We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly interesting and very well done!”
Review of Rice Museum

Rice Museum
Ranked #6 of 21 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 14, 2017

This museum is another tiny one in Georgetown that is definitely a must-see! The clock tower is accessible by accompanying a guide who will describe the detailed diorama's. The guide was refreshingly upfront and did not hesitate to contribute South Carolina's wealth to the African slaves. The history was very interesting and the diorama's helped bring that to life - I'm a visual learner so they were very helpful in telling the history of rice plantations.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank airvin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rice"
in 100 reviews
"gift shop"
in 16 reviews
"third floor"
in 6 reviews
"south carolina"
in 19 reviews
"clock tower"
in 7 reviews
"surprised how"
in 3 reviews
"slave labor"
in 4 reviews
"answering our questions"
in 2 reviews
"small ship"
in 2 reviews
"balanced tour"
in 2 reviews
"hand painted"
in 2 reviews
"unique items"
in 3 reviews
"guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"history nerd"
in 2 reviews
"black river"
in 2 reviews
"african slaves"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2017

You will love this interesting journey of the story of Rice in Georgetown, SC. The Major crop grown for many a year. Labor intense and highly profitable it made Georgetown one of the wealthiest cities in the country. Your guide will explain everything and you will be surprised at all the displays on exhibit. Well worth the small admission price.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We toured the Rice Museum which was really cool with all the info and antiques and unique items, I'm glad we didn't miss this and I love the hand carved boat that was found below the surface in the water which was really old and the way they preserved it was phenomenal. A MUST SEE for any HISTORY BUFF! :)
Thanks,
Angie Cunningham, Missouri

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank AngelaLynn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

The Rice Museum Shop is a delightful place to visit. The gift shop is filled with beautiful handmade items from hand painted scarves, art from local artist, wood working, etc. Currently there is an art exhibit by Esther Sharp which will run until the end of June. It is delightful to see.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Sissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

This use to be the old police department. But it is amazing to go and see our culture.
The old town clock is amazing to see.
It brings back memories that I love.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rice Museum also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing