us. The rates are not inexpensive, but pretty much in-line with other properties in this area. Overall, the place sort of grew on us, and we'd likely stay here again. One item to note: this is a pet-friendly inn, just FYI.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mettawa,il.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great hotel. Nice locaton,friendly staff,good breakfast in lovely courtyard,offstreet parking. Air conditioner could have been a little better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Indigo Inn is situated in a great, close to the Market, shopping and restaurants location. This re-do of a former budget hotel is very creative. The rooms are nicely appointed, but bathrooms are small. Beds are very comfortable. Courtyard is nicely done with a good bit of seating - necessary given the small size of the lobby. Service OK but impersonal. Breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese offering are mediocre. Parking fee of $10 per night was a surprise. Overall, not a bad choice, but a bit pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing