We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your hard-earned money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites at the University
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your hard-earned money”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The room smelled musty. The batting in the comforter was loose and was a very poor quality comforter. There was no counter space in the bathroom. We had to put up the ironing board to have somewhere to place our toiletries. In the shower, there was no water pressure. The drain cover was not attached to the drain. There wasn't even any screw holes in the cover to attach it with. A black spider crawled out from under the shower. The springs in the mattress to the sleeper sofa stuck in our backs so hard, there was no way we could lay on it. We had to take the cushions off the sofa and put them on the floor. We then placed the sheet and blanket over the cushions. My family chose this hotel because we thought that it was reasonably priced, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb04064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    45
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
72
22
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here for my sons freshman orientation at CC University. It was ok/tolerable considering price and proximity to University. It would have been very disappointing for a vacation. The hotel was rough around the edges in that it seemed like maintenance was a bit lacking. For instance, the light switch in the bathroom of one of our.two rooms didn't work unless you played with it, door trim was missing on the bathroom door, the TV appeared to be older than my son and the furnishings seemed worn and outdated. We wanted a place.to crash for one night and so it served its purpose. If I have to go down for just one night again we'll probably try another place in the area or deal with this hotel again. In October we are planning a long weekend (2-3 nights) down there to relax and visit our son. We'll probably pass on comfort suites at the University for that visit. By the way the complimentary breakfast wasn't bad. Scrambled eggs, make your own waffles, sausage, bagels etc. The room it was in is small so it could be crowded. Worst thing about it.... everything.... plates, cups etc was plastic or styrofoam and there wasn't a recycling bin in sight. Stinks that all that material will still be sitting in a landfill long after my son graduates... heck, long after my son's kids graduate from college for that matter!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Nothing special about the place but never nice overall. Good spacious room, everything was cleaned and maintained well. Comfortable seating area and bed in room. Only minor problem was room air conditioner which cycled on and off every 30 seconds. Close enough to Myrtle Beach without getting caught in the crowds, although highway in front of hotel can be extremely busy. Very good stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Datman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. Our room was very musty...not sure what the odor was coming from. Bed was comfortable. Refrigerator and microwave in room but otherwise doesn't deserve being called a "suite". Breakfast was very basic. Location was convenient to Coastal Carolina University, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0linafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Very good value. Clean room, good bedding, good shower with good water pressure. Free wireless, breakfast included, free parking.

Not a luxury hotel, but convenient to Tanger on 501. Clean and a good value. Breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Researchalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I made a quick trip to Conway to visit a family member and did not have a reservation. I stopped in and asked if I could look at a room before I decided to stay....The staff was friendly and very pleasant and had no problem showing me a room before I booked. She showed me a room immediately and as soon as I saw the room I took it...clean, clean, clean and I am fussy. This hotel is very, very clean for not being brand new....The staff on both days were pleasant and kind. A continental breakfast is served and the area is very clean and many things to choose from...i noticed a high chair and a booster for families that travel with little ones...a nice plus is a flat screen TV to catch the morning news and weather while you enjoy your breakfast. If you visit Conway please take the time to go down town to church street,,,great little town. This is also a young collage town. Love it. Anything you want, they have..The beach is not far and in easy driving distance.....If you eat anywhere in Conway you must eat at “Rotelli's”, if you don't, your lose....They are open 7 days a week and have delicious food and amazing services....I begged the owner to open a restaurant on the west coast of FL.....lunch specials are outstanding, dinner is to die for and their pizza rocks!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMR914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel June 24-25, 2010 while attending our daughters orientation at Coastal Carolina University. Since we didn't know the area, this hotel was close to the campus.
Our room was damp feeling and smelled moldy/mildew. There was an obvious water leak and damage in the room at the ceiling in the corner of room. The grossest part was that the bedding on the sofa bed was wet/damp when we opened it up! Had to call front desk to get "dry" sheets, blanket, pillowcases and then after a long and late day of traveling,have to make the bed up. The front desk staff are friendly, but the rooms really need to be addressed!
There are very few hotel close to the campus with out going into Myrtle Beach, which with the traffic on 501, is not a great option when on a time schedule. Unfortunately this hotel appears to be the best of the bunch closet to the school.
Could be a nice property if the problems they have are corrected, until then, eeewww! As the parent of an entering freshmen, who will be needing a place to stay in town frequently, are there any cleaner choices out there?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilotswifecincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortConway, General Manager at Comfort Suites at the University, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you experienced during your stay. Our renovations were severely delayed by the demand of the summer months. We have been very busy lately repairing any damage in the rooms. We have also painted the the rooms and had a "knockdown" texture applied to the walls. We will have everything completed by October 10th! Very soon after, we will begin our corridors and breakfast area renovations. I am glad to hear your daughter chose to attend CCU, we are a proud sponsor and preferred hotel of the University. Please feel free to contact me directly in the hopes I can remedy your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Conway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
13.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Conway
91 reviews
5.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
80 reviews
9.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
355 reviews
10.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#129 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
226 reviews
15.0 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at the University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at the University

Property: Comfort Suites at the University
Address: 2480 US Hwy 501 East, Conway, SC 29526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at the University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites At the University, a Conway hotel near Coastal Carolina University. The Comfort Suites® At the University is conveniently located 10 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport. This Conway, SC hotel is minutes from championship golf courses like the Wild Wing Plantation and Legends Golf Club. Coastal Carolina University, the Myrtle Beach Speedway and Broadway at the Beach, offering more than 350 acres of shops, restaurants, nightlife and attractions, are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites at the University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At The University Hotel Conway
Comfort Suites Conway
Conway Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing