We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner, service and atmosphere ”
Review of Soby's

Soby's
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 07-12
20:00
Ranked #14 of 1,035 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$27 - C$75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Court St.
Description: Soby's New South Cuisine is a blend of contemporary cuisine infused with traditional southern ingredients. The restaurant opened in 1997 and is housed in the warm environment of a renovated, century-old building and has a mezzanine level that can accommodate large parties ordering a la carte. Starting with fresh, seasonal ingredients, our chefs transform Southern favorites into something comfortable and fresh. The wine list is a consistent winner of Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast awards. Signature dishes include Barbecue Shrimp and Grits, Fried Green Tomatoes with Jalapeno Pimento Cheese, and Crab Cakes Remoulade.
Reviewed May 22, 2021 via mobile

Great dinner, service and atmosphere!
We had the fried green tomatoes for starters which was delicious! The shrimp and grits and grouper were very good . They have outdoor seating with umbrellas on each table. One of Greenville’s best restaurants!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Bcbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2021 via mobile

We were there around 6:30 on a Thursday night, and it was already packed. So the first thing I would suggest is that you get reservations, and they have a lovely outdoor area so if the weather is going to be nice you might want to book that. I cannot say enough that while the restaurant was packed — service was top-notch. Everyone was hustling and yet our waitress and the manager took time to talk to us. My husband and I like eating off the appetizer menu so that we can have a variety of small plates. We had the crab soup, and it was absolutely delicious, and I can highly recommend the fried green tomatoes Which is a very interesting take on the traditional. We also had the oyster pie and the muscles and both were excellent. It is right across from the Westin, so if you have had a hard day of walking already, this is a great place to catch dinner.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank booklover93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 27, 2021

We were visiting Greenville and just stumbled on this place while walking on Main. It looked packed but took a chance and we were able to snatch a high top in the bar area right by the window. The menu was great if you like southern food. I don't eat red meat but had their she crab soup and ceasar salad. They had an extensive wine menu also. Another good location to people watch if you sit in the bar or out on their large patio!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank tamiennis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2021 via mobile

Fantastic eatery either inside or out. Gracious waitstaff who were extremely attentive. Now for the best part-the food. Short Rib was outstanding with barely a trace of fat. Fried chicken with eh chicken bog was marvelous and the She Crab soup was perfect.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank 744bobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 5, 2021

Last visit MAY 2020 for dinner - this time for Easter Sunday brunch. We had a sticky bun and deviled eggs for a starter. Wife had the French toast, I had the lobster benedict. The $3.01 mimosas were also nice. Food and service from Kaylee was outstanding.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RonT540
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Soby's also viewed

 

Been to Soby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.