We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
631
194
48
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
194
48
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardolphin poolsouth poolsea pines passtime sharepools and hot tubsfrozen drinksmarriott propertieslaundry roomhilton head islandfull kitchendaily activitiestimeshare resortrented bikeshigh floormarriott vacation clubshuffle board
Filter
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 899 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Our family of four ( 2 adults, 2 children (11, 10), stayed in the Sand Dollar building from March 14 to 21st 2009. Our 2BR unit was on the second floor so we did not have "ocean view". However, all units are so close to the beach, you can be down there within a minutes walk.

The only heated outdoor pool was on the North side. We liked the south side because there were fewer trees (more palms than oak), so we got alot more sun. (makes a big difference this time of year when temps are in the 60's).

This is a beautiful resort and we got a getaway deal through II. It is very centrally located in the Forest Beach area, close to restaurants, shops and other necessities.
The resort has tennis courts across the road and provides bike rentals ($25/week).
We loved biking on the beach, watching for dolphins along the shore.

Dinners on HHI can be pretty expensive so we tried to watch for early bird specials. We also visited the BiLo grocery store several times to stock up our kitchen (get the BiLo guest membership card for discounts). The resort has brand new barbeque areas, and a well stocked kitchen.

The only thing that we had difficulties with was the hot tub outside our unit. The water temperature was not warm enough. (Ironically, the hot tub on the North side was scorching hot!) I also thought it would be nice to have a towel refresh part way through the week. The unit had a full size he washer and dryer, so was easy to wash towels and keep up on your other laundry.

The unit is large, and the layout allowed privacy to the 2 sleeping areas. It was very nicely furnished. There were renovations being done in the unit below us but we never experienced any issues with excessive noise.

There is so much to do on HHI. We went kayaking, biking, played tennis, went on a dolphin excursion, attended a St. Patrick's Day parade, and went outlet shopping. I would recommend the Marriott Grand Ocean as the ideal base for exploring HHI.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kayjay93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed here at the end of March and early April. We are Marriott owners at another location and just needed to get away from the Northern weather. We booked a Sunday to Sunday week and got there about 2pm. The room was ready and the reception staff was eager to help. Once we checked in, we immediately went to our room. The villa was perfect! We had a very clean, well decorated, and ready for us. We had a room that overlooked the ocean which was perfect. About 30 minutes after we checked in and unpacked, housekeeping was there to ask if we needed anything else. We had some sunny, cool days, followed by cloudy days with rain at nights, and then torrential rain on our Thursday. I sat on our balcony watching the rain while reading a book and thought that this is still better than the snow up north. On Friday, there was not a cloud in the sky and we took our baby to the heated pool and played in the warmth and sun. Everything about this place was wonderful. The staff was helpful in every way, very well maintained, and very clean. I will book this again!

A recommendation to all, as many others have suggested in the past. Go tour Hilton Head in the day to find out where things are. If you go for the first time at night to find a place to eat, good luck. Everything that you could possibly want is there, but you will never find anything because they are tucked away behind all the natural settings without any signs. This is absolutely a perfect place to go and relax!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank banders9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Four of us recently spent a week at the Marriott Grande Ocean for the first time. The unit was decorated beautifully and very spacious. Plenty of room for four adults. The grounds appear to be very well kept, with a few ongoing maintenance projects. I felt bad for the grounds staff because the very large swimming pools are constantly being filled with leaves from the live oaks. Maybe that just happens this time of year. The beach is right there in front of the complex, and it is magnificent. Perfect, floury sand that is well-packed enough for bike riding. The beach is very wide, particularly at low tide. In the month of March it got pretty breezy, though. Still, you can lay outside near the pools because the buildings tend to break the breezes. Scope out HH early on if you're not familiar with the place. As others have said, there are plenty of amenities on the island, but it's zoned so strictly it can be hard to locate businesses in the landscape and trees. There's a Piggly Wiggly very nearby at Coligny - but- MUCH nicer supermarkets a little further out. There's a much nicer Piggly Wiggly and a Publix a bit further out on Business 278, which are good places to stock up for the week. HH was made for bicycling, and it is blissfully flat, so even if you're not the athletic type, go ahead and rent a bike for a day or two. The Old Oyster Factory has very good food and is located in a lovely setting. HH is a fine location for day trips to Savannah, which is an absolute must to visit. Charleston and the plantation gardens are also "musts" in the area, but be advised it is a long drive for day trips. Route 17 can be pretty slow-going, especially where active construction is four-laning it. We ended up leaving the Grande Ocean early on our day of departure and spent the day in Charleston, heading homet from there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed in the Sand Dollar villas. At the back of the complex but there is no need to be right on the beach. It is easy access, the room was beautiful, clean, more than enough room for 2 couples. It is equipped very modern. I would bring less clothes, not have to check baggage, and just do laundry in the villa. Kitchen is modern and has everything you need. It was a delight to stay here. Parking was free and right next to elevator. Took the trolley tour first thing to get acquainted with the island. Everything is kind of hard to find, but once you get used to it, you know where things are. Things are priced pretty much the same throughout the island. Trip to Charleston was long and kind of boring. Savannah was an easy 50 minute drive. CrossIsland Parkway saves time getting to the hotel and is 1.25 one way. Worth it. They have a Sam's club if you have a family to stock frig for. Piggly Wiggly is at Covigny Plaza right by the hotel. Has pretty much all you need.
Only traveled with my partner so couldn't say what it is like for kids. For adults, it's great.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
6  Thank lr0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2009

My wife and I traded our week in Branson, MO at the Marriott Horizon to stay at the Grand Ocean. I have yet to have a bad experience when staying at a Marriot Property. I was bit apprehensive when making my selection because Marriott has so many choices on HHI. I sometimes think the pictures online are not so great. Well, my wife and I were extremely pleased with our decision ( really mine, I'm the one that lines up our vacations ) We checked in the day after Thanksgiving 2008. From check- in to check-out we we're treated very well. The front desk staff did an excellent job expeditiously checking everyone in. We have nothing but good things to say about Frederick the concierge. He was first-rate and was on top of making sure our stay was a most pleasurable one. He took care of our golf reservations as well as giving us many choices to choose from on what to do. Our 2 room villa was located on the 3rd floor of the Starfish building. Everything about our accomadations exceeded our expectations. The thing that my wife and I totally loved was the ocean view from the room. The MGO had more amenities than we needed.
Our only complaint was the rudeness of some guests when it came to parking their vehicles. People were parking Tahoes in Compact parking spots and people were even parking cars in the walking area to the elevators making it difficult to get the luggage carts through. One or two nights we had to park in another building underbuilding parking lot because theStarfish's parking lot. This was the only real negative of a most relaxing and restful vacation choice.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SEVMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews