We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This will do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This will do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel will suffice but it's nothing to write home about. It's a standard Marriott. It's neither old nor brand new/remodeled. The rooms are clean and comfortable but there's nothing to be excited about.

The location is about a mile and a half from downtown. A long walk or an overpriced hotel shuttle ride away (it really should be free).

There is a decent outdoor area to enjoy the weather. The pool area was nice, minus the hot tub which was empty of water.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    367
    175
    75
    35
See reviews for
215
326
36
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

To Whom it may concern,
On Thursday, Mar 1st, 2012, my wife and I had a very busy day at work. It was actually a record setter for our business. The only point that I am trying to make with that is that we both were very tired at the end of the day. We got out of work late, and then we drove the 200 miles to Charleston to the Charleston Marriot. We were even more tired by the time we got to Charleston, I believe after 11 pm but before midnight. My wife was dying for a hot soak in a tub. We got upstairs (I think room 305), threw our stuff on the bed, ran into the bathroom, and voila, there was crud all in the bottom of the tub. It was very dirty, and actually looked like some kinda fungus. I was so stunned that I did not believe a hotel at the level of the Marriot would have a dirty tub. So I threw some water on the crud, and yes it was simply crud. The water moved it. I decided not to throw up. I complained to the desk who put us into another room (321). The next morning I decided to complain to the manager, especially since out new room only had a shower, and my wife loves tubs (Now, I have a new thing I must ask hotels for in the future and that is, “Do you have a shower or tub, or a tub with a shower,” because in my travels around the world and at age 62, I have NEVER experienced a hotel that only had a shower, and no tub, although that is popular in Europe, but we are not in Europe). Never! But, before I went down to the manager, I discovered some trash on the floor. It was the collar backing and other materials for a new shirt, just laying on the floor, in the open, at the foot of the bed. A perfectly appropriate spot to try on a shirt. The point is, now, we have two things pointing to poor housekeeping in two separate rooms. I gave this to the manager who was gracious, and gave us coupons for 2 breakfast’s. In passing he asked if there was anything else he could do, and I said, yes, my wife does not like showers and if you have a room with a tub, that would be nice. After a few moments he smiled and said yes, he did , and it was close to where we were already staying. It was room 310. I was excited, and texted my wife to go to a different room when she was on break. So, I went to check out the room. Good thing. When I got within a few doors of the room I noticed the hotel had a dryer on the hall floor as it was apparently wet. There were also towels strategically placed up against a couple of room doors, and I presume to keep water from going under the doors. Well, they had the cord to the blower plugged into the room that I was just given. I walked into the room and since the bathroom is the first room off to the side when you enter, the very first thing I saw was a commode full of crap. Yes, “feces.” Not just loose stuff laying around. I was absolutely livid when I saw this. I hurriedly went back down stairs and bit my tongue (on purpose) and told the manager what I just saw, and that I would be staying put where I was. I had to bite my tongue so as not to completely lose my temper and explode into a verbal rage. By this point, it almost felt like this was on purpose, but that would not have been logical, so I brushed that thought aside, but one still feels that way, even when it gets corrected. I quickly texted my wife that we would not be moving. So, my morning was now shot, and by now, my wife is thoroughly confused as she is getting the texts all at once, and did not get them separately as I was sending them, so she was really confused. Well, later in the day, Jeanne and I decided to go out for a nice dinner and enjoy Charleston. And then of course, after a nice dinner, we had wanted to have some quiet personal time. Just as we were leaving I realized that the door wasn’t locking when you closed it. We went back into the room and called the desk, who sent a maintenance man up to repair it. I asked him to please secure the room after he fixed the door, that my wife and I were going out to dinner. No Problem. We went out, and when we got back around 9:30 I reached for the door and it was not locked, yes our room had been left exposed to whoever may have staggered into it. So again I called the desk, and again they sent a maint guy up, Same guy it turns out. He spent an hour on the door and finally it appeared to be fixed. (yeah, it was now around 10:30). Of course to add to this excitement, there is a rooftop lounge near room 321, and Holy Cow. The freaking noise is horrendous. While the guy was there fixing the door, there was a loud verbal altercation going on in the hall. After he left, my wife and I pretty much just watched TV in our angry stupor. Believe me, at this point we had lost all feelings of any quiet time just for us. But, the door held and I thought, finally. So the next morning we got up checked the door, and it held, so we went to breakfast. After breakfast we decided to take a short drive around before Jeanne’s next class. Well, on the way out of the door, it did not hold, so again I am calling the front desk. I demanded to be placed in the Courtyard Marriot, and yes I felt the front desk staff should have called and made the reservation. The receptionist sounded a bit surprised when I asked her to call and make the reservation. I am sorry, but you all, Marriot hotel, had put us out, and I mean really out by this point. A few minutes later, a room manager called and told us our last two nights were not being charged for, and he got us a room on the tenth floor. The room was ok. I say ok because I could smell the lingering aroma of cigarette smoke. It was very faint, but I could still smell it. At this point that was relatively minor. That was probably leftover smoke from when the hotel was a Sheraton, and back in those days smoking was allowed in almost all hotels/motels. It is very difficult to get rid of, although there are some paints out there that will obliterate the leftover smell. That is your problem not mine. Our problem was simply that we wanted to enjoy Charleston along with the conference, but our stay in your hotel was absolutely horrendous. So much happened to us, and I was wasting so much time just dealing with the front trying to resolve things, and then just waiting forever for all these things to be done. I got real depressed, gave up and no longer wanted to do anything but get out of the Marriot, and Charleston. Besides there was no time to do anything else but get depressed.
I could go on for hours, but let me put it simply; If you actually read this, What would any of you have done if you had gone somewhere to stay in a so called choice hotel, and all this crap happened? This was the 2nd worse hotel we have ever stayed in. The first was a Travelodge in Columbia. I would rank the Charleston Marriot pretty low on the rating scale.
One might ask, why did I wait so long to send this complaint out? I was so angry over this, that every time I sat down to write this, I would get fuming mad, my blood pressure goes up and I could only now finish this and get it out. The other side to that is that, most of the time people settle out after they have had some time to calm down. I am really really really perturbed over the way we were treated, and what we had to endure. The Charleston Marriot was on a mission to insure we had the worse stay ever in a hotel (I would not want anyone to be subjected to what we experienced), so now I am on a mission to make this as known as I can. I know that is not logical, nor does it make sense, but does any of this story make sense?
Sincerely, Don Fowler

Room Tip: I have no clue as we certainly could not get one. 4 rooms in 3 days. Of course we only stayed in 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Contacted Mr Fowler, apologized for the dreadful experience and explained the unfortunate pipe issue we experienced during his visit.
We are a much better service organization than what Mr & Mrs Fowler experienced and they have accepted my offer to come back in July to give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves with them as customers.
Their experience will be much better on their next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Over priced small room and I was turned off by the irritation the girl at the front desk expressed to every especially when she answered how may I be of service and treat a simple request for towels as if we had asked her to grow the cotton and make them herself. The rooms were very small and the bar in the lobby over priced. Considering the amount of money we paid we also had to pay 6 dollars a day for the shuttle that travels 2 miles to the historic district. The shuttle drivers seemed tired and didn't offer the best reccomendations. If im ever in this town I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearittack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Last minute reservation while traveling home, stopped for the night. First two rooms quite musky, third room had ac problems, fourth room ok. Staff were understanding, pleasant and tried to help satisfy us. Tried to give us an upgraded room which we didn't need or want, but it was very kind of them. Went to their rooftop bar which was a fabulous spot on the third floor. Then bartender/waitress was quite nice and left a lasting impression of her service, professionalism, friendliness, and attitude. Although we did have some problems, they were resolved and eventually we had a pleasant night's stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliot_in_LARGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
636 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My stay was great, the hotel grounds are scenic and relaxing. The only time we had down time on our business trip was at the hotel, so we were lucky we picked this location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I travel to lots of Marriotts and i have to say that John is hands down the niciest individual i have met. Not only does he remember your name, but also what you were drinking and why you are even here in the first place. I highly recommend visiting the concierge room if you have the opportunity. BTW, the food is good as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel staff knows me by name, and treat me like family.
The rooms are immaculate, the room service is the best and the delivery person always greets me by name....and "welcome back". The Concierge staff, John (in the afternoon), and Melissa (in the morning) go out of their way to provide for you. They even hold the food and snacks sometimes even if I get there after hours.
I travel out of the country a lot, and always stay at Marriott properties. The staff here are as good as they get.
Bill H.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.4 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing