We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a Wonderful Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fenced side yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Fenced side yard
Dining table seats 8
Fully equipped kitchen
There are two bedrooms upstairs and two downstairs.  A full bath is located upstairs.
Second upstairs bedroom with twin beds.  Downstairs bedrooms each have a ful size bed.
Master bedroom
Upstairs bedroom with dressing table
Screened porch
Fishing from the dock
Hiking trails are located in the nearby Edisto State Park
Sunset from Big Bay Creek
Fun on the creek by the dock
floating dock
Living Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lsmcleods...
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a Wonderful Place”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Well, this is our third year in a row at DocHouse. And we just can’t get enough. As always, the house is lovely, a well-appointed beach house. Perfect for our 5 member families (we had 7 join us last year). The kitchen had everything we needed, the bathrooms were sparkling, the beds were comfortable, and the view from the rocking chairs on the porch were spectacular. Our days were spent swimming in Big Bay creek, kayaking, taking photos of the beautiful wildlife, and playing on the beach (kids learned to body surf this year on Edisto’s gentle waves). The kids made frog houses from shells we found at the beach and collected hermit crabs. And in the evening we played board games on the large porch, laughed and listed to music, and just relaxed. Many many thanks for this special week. Wish every week was a DocHouse week (big sigh). See you next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thanks for your comments and for visiting the Doc House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginny253
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, comfortable, well kept beach house.”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

It's just like it's described in the article.
Uniquely situated on Big Bay creek, the property features a large deep water dock with a covered pier head and a floating dock to tie up boats or simply relax and enjoy the views. The property also has one of only two private boat ramps on the creek. Its location near the mouth of Big Bay Creek makes it a perfect location for off-shore fishing, exploring the creeks or taking a short walk over to the beach.

Children and adults can enjoy fishing and crabbing from the dock, swimming in the creek or sun bathing and relaxing on the floating dock. A canoe and kayaks are also available.

Walk to the park and visit the Arts and Crafts market (March through November), visit the Edisto Marina, eat fresh seafood at Pressley's At the Marina, or sit on your private dock and enjoy the band at the Marina on Friday evenings in summertime. The Plantation Course at Edisto is a beautiful player-friendly golf course that is also within walking distance.

Local attractions include miles of bike paths, beautiful beaches, a golf course, driving range, hiking in the state park and shopping both here on the island or in Charleston which is just a 45 minute drive from the Island.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with gorgeous views!”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Edisto Doc House was the perfect setting for our family Spring Break. The views of the creek are breathtaking, especially at sunset! The dock is perfect for fishing and crabbing. We watched the dolphins and a family of otters playing in the creek around the dock. This is the perfect location as we were right on the creek and only a few steps from the marina and Presley’s seafood restaurant. Also within walking distance to the bait shop with a coffee shop upstairs!! The kitchen is well stocked for cooking meals at home. We cannot wait to rent this house again! The McLeod’s are very kind owners with a very quick response time should the need arise. We were very impressed! Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us! We will definitely be returning!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thanks for your kind review. We are so glad you had a good week. Edisto is such a great place and I'm glad you were able to enjoy it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khardin20...
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Retreat”
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Needed somewhere quiet and peaceful for some much needed getaway time. It was perfect! The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Thanks for spending the time at the Doc House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bb2654
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Edisto vacation”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This vacation rental was the perfect place for our family. We were there 3 weeks after hurricane Irma.The doc house was not affected and the damage on the island was hardly visible except that the state park was still working to repair damages.The sunrises were magnificent from the large deck.We used the private landing at the house for loading and unloading our boat. The Marina next door had 1 landing and it stayed pretty busy. The park and their pier next door is very close and we were able to witness a wedding,the police dept.photo shoot and dog training events.During the busy season this could be too close or very entertaining. Good restaurants are within walking distant or golf cart ride. Access to the front beach and bay beach were easily accessible.The kitchen was well stocked just not well organized. There was 1 large bedroom upstairs and master down that was nice. I would wish for another full bath with a tub downstairs because the full bath was in the bedroom and the half bath was not sufficient for the crowd. The double futon in the living room was not private or very comfortable. Needed more queen beds instead of doubles.. I would definitely use this property again. We did not need the use of the screened porch at ground level but found it handy to keep our bikes and fishing gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thanks for booking with us during October. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your comments. We do try to keep the kitchen well appointed and it always apprecitate it when guests put items back where they go. We hope you will stay at the Doc House again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect house if you bring your boat.”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This house has one of the better docks that I have seen. It was also within 100 yards of Gas , bait and tackle store. The house was all it said it was and more. Morning coffee on the back porch watching sun come up was perfect. We will stay here again for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thanks for much for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J377simmo...
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing family-friendly house for water lovers”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

House looks out over a river just a stone's throw from the ocean. You can swim and boat from the dock without the crowds and the beach is in walking and biking distance.The sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. Quiet cul-de-sac with little traffic. The house is beautiful and well maintained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing