We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the expense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gaffney
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the expense”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was recently driving through South Carolina for a family reunion and stopped mid-way at the Hampton Inn in Gaffney.

I assumed for the expense ($150 with taxes) that the place would be excellent, but it was rather average and unexciting. The room was clean, but out of date. There were not glasses for water in the room, which seemed like a normal thing to have in any hotel room (only paper cups for coffee/tea to use).

The only bonus is the location right next to the Gaffney outlet mall and the staff which were nice and friendly.

Next time, I will save about $50-$70 dollars and find another hotel in the area or drive 20 miles to Spartanburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportWillTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear PassportWillTravel3,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on you stay at the Hampton Inn Gaffney. We are constantly working to improve our Hotel and your feedback has helped us greatly.
We were glad to hear you comments about the Staff. We have lots of comments telling us of their friendliness and helpfulness. We hope you will reconsider, and allow us to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    99
    48
    19
    15
See reviews for
137
71
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel was nice and clean. Nothing at all wrong with the place except the fact that the rooms are waaaaay overpriced. My mom and I only stayed one night and then went over to stay at the Red Roof Inn on the same exit for less than half the price at the Hampton Inn. The only thing the Red Roof Inn lacked compared to the Hampton Inn was the hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrentRocksHardcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stopped on our way north from Georgia. Got in late without a reservation. The desk person was very helpful and pit us in a king non smoking room - perfect. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. There were plenty of towels which is not the
norm for a hotel off of Rt. 85.
The only less than perfect part of our stay was the breakfast. The attendant was very pleasant and helpful it was the quality of the food that was lacking.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seortega, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I am so glad that you enjoyed our bed here at the hotel. We get many comments regarding the bedding here. As to the hotel towels we always like to put the little extra, because at home you can always grab extra and we strive to make this your home away from home. As to the breakfast food choices, we do not have much control over that. We have to go by a guide line given to us, but I will say that since your visit in August we have added a few more hot item selections and have had many compliments on it. So come on back and try us again we would love to see ya'll again....
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel is off the beaten path and in a quiet location off the interstate. There's a few restaurants right next door and a shopping outlet. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home with me...LOL. One thing I really liked about this place was the front desk staff. When I arrived I realized I had forgotten the wall charger for my cell phone. I asked the front desk man (wish I could remember his name!) where an AT&T store was and he actually pulled the phone book out, looked up an AT&T store then called the 1-800 number to find the closest store to us and wrote down the address and phone number for me....Wow....Later in the evening I went out to pick up dinner from a local restaurant. When I got to my room I realized no silverware in the bag. No problem. Went to the front desk and they handed me silverware. Very nice people and great location if you want quiet.....Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seortega, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Hi twags from Deltona!
We welcome all comments and reviews of our hotel. But we really enjoy reviews like yours! Our front desk staff is one of the best I have worked with in a long time. I believe each one of us up here thinks of this property as a 2nd home. We enjoy our guest and are very pleased that you had such a great experience with us. We certainly hope that on your next trip to our area you stay with us again!


Thank you again from, the Hampton Inn Front Desk Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A great location convenient to dinning. Room was very comfortable with bed that was like sleeping on a cloud! The free breakfast bar was well stocked and had the normal stuff but also a waffle maker! The staff was very friendly and treated our group very well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppijacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seortega, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Hampton Inn Gaffney
ppijacki
Dear ppijacki,
Trip Advisor review

Our location here at the Hampton Inn Gaffney is a great location I agree! Not only do we have convenient dinning options but also, we are within a few minutes drive of some great local attractions. As to our beds! Oh I am in total agreement they are like sleeping on a cloud! I love the beds here!!! And the breakfast bar has only improved since your visit. We now off home-style kettle cooked oatmeal, with a variety of toppings. Can you say good food! Um yes!!! We look forward to your next visit to our area and hotel! And once again thank you!
Best regards,
Front Desk Mgr.
Hampton Inn
SEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is an older Hampton Inn that could use some updating. The property and rooms are in good shape but there are several hotels in the area that offer nicer rooms at the same or lower price. The staff was good as was the breakfast with no surprizes. I was expecting more from this property because of the price. It also did not compare well to two other Hamptons I had stayed at in the previous nights. The hotel has a great location the food adjacent and an outlet mall within a couple of minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seortega, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Since you last stay with us, we have done some updating. When you stayed our property had just celebrated its 11th year anniversary! All of our beds have been replaced and our breakfast has not only improved but also gotten larger! As to our location it is a good one. Gas is very close, shopping and several nice food establishments. We can also now say that within a 5-minute walk we have a huge entertainment center. So next time your in the area please give us another try, I think we might surprise you.
Best regards,
Front Desk Mgr.
Hampton Inn
SEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stopped at this Hampton Inn to rest up on our way home. It was very clean and the staff were very helpful and nice. You are right next door to Cracker Barrel and an outlet mall. The hotel clerk even gave us a discounted rate without a coupon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagrove97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seortega, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gaffney, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Seagrove97,
Thank you for stopping and staying with us on your way home. We strive to be a great place to stop and rest, and from your review it seems that we meet our and your expectations. Not only do we have a Cracker Barrel right next door but we also have a well-known steak house and entertainment center. As to your special rate without a coupon, we (the front desk staff) always try to be as helpful as we can. So next time you are traveling and you feel like stopping, our door is always open! We are here and would love to see you again.
Best regards,
Front Desk Mgr.
Hampton Inn
SEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaffney
4.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaffney
3.6 km away
Quality Inn-Gaffney
Quality Inn-Gaffney
#2 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
#3 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 8 in Gaffney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
4.4 km away
Super 8 Gaffney
Super 8 Gaffney
#7 of 8 in Gaffney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gaffney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gaffney

Property: Hampton Inn Gaffney
Address: 115 Nancy Creek Rd, Gaffney, SC 29341-3314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Gaffney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gaffney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Gaffney hotel is conveniently located off I-85 next to Hamrick's Department Store and Gaffney Premium Outlets. You'll find plenty to explore nearby, whether you're touring the Kings Mountain Military Park or visiting the Cowpens National Battlefield. Plus, you'll find Bojangles' Coliseum, Charlotte Motor Speedway, and Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, NC, all less than 60 miles from our comfortable hotel in Gaffney, SC. Services and amenities at the Hampton Inn Gaffney Hotel include free Hampton on the House hot breakfast, free WiFi, and Clean and Fresh Hampton bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gaffney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gaffney Hotel Gaffney
Gaffney Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing