We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Up to Marriott's Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not Up to Marriott's Standards”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Convenient to the Interstate, but this property did not measure up as a Marriott property. Our first room was across from the elevator on the second floor. A loud buzzing persisted for several hours and when I investigated, I found that someone had kicked in the door of the elevator equipment room, and although the lock held, the door was sprung and the alarm was going off. We changed to a room at the end of the hall, but the noise continued. The carpet in the second room was soaking wet around one of the beds. Too tired to move again. When we left at 10 the next morning, the alarm was still buzzing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texaholic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. You are absolutely right about that noise on the second floor. The door that keeps that sound inaudible has been damaged. I understand how annoying that must have been right outside your door. We are currently working to correct the problem and should be fixed very soon.
Our mission is guest satisfaction. I invite you to e-mail me at andrew.lucas@ihrco.com so I can further inquire about your stay, and how we can better serve you on your next visit. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    310
    192
    89
    53
See reviews for
420
168
70
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FLA.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stopped for one night on the way home. Very clean,quiet and modern. Great service and decent location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

the room was nice...the staff were nice...the location is fine but the neighborhood seems interesting. I read about the "possibility" of car break ins as it "seems to be in a seedy area" but I had no problem and it was well lit. I even said this to the management and they said cameras are there so ....anyway, outside of being out of coffee and lacking support staff the next morning it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yodiyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you so much for your visit and review! We appreciate every chance we get to hear from our guests, either online or in person.
I can understand your comments after reading the previous remarks from past guests. As in any location there is always the danger of crime, but with our security measures instances have been few and very far between. Because we value your safety as well as your vehicles and possessions we do keep a well-lit parking lot and staff to monitor the area 24 hrs a day.

I will also take this opportunity to share with our travel community our best practices for thwarting vandalism where ever you go. Always lock all doors, park in a well-lit area, remove valuables from sight (i.e. gps, cell phones, and purses), and if you must leave items in the car, please put them in the trunk. Whenever in doubt always use the Guest Services Representatives as your resource.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel room was nice and up to date. The pool was a nice size and they have towels out for everyone in the morning time... the staff doesn't provide pool towels throughout the day so if you don't get one in the morning then you aren't going to get one at all that day. The pool also gets cleaned in the morning so it has a lot of leaves and trash in it in the afternoon. The breakfast is a bit pricey to me.... you would think paying $119/night you can at least have a free breakfast or at least some bagles.... While checking in I was told my daughter (5 yrs old) ate breakfast free but it turned out she was $5. They have a small buffet sitting out but you might want to go early in the morning because we went around 9am and the grits/oatmel/gravy had got clumpy,,, you could tell they didn't stear it or anything.BTW, You have to make your own waffles.. The hotel does make you feel safe... you have to have key to get into every door besides the front door. They do have computers with internet access and a printer in the lobby for the guests to use. The hotel is in a really nice location, it took us 4 mins to chuck e cheese and about 6 to Columbia Zoo > which were both AWESOME<!! The gym is a really nice size, has 2 tvs in the room to watch while you are working out. The day staff is really nice but the night clerk is kidda out there, lol. In all it's a nice place to lay down and go to sleep :-) Walmart is right across the street from the hotel!!! Hope yall have fun traveling!!!

Room Tip: As for rooms that have been renovated (flat screen TVs are in all updated rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denasia_alyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This hotel has been by far the best hotel I have stayed at. It is excellent and far surpassed my expectations for a hotel. The lobby smelled like cinnamon and there was a saxophone player taking requests from guests. The staff was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about events happening around town. The breakfast was superb (included with hotel price) and offered substantial microwave dinners and snacks. If you are looking for the perfect downtown, conveniently located hotel, look no further then the Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0max0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Very nice hotel. I really liked the workout room as it was very large and had plenty of room (although it was missing a few dumbells). King size room seemed a little small but nice. No refrigerator which would also be nice. I think they have a few small refrigerators floating around that you can request.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkS587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I've stayed here a few times and it continues to be a great place. And they've made some major improvements to the lobby/restaurant/business section of the hotel. Rooms continue to be comfortable and clean. Love the ease of getting coffee in the morning in the lobby and free newspapers. Two things needed (IMHO): a large mirror above the dresser and a place to have a cocktail.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilohSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#20 of 94 in Columbia
598 reviews
15.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
6.7 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
0.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Address: 347 Zimalcrest Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-6833 (Formerly Hotel Zimalcrest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#25 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Northwest Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia Northwest
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing