We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quit going”
Review of Wa Chang Buffet

Wa Chang Buffet
Ranked #41 of 71 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Went 4-5 times at different times/days to really give a chance and there was hardly any food out on the buffet, and some was questionable in temperature which is a huge warning sign. Add to that the fact that every time went went to check out we were overcharged and had to take the time at the register. Every time they said we had people in our party walk out which I guess can happen but was ridiculous in our case. It seemed like they overcharge everyone and then use that excuse when caught.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vbtaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to the restaurant. The waitress wanted to sit us at the table immediately upon entrance to the place which we asked to be seated further back & we were although she seemed to get mad about the request although we thanked her for doing so. Then after eating half of our meal during the buffet we found hair in the food. We reported it. The hostess reduced our bill by a couple of bucks & then asked for a tip. We definitely will not be back.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank annette290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

A very good selection of oriental cuisine, including sushi, egg drop soup, and various flavors and heat levels of chicken and shrimp. Tailored for the general public and not for those looking for fiery food - even the wasabi was mild.

Though you don't expect stellar service in a buffet setting, the particular waitress we encountered seemed not to have a good command of the English language... not a problem in the Far East, but a necessity in South Carolina, U S of A. She was neither understanding, attentive, nor accommodating. (Of course, she could have been having a bad day, but it was more likely inexperience and language barrier.)

Summing up, a good spot to go to if you want a quiet Chinese buffet for a very reasonable price, but don't expect exceptional service, nor any food ranked high on the Scoville Scale.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alommin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I have decided for the 2nd time not to visit this buffet anymore. Not once but twice have I had bad experiences with cleanliness here. Even bringing it to their attention, the situation was laughed at.

I will say the food was good, but it's hard to enjoy a meal when you are worried about what you may find in your food that shouldn't be there.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

I love their crab rangoon. The buffet has a great variety. I love their fried shrimp better than any seafood place in town. The shrimp are small, but they are very lightly breaded which is what I prefer. I love their sesame seed chicken, too. And it's all you care to eat at one low price!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank peka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wa Chang Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Wa Chang Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing