We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Elegant B&B”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Before visiting An Inn on York Street, I read all the accolades this establishment received. After having visited one lovely weekend in November, I will say that they are all justified.

The owners - Mark and Sandie - do everything to make your visit memorable. My wife does not eat meat and Sandie accomodated her dietary restrictions with lovely dinner and breakfast alternatives. The most amazing thing is that we did not tell the owners ahead of time about this, but Sandie managed to whip up a delicious meal for my wife on quick notice. That alone is A+ service in my book.

The Mark Twain room was lovely. The furniture fit in perfectly with the decor of the entire house. We were also given the "grand tour" of the home when we arrived and the entire home is furnished beautifully. The dinner rated 5 stars and the breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. I know you get freebie breakfasts at some of the hotels these days, but you won't find cold cereals, pre-fabricated waffles or cold eggs and bacon at An Inn on York Street!

This English B&B was delightful in every way. The people who own it are charming and gracious. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you are in the Charlotte area or on your way to Columbia, SC...or just make this a destination visit to Chester, SC, because it is so worth it!

Room Tip: All the rooms in An Inn at York are beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHtoNC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Beautifully restored home with immaculate grounds. Everything is first class. Mark and Sandie are the ultimate host and hostess. Sandie is a fantastic cook. It doesn't get any better than this!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is a beautiful bed & breakfast run by a beautiful English couple who have managed to combine southern hospitality with their English background to make for a unique experience. They went above and beyond all of our other experiences in bed & breakfast accomodations. The house and grounds are lovely. The furnishings and decor are beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were yummy and an enjoyable breakfast experience, but the dinner we were served in the evening was not only very tasteful and enjoyable, but served in a very stylish European manner. Any needs we had were meant with a smile. The Innkeepers were fantastic at offering information of places to eat and visit in the area. We hope to have an opportunity to return. We were there to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary and it was an anniversary to be remembered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddeKernersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I spent two nights here with my fiance. It was our first stay at a B&B and it exceeded our best expectations. Two older couples whose stay at the Inn overlapped with ours cautioned us that having An Inn on York Street as our first B&B experience might set the bar unreasonably high for future B&Bs. We felt relaxed and charmed on every inch of the property, from our room to the common areas, the porch swing, and the front-yard hammock. But it was our hosts who made the stay. They were fun, genuine people we feel lucky to have had the opportunity to meet.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms. The least expensive available is small, but I wouldn't shy away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutuzov H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband & I just spent two nights at the Inn on York Street and can’t say enough about it. The owners, Mark & Sandie are so down to earth and so much fun. They made us feel like we were part of their extended family. The Inn itself is just beautiful. The beds were just so comfortable with the beautiful linens & décor of the home. The bathroom was so amazing beautiful... Everything was very clean and comfortable. Mark & Sandie were very entertaining and just a joy to be around. But the food was out of this world. Sandie is an amazing cook. What she could do with a simple pear or peach to prepare it so it tasted like a little piece of heaven!!! The entire breakfast meal was out of this world. Dinner was as if we had gone out to a 5 star restaurant!! There is no way you can walk away from their table hungry that is for sure!! The wines were just delicious. We can’t say enough about this B & B and especially the owners. My husband & I would give them 10 stars if we could and highly recommend anyone taking a couple of days and spending at this resort.

Room Tip: All four rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseG803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Every element of our stay - from the warm hospitality of our hosts, the gourmet meals, the elegance of our room, the ambiance of the pool/porch areas and local attractions - my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed and rank this as our favorite B&B experience. Thanks so much to both Mark and Sandie for a fantastic weekend, as they really went above and beyond to make it a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our stay at An Inn on York Street got off to a great start from the moment we booked it, over the phone with Sandie. The ease of booking and the amount of information shared meant we knew exactly what to look forward to, how to get there and what was included.

Mark welcomed us when we arrived (16 September 2011) and it felt like we were being welcomed home after a long time away. Although we'd never been before, and had not met Mark or Sandie previously, we were quick to relax and call it "home" for the next few days. We stayed in the Noel Coward Suite, and loved the good quality sheets, toiletries and - amazing for a B&B - the flatscreen / widescreen TV on the wall! Although we were there to explore and relax, it was nice to be able to watch the news and put a movie on after dinner.

There are two highlights of our stay. Firstly - you need to be aware that Sandie is an excellent cook, and the meals we had at the Inn were among the very best we've had in the USA. Forget the diet for the weekend, and don't even think about saying no to any of the food on offer. Forget the dreary breakfast you've had at B&Bs in the past - that's not the case at this Inn. You'll be presented with a range of delicious dishes, some that you've never had before - we enjoyed the baked spiced plums, and sausage plait with apple sauce in particular. The evening meal was even more impressive, and (along with Mark's Italian wine pairings) showed off Sandie's talent as a chef beyond any doubt. Favourites were the cracking crab dip and the perfect pork. And that brings me to the second highlight - Mark's skills as a host, including not only impeccable service (and trust me, we're picky about service) but as the ideal Innkeeper and Maitre D' for the evening meal. In fact, his jokes and entertainment were the only thing that distracted us from the fabulous food in front of us, otherwise I'm sure there would have been no conversation at all!

The area was as enjoyable as we'd expected, and we had a number of fun trips locally, so if you have any reason to be in South Carolina (or simply want to lock yourself away in a little bit of luxury and me-time), this is your place to stay.

Other guests? Yes - we saw them at mealtimes - they were great company.
What's good in the area? History; Scenery; and, apparently, golf.
Will we return? Undoubtedly.
Would we recommend it to you? ......Book and go. Now. What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: Noel Coward room has Hermes toiletries, a flatscreen TV and the most comfortable bed ever. The show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
15.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
73 reviews
33.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
15.8 km away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 7 in Richburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 22 in Rock Hill
636 reviews
16.4 km away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
197 reviews
33.3 km away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Property: An Inn on York Street
Address: 164 York St, Chester, SC 29706-1487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing