We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites at the University
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Sterling Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed here two nights to move our daughter into her townhouse as a sophmore at Coastal Carolina University.
The room had a very strong mildew/mold odor and there was lots of water damage in the ceiling. The water damage had not been repaired and had mold around it. Ug !
The carpet was worn with stains as were the bed linens.
We tried to get a different room but the hotel was full both nights.
I asked the manager what the policy was if a customer was displeased and he did not answer. He only offered a discount.
I took the discount and again asked what the corporate policy was. He replied " I can cut you loose if you want". Nice attitude !
Stay at the Hampton Inn right up the street. It is very clean and the staff is fantastic !!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mmccrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    44
    30
    10
    13
See reviews for
69
20
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

Stayed here as part of a weekend getaway. The hotel is currently remodeling. Our king-suite room was spacious, and rather clean. Water damage on the ceiling, which appeared to be recently patched over.

We were picking up family from the hotel, and were staying here before heading to Savannah. This hotel is about 10 minutes away from the Tanger Outlets on 501, and is convienent to the airport and the new mall (supposed to be one of the largest on in the East.) Not convenient for those wanting to be near beach attactions.

Staff was very friendly, despite a large number of people trying to check into a fully-booked hotel.

The only issue I had here was the lack of internet, which is advertised by the hotel. We asked for, and received, a room on the third floor. This floor, however, does not have WIFI. Staff informed me it was available on the 1st and 2nd floor, which did not have a connection either.

Otherwise, clean room and affordable rates even in the midst of travel season.

  • Liked — Price was right for what we needed. Great business location.
  • Disliked — Questionable internet service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pt_traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

We were visiting the area college and decided to stay at Comfort Suites for 2 nights. The room was very clean but the linens on the bed were old, worn,and stained. This room was your standard inexpensive hotel but the staff was really nice and strived to accomodate our every request. We would stay here again if we were in the area on a business matter again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — bed linens
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilliemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

We are staying here for five nights after our horrible experience at Monterey Bay Suites (see review). So far I am very pleased. The hotel is very well kept (an exception rather than the rule at Myrtle Beach). Very clean rooms, nice pool and exercise room. Breakfast is great! Each morning they have a hot entree item in addition to waffles, pasteries, cereal, juice, etc. - Traditional contential breakfast stuff. Similar to Hampton Inn for breakfast. We also got a government rate based on my wife and I's line of work and saved a ton. $75 for MB with free hot breakfast, swimming pool and an extended room with sofa, desk, microwave and fridge? Very good for MB. The staff has been very thoughtful and polite. I would highly recommend this property!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jnewman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

We were visiting Coastal Carolina University down the street.
This was a great bargain, clean safe and a lot of room. We stayed an extra day to visit Myrtle Beach which was about a 20 minute ride. Continental Breakfast made this a real deal.

Helpful?
2 Thank Huskywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
13.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#91 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
#34 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
15.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
10.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#140 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at the University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at the University

Property: Comfort Suites at the University
Address: 2480 US Hwy 501 East, Conway, SC 29526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at the University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites At the University, a Conway hotel near Coastal Carolina University. The Comfort Suites® At the University is conveniently located 10 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport. This Conway, SC hotel is minutes from championship golf courses like the Wild Wing Plantation and Legends Golf Club. Coastal Carolina University, the Myrtle Beach Speedway and Broadway at the Beach, offering more than 350 acres of shops, restaurants, nightlife and attractions, are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites at the University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At The University Hotel Conway
Comfort Suites Conway
Conway Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing