We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite resort on the East coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for the holidays, Dec-Jan 2011. This was our 3rd stay. The apartments are huge, and very well furnished for our family of 4. The resort had a lot of activities scheduled throughout the day, we rented bikes (very well priced!) and did a lot of biking on the beach and around the island (Sea Pines is deligthful, and the resort provides a free pass). This time of the year the resort was quieter than during the high season in July-August, but very pleasant. There are several heated outdoor jacuzzi that can be used even in the winter, and the indoor pool as well. The temperatures hovered around 60 deg (except on Dec 26 when we got some flurries, but then all the East coast was under a big snow storm), and with the sunshine it was actually very balmy. Overall, a beautiful place even in the winter, and we will return (as rental guests, not owners).
The resort does not have a restaurant on site, only a convenience store (that also has Pizza Hut pizza - very appreciated by the kids), but there are several supermarkets (Publix, etc) within 10 mins drive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montreal_traveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

I have been staying at the Grande Ocean almost every year since 1996. The resort is wonderful for families or couples. There is several pools, and the beach is once of the best in the Southeast. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BfloRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Those who are not Marriott Vacation Club members have no chance at a room with a decent view or location. This is our fourth try and I am finished.

Room Tip: Be in their vacation club or skip this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I was so happy that my husband surprised me with a romantic getaway. We both love the beach and were super excited about being able to go and just spend some us time together. This trip was what we call a 'babymoon'--we decided to go somewhere just the two of us before our second child is born. The spa, the food and the time together was just wonderful. I couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This review is for Pool Bar Jim's only. We did not stay at the Marriott, but were referred to PBJ's by a local.

This guy makes the best drinks this side of paradise! What wonderful entertainment to watch this professional and his assistants blend up the finest tropical drinks I believe you will ever find. ALL fresh ingredients blended and created before your eyes.

This great bar can be best accessed from the beach (if you are not a guest at the Marriott) because access from the street is gated. There are of course pools there, but they are reserved for guests of the Grande Ocean.

Don't worry about it, go for the drinks!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BuzDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We enjoyed our week here immensely. The villa was spacious and squeeky clean. We had a view over the garden area and Koi pond. It was very peaceful. We prefered it over an ocean view. We rented bikes, and found the rates fair comapared to other rental agencies on the island. We found the market to be overpriced however. Other grocery stores are a short drive away. We enjoyed the pools and the jacuzzis. We never had to share one with anyone else because they are so numerous. Great beach, though the beach chair rentals are very expensive ($30 each a day). The resort has cheaper chair rentals. Enjoyed the water aerobics and gym. Would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wanderlust087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We just got back from five days at this resort. Had a two-bedroom "villa" at the back of the property. It was very clean, spacious and quiet, worth not having the ocean view we thought we'd prefer. The villa was very well laid-out and equiped, and the resort amenities were excellent. We rented bikes for three days - they were in very good condition (not always the case). The pools were lovely and the beach, of course, is fabulous!! As guests at the Marriott, we got free passes into Sea Pines for bikes and car, which enabled us to take advanage of all that is offered there, too.
The only drawback (minor) was the lack of a restaurant on site for dinner. You could get pizza, or self-cater, but on a night when you might want to treat yourself, you have to leave the grounds.
In all, we were very pleased with the Grande Ocean, and would love to be back there, right now!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
11 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
4.4 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.1 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.7 km away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
3.5 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $186 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing