We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice and Quiet and Welcoming.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Columbia
Hamilton, Ont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet and Welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

This actually was our third stay at this Hotel which is located close to I-77. The rooms are very nice and large and although this is located next to a hospital we have always found it to be very quiet.
The breakfast is still the old style Courtyard Buffet and it is of a higher quality and the service is excellent. We have always found the staff to be very accommodating and pleasant and the rom cost very competitive. Seems like a welcoming place to stop on the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starsky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    62
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
63
32
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The manager and staff went out of their way to give me exceptional service. The room was comfortable, enjoyable and very clean, but it was the extra attention of staff that made a good hotel wonderful. I will come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on our way to Hilton Head. Had 3 rooms due to size of family (5 adults, 5 kids and 1 infant) and each room was very nice, clean and comfortable.

Evening desk clerk (I wish I knew his name) he was very friendly, kind and helpful, even with working 13 days straight. Just a very pleasant person.

Requested a portacrib in 1 room and a rollaway in another when I made the reservation and both were there when we checked in. They even had a portacrib sheet and small baby blanket with the portacrib.

Had the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning and it was great! The staff was so pleasant and helpful, especially to the 5 kids in our party.

Would definately stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

It was my first trip to South Carolina and my first stay in a Courtyard hotel. It was great. We arrived very late. Hotel staff promptly responded to the doorbell. The room was great. The staff was great; front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, and the coffee bar worker. They full demonstrated "Southern Hospitality". They asnwered every question knowledgeable and offered assistance to ensure a comfortable staff. The evening cookies were a bonus!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjefferson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at your hotel back in Jan 11, 2010. I know it has been a while gut due to my medical conition and not knowning about this site I didn't leave a review...I must say this hotel made me feel at home the service was great and the staff for evening around 3:00 p.m. was the best..My husband flew in from Saudi Arabia for medical reason and it was our anniversary. I came there to see the room with Jacuzzi and when we arrive the room was decorated with everything and more...The customer service was great as well...I would recommend everybody to come there keep up the good work....Oh i had to put August but it was really Jan 11, 2010....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This was a pit stop for us as we were traveling from OH to FL. Marriott and especially their Courtyard brand has a reputation for excellence so I didn't even bother to look at reviews for this property. Boy, was I wrong!! First off, we were traveling with two small children (2yrs and 4yrs). Therefore, staying at a clean hotel is essential because they kids are all over the floor. I paid for up upgraded suite that included breakfast (with a whirlpool tub for the kids to help bath time be more exciting). We were in room 137 and it was TERRIBLE. First, off it is hard to get over the MILDEW smell as we are walking in. There were two dead bugs in the bathroom. I am not one to complain so I thought maybe we could just air out the room a little....no luck there the screen in the room has 100 holes in. So unless we wanted a bug infested room too, I decided not to open the window. My husband went down to the front desk to ask if they could just move us to another room. We were told that they were booked and we couldn't move to another room. We pulled the bedsheets back and there were two brown spots on the white sheets. They weren't on our pillows so we just made the best of it. In the morning, my husband went down to ask the front desk about our breakfast which was included. The woman at the front desk told us we didn't pay for the breakfast with our booking on expedia. She said "we don't offer the breakfast on expedia anymore." She proceeded to give my husband the breakfast tickets reluctantly as he insisted we did. At the bottom this review, I cut/pasted from my Expedia itinerary were it states breakfast was included!! At check-in, I asked the attendant if she knew of any playgrounds nearby were my kids could play (since we had been in the car for 9 hours)? After a long pause, she said..."no". She didn't offer any suggestions either. I know the Courtyard likes to cater to the business professional customer but they need to step up their customer service. Bottom line is this, DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel is gross. It is located just a few miles from a correctional facility and mental hospital (just FYI).

Traveler and cost summary Expedia Special Rate
Reserved for:
Stacey CaChat Hotel: 2 adults King Whirlpool Room Nonsmoking-Stay for Breakfast
Includes: Breakfast for 2
7/11: $119.00 $89.25 per night
Taxes & Service Fees
(where applicable): $10.57 per night
Amount charged for hotel reservation $99.82

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgruru8810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always appreciate feedback and take our guests' comments very seriously. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The smell in your room has been addressed. The problem arises from when people do not fill the spa tub high enough. When the guests would turn on the jets, water would shoot onto the carpet. We've since mounted a sign that sits on the spa reminding people to make sure the water is up to the "fill" line before operating. Also, we have taken the screen out from the window and inspected it. The screen only had one hole about the size of a pencil. We will be replacing the screen. Too, we have spoken with our front desk agents regarding Expedia reservations and local information to make sure they are up-to-date on proper proccedures. In the future, please take the time to speak with a manager or front desk agent regarding any issues. We strive towards excellent customer service and cannot improve on issues that are not brought to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback. Your comments will help us to improve and make a greater experience for all guests. I would like to invite you at this time to a complimentary night stay at the hotel. Please contact me at Katie.johnson@fowlerhospitality.com and I will be happy to get your mailing address to send you the voucher. We hope to have you stay with us again so that can see for yourself the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Everyone was nice, front desk to cook. They all made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Northeast
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Columbia Northeast
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77

Property: Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77
Address: 111 Gateway Corporate Blvd, Columbia, SC 29203-9612
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NEWLY RENOVATED WITH BISTRO*** Refresh and Rejuvenate at the Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Northeast South Carolina, a hotel designed with you in mind! We are conveniently located close to Fort Jackson, McEntire Air National Guard Base, and Shaw Air Force Base. Whether you are traveling to Columbia to train or to watch a loved one graduate, be sure to choose the Courtyard by Marriott Columbia NE. You will flourish with our spacious rooms, sumptuous bedding & high-tech amenities. Looking to put a little excitement in your trip? Check out Riverbanks Zoo, shop and dine at Village at Sandhill, or bring out your inner child at Plex Indoor Sports! What are you waiting for? Visit us in South Carolina's capital, and let us show you what relaxation is all about at the Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Northeast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Northeast / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Northeast/i-77 Hotel Columbia
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard
Courtyard Columbia Northeast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing