We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
77
5
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
5
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water helicopter ride my wife and i bucket list guided hike last year spent nights top notch amazing views hiking options an amazing job quick tour second to none work hard beef tenderloin available for purchase opportunity to meet
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 84 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Assiniboine Lodge is amazing…it is really hard to describe.

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in the Canadian Rockies, and this was the “high point” in the stay.

We’ve done a lot of hike-in lodges (you can actually helicopter into this lodge as well), and this is head-and-shoulders above the rest.

Location, staff, food, Location, rooms, atmosphere…and of course, Location!!!

We like to travel (a lot), but if there was one place I’ll go “again and again” it will be Assiniboine Lodge.

Beauty Beyond Description

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The food were mediocre and salty. The rate per day is expensive for what they offered. Will not recommend to others.

Date of stay: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sheep20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I just returned from our stay at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge and we were just blown away! Everything concerning our trip was just fantastic. Our stay was for 5 days and 4 nights. Luckily, we had nothing but glorious sunshine. We were fortunate to get the best cabin on the property, Mt. Assiniboine cabin. It comes with the most stunning views of Mt. Assiniboine along with many other peaks.

The cabins are very clean and come with running cold water. A bucket of hot water is delivered to your front door every morning for freshening up. Showers are in the main lodge and in the shower house. The folks in the cabins also share some of the cleanest outhouses around. There are about 5 cabins that sleep from 2 to 5. There are also a number of lodge rooms that we did not get to see, but we heard they were very nice as well.

Meals (breakfast and dinner) are served family style in the lodge dining room and are wonderfully prepared and plentiful. After breakfast you make your own lunch from a spread laid out by the staff and includes an assortment of fresh homemade breads.

We went on a number of hikes (both led by a guide and some on our own). They normally offer one easy guided hike and a more challenging one. The pace that is set by the guides was perfect and left no one behind. And of course the scenery is absolutely stunning. Everywhere you turn there's another stunning panorama.

Most folks fly in via helicopter although the heartiest hike in the 15 or so miles it takes to get there by foot. No car access. If you fly in, there are 2 choices of where to fly in from. Canmore and Mount Shark. The first flight in for the day and the last flight out use Canmore Heliport as that's where the helicopters are stored. All the others use Mount Shark. If you're in Banff or Canmore, choose the Canmore location and you'll save a 40 kilometer drive from Canmore to Mt. Shark.

It's not cheap, but if you're looking for the vacation of a lifetime, love mountains and don't mind a more rustic atmosphere, this is the place. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Franz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed at Assiniboine, this Aug 2007. 2days. Cabins were better standard than expected 2adults,2 teenage kids sharing.clean comfortable, great food.great ambiance. communal dinin g rustic dining room and lounge. shower block and sauna were basic but clean. Outdoor outhouses take some getting used to, definately need a torch for these and getting around lodge at night.
Knowledgeable guides, great views of remote country outback.
2teenagers went on more difficult hike with guide whilst we went on easier hike. reccommend helicopter in as great aerial views.
Saw nissen huts whilst on hike looked grim as far as accomodation was concerned but didnt stay there.
Would we reccommend for outback experience? definitely!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2005

I can't say enough --- scenery, staff, hiking, food were all tremendous. Some may think the sleeping accommodations are primitive, but they were comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2005
6  Thank Fearless20563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews