We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Beautiful and Amazing Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed four days for a long weekend tennis getaway in late April. Absolutely beautiful hotel and the grounds surrounding it. The multitude of other great reviews tell you the story. Here are a few specifics for you.

1. We selected a premium ocean view room as opposed to ocean front. Saved money and there is virtually no difference in the qualtiy of the view. Our room was 532 and near the middle of the horseshoe plan and from our balcony, we had gorgeous views of the multiple weddings on the lawn and the ocean beyond. Personally, I feel the way that the architecture framed the view of the ocean enhanced the overall effect. I did not see any of the "standard" ocean view rooms, but I believe these just face sideways rather than straight out to the water. These should still be great views because, unlike many resorts, there is nothing built anywhere near the Sanctuary and you will have long, unspoiled views.

2. We stayed with the concierge club level package. I'm sure the rate varies based upon occupancy levels, but we paid a small premium over the course of three nights for this package.

Included, you will get a room on the fifth (top) floor.
You get private check-in and check-out (not that big of a deal, but it was nice and saved us some time).
You have access to your own concierge - and they go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. I am a very self sufficient and low maintenance traveler and virtually never use a concierge. They covered all the bases for us. Ashley and Brittney were fantastic! We spent a lot of time just sitting and chatting with them.
The best part is that the lounge is huge with multiple seating areas and a large TV. This is NOT the little breakfast lounge at the top of a Marriott. They serve five different meal presentations each day. Breakfast, Lunch, Light afternoon snacks, dinner, and desert. There was a nice variety at each meal, and they changed it up a little each day. I would describe the meals as heavy hors d'ouerves. We both found the food to be well prepared and tasty (except for the seafood bisque which was, well, ick). With the exception of one night's dinner in the formal dinning room, we took all of our meals in the lounge. There is also an open bar with six or seven nice mid-priced wine offerings, beers, and they'll make you your favorite cocktail, if you wish.

I feel this program is an absolute winner for a few reasons.
You are pretty much stranded in Kiawah. We had made reservations at a great restaurant in Charleston - but cancelled them once we realized that it is nearly an hour drive to downtown Charleston. Maybe its just me, but two hours of driving for dinner isn't a part of my idea of relaxing vacation.

There are extremely limited restaurant options on the island.

3. The restaurants at the resort are extremely expensive and the food was good - but nowhere near the quality that the price reflected. We skipped eating at the "less expensive" Jasmine Porch. However, lunch appetizers are in the $15 range and a $40 lunch for one is probable.

Our dinner at The Ocean Room was a mixed review. We opted for the five course tasting menu ($75 each) with wine pairings ($42 each). Being that I am from Manhattan, the pricing seemed very fair. The courses were creative, featured locally sourced fare, were nicely presented, and the wine pairings offered some interesting and delicious wines. Unfortunately, someone in the kitchen was heavy handed with the sea salt. It started with the amuse bouche and several of the plates were ruined by the fact that all you could taste was the burn and crunch of the salt. We each had a pre-dinner martini and, including tip - it was a $400 meal for two and disappointing at any price. The chilled spring pea soup was wonderful. Everything else was less so. The staff was friendly and engaging. Ended up the night comparing wine and spirit stories with several of them. That was the real highlight of the meal.

4. Our room was immaculately clean. All of the staff were friendly and attentive.

5. The tennis facilities are beautiful and are surrounded by huge Live Oak trees with Spanish moss (and a few aligators!!!) and these cut down the ocean wind to nearly nothing on court. Group drill sessions are $30 per hour and the tennis pros were spot-on and a lot of fun to work with.

What will a stay in paradise cost you? Well, you won't find it on their web site. You have to call and someone will put together your package based upon your dates. This was a little frustrating to me because my dates were completely flexible and it seems odd that you should have to go through assembling an entire package to try and figure out when or how many days you can stay. Ballpark $750+++ per night, not including meals, spa, or the spectacular golf that is available.

An absolutely wonderful destination to chill and decompress.

Room Tip: First floor rooms will have nice gardens around them, but your views are severely limited. Anyof th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiderquadrifoglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    140
    57
    20
    16
See reviews for
285
535
10
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western US
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This resort located on the private island of Kiawah is a wonderful place to relax, take in the sights of the sea and relax. Golfers will love the courses on the island, but beach goers will love the under populated, wide stretch of a white sandy beach.
The rooms are tastefully decorated appointed with great linens, and comfortable beds, great bathrooms and ample space for a family of 4.
The restaurants offer spectacular options and rival some Charleston hot spots.
Great, personalized service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Wonderfull services, accomodations, food, etc.
It is spetacular.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeBordosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is heaven. Wonderful staff, beautiful southern decor. Completely relaxing. And the spa is perfect

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadlerGreatNeck_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My initial reaction to The Sanctuary was "snooty" and "stuffy".

Over the next three days, my attitude changed to "lovely", "great service", "peaceful", "great food", "outstanding".

The Sanctuary is an outstanding, well managed property. Right on the sand, the beach is very nice. The pool is very nice. Everything is very nice. Costly, too.

We would return in a heartbeat.

Of note - the on-site restaurants are unusually excellent for a hotel or resort restaurants.

We absolutely loved Jasmine's Porch, their moderate-priced restaurant. Excellent, authentic, very tasty southern dishes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A beautiful hotel! The staff is wonderful, always smiling, willing to help. Manager, Michael, a consummate professional. They go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Be aware that this is a very expensive hotel, but aside from the $56 Sunday breakfast buffet (where the food is delish, but the price too high), you get exactly what you pay for! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the south(?) side are closer to the pool & restaurants, but noise is not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia_Dawg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sanctuary for a week, it was incredibly memorable. While the property is located in a prime location, the staff is what really makes this Hotel so special- they were truly accommodating and sincere.
The rooms are very pleasant; I had an Ocean facing King. The beds are amazing, as are the linens and accessories. I had a minor problem with the TV, reported it to housekeeping and it was resolved within minutes. The room service was timely and delicious.
The car ride to Charleston is about 30 minutes, but you really don’t need to leave if you want to purely relax. Biking on the beach, and through the community was the highlight, the beach is wide and expansive and very clean. The pools are inviting. Overall an exceptional resort. While I never used the spa, the treatments seemed very pricey, thus the 4.

Room Tip: Ocean front, away from Elevators. Of course, higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloften32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Hotel At Kiawah Island Golf Resort South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing