We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday afternoon ”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #19 of 1,051 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere is good and the staff is excellent as is the food. We watched college football and had 2 dozen raw oysters along with the gator nugget special. Loved our bartenders and "shucker"! Everyone was extremely attentive and genuinely nice. Will definitely be back!

Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thanks for an awesome review! We can't wait to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

I've been to pearls restaurant many times. The Happy hour is fantastic, however it could be very busy and Fill up quickly. So get there early. We had two dozen oysters and some drinks. Great value, great oysters crab, great restaurant!

Thank avatarjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Thanks for an awesome review! Join us for happy hour again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Pearlz always has a lively after work crowd. A little more upscale than other Vista bars and most restaurants, yet not expensive. Oysters are flown in from all over North America, wherever they happen to be in season. While oysters are their mainstay, I like their shrimp soft tacos. If you like shots, the oyster shot is obligatory. Great bartenders and wait staff there on Gervais street, just a block away from the State House.

Pearlz offers great jazz, upstairs, on weekends. A free comedy show is held the first Wednesday of each month.

If you need to unwind after work, get thee to Pearlz!

Thank cburne7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoy joining us after a long day at work. That is what we are here for- a place to unwind ! We hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016

The food was good! I had shrimp and grits. The grits were buttery/cheesy and yummy - the shrimp good size. Too bad they leave the tails on the shrimp - makes for messy eating!

Thank G5116EVrobertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed the shrimp and grits..and will look into the issue with the tails-on! We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016

I had read that this place can be very loud and crowded so we timed getting there just after it opened at 4:00 p.m. on a week day which meant we were the first to be seated and by the time we left, even though the booths were full and the middle section was filling up, it still wasn't noisy. I had the hot crab dip which was very cheesy and delicious, the parmesan potato gratin (which was a tower of cheese and potatoes), and a dozen steamed oysters. The oysters were a medium size but that's fine with me because I don't like the colossal ones. My husband had the seafood gumbo which he said was spicy, hot (temperature-wise), and delicious. He also had the broccoli slaw which was dry but has a good cabbage/onion/broccoli flavor without being drowned in mayonnaise like we get in other places. He also had the steamed oysters. Our server was attentive and friendly and the manager checked on us several times which shows that what we thought of the place and our food was important to the restaurant. This wasn't our first time at one of the chain's properties because we have eaten at TBonz (Myrtle Beach), Liberty Tap Room (Columbia and Mt. Pleasant), Kaminsky's (Charleston), and Flying Fish (Myrtle Beach) and have been pleased with all the rest of them so we weren't surprised when we enjoyed this place as well. We would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cruiseaddict97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback and for all the kind comments! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us and have always enjoyed your time at our sister restaurants. We most certainly look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing