We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is the JAM!!!!!!!!”
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

came for a conference...wasn't expecting much.. buti was place was amaze-balls! the rooms weren't crazy different, but the difference was in the service! The staff was the best ever! anywhere! and Andre!!! I Love this man! The best!

Room Tip: ask for a creekside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for the excellent feedback! We are so pleased to hear that we blew you away with our service! I will be sure to let Andre know that you mentioned him in your review and praise him for his hard work! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

I had a great experience with Amber at the front desk. She was instrumental in helping me change reservations for an upcoming wedding. Not only did she get me a better rate but she also emailed me everything and printed off my new reservations saving me the trouble (and ink and paper). Amber is great!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDK7735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great time with us. We love that you mentioned Amber in your review and will let her know you did so! We also think she's pretty great. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel the past 4 nights, Oct 17-Oct 20 and found it to be delightful place. Located on Shem Creek and on Shem Creek Park. The room was very spacious. Bathroom was not large but sufficient. The price was in line with what you get. The breakfast did not have a lot of choices, but did provide bacon, eggs, croissants, bagels, muffins, yogurt and coffee was provided via a Keurig for a fresh cup each time. There was plenty of seating in the breakfast area and at a bar/stools area overlooking the creek. You will love Joe who keeps the breakfast area going in the mornings. Amanda, Amber and Jackie who covered the checkin desk were all so pleasant and helpful with any questions we had and offered suggestions for places to eat and sight see. Loved being able to take walks on the boardwalk each morning and evening over the Creek and marsh areas. Saw so many birds and other wildlife each time. The sunsets are amazing! We will definitely stay here when we come back to this area and highly recommend this as a beautiful vacation option when staying in the Charleston. An easy 15 minute drive across the bay!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dt1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will be more than happy to let Joe, Amanda, Amber and Jackie all know about the wonderful things you had to say about them! Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed the sunsets and being able to walk on the boardwalk each morning. That is one of our main attractions here at Shem Creek. Thank you again for your feedback and we can't wait to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Much to see besides historic downtown Charleston (10-15 min scenic drive over fabulous 2 mile suspension bridge!)..
Shem Creek Inn not only is easy on/off to highway for all the sites, but sits on a lovely fishing/boating slough that connects to the bay. Can be a bit noisy w restaurants and bars; yet the amazing neighborly happy hours make it easy to join!
Stayed 3 nights; ALL staff very accommodating. Breakfast VERY basic.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback Jim! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us! We do apologize if the neighboring bars/restaurants were a bit noisy at times and we are always appreciative of the feedback towards our breakfast because we are always trying to improve it! We hope to see you again in the near future and thanks for staying with us at the Shem Creek Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We checked in to the Shem Creek Inn on Sunday and left the following Saturday. I booked a creekside room because of all the great reviews. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room seems newly remodeled. It had a table with two straight back chairs. When we arrived on Sunday I went to the front desk to check in and there was a sign that said they were unloading shrimp. No time as to when they would return. After we finally got checked in and went to the room I was a little disappointed. There was no place to sit except those straight back chairs or the bed. After you've been out sightseeing all day it is very uncomfortable to sit on the bed and relax in the evening. A love seat or a comfortable chair would be nice. Don't expect to sit out on the balcony in the evening and relax either. Across the creek is Red's. It is very loud in the evening with the music and people making a lot of noise. At one end of the inn is the Water's Edge, another restaurant/bar, and at the other end is Vickery's, same thing. So trying to relax on the balcony in the evening is out of the question. Twice during the week I had to call the front desk and ask for washcloths. When housekeeping cleansed the room they forgot to leave us washcloths. Another thing is the price of the room. On Sunday when we checked in it was $179, on Monday and Tuesday it went up to $189, on Wednesday and Thursday it went up to $219 and Friday it was $319. This room is not worth $319. To say the least it will be the last time I stay at the Shem Creek Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank easiwin1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback! Here at Shem Creek Inn, our goal is to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience as well as immaculate rooms. Unfortunately, it seems that we have fallen short of that goal in the eyes of the author of this review. We want to apologize for the lack of furniture in your room. We are currently looking to add more furniture in all of the rooms so our guests have even more comfortable places to sit while they relax. We do also apologize if the bars and restaurants were a bit noisy at night. Charleston has grown into a very popular city and many restaurants like to stay open later and have live music to please the crowd. All in all, we hope to see you again in the future and please give us a call if you have any more questions or concerns! We would love to have you again and hopefully you will give us another chance to provide you with an excellent experience. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed there last week with family and the location of this place is amazing! There were actual dolphins swimming up and down the creek with no fanfare! There is a walking area up and down Shem Creek that is so nice to walk off the food. Six restaurants surround the property with anything you would want from drinks to fabulous dinners. The pool was just right! The rooms are not fancy, but who stays in their room with this perfect location! So close to everything yet off the crowded path. And the staff were all really nice and helpful. I particularly loved the orange ice cold water I filled my camelback with every morning for our day of adventures!! We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for water view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Rebecca! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We agree that our locations is fantastic and there are plenty of things to do around us. We're glad that you took full advantage of our orange water in the lobby! That's always been a great bonus to our guests who stay with us. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Shem Creek Inn delivers such kind hospitality! My friends and I had reserved their 55' yacht to stay for a few days. It's stationed right in front of the inn. We thought it would be a nice opportunity to stay right at Shem Creek, enjoy the hotel, its pool and amenities but to have a unique accommodation right on the water. Unfortunately we were never able to enjoy our reservation due to Hurricane Irma. We all needed to travel back to Boston and Atlanta to avoid it. Still, we wanted to visit Shem Creek and see what could have been. When I entered the inn, Amber greeted me with a smile and enthusiastically volunteered to show us what could have been/ what will be when we return. She could have simply dismissed us as we had already canceled our reservation, but she did just the opposite. Amber was happy to take us out to the yacht and show us around. I can tell that this inn is a special place and I can't wait to return! There is something very laid-back and warm about this place. Thanks, Amber!

Room Tip: The yacht is a fun and luxurious option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Kate! We apologize that Irma had to postpone your initial stay with us, but we are so happy to hear that Amber was there to provide you with fantastic service and show you the yacht. I will let her know that you mentioned her in your review and praise her for her hard work! Thank you again for the feedback and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
3.5 km away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
2.4 km away
The Beach Club at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
6.8 km away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
259 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimp Boat Ln, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4379
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $177 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service, we are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing