We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on the harbor side with excellent view of the water. Late season and rates were very good. Outdoor pool, indoor restaurant and outside bar with boardwalk around area to other points of interest. Room was clean and modern - liked the free cold adult beverage on check inn. Small free breakfast also included.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback Jamie! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We love the fact that you loved the cold adult beverage at check in, it's what separates us from the rest! We hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing the Shem Creek Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located directly on Shem Creek with walking access to a very nice raised platform walkway through the marsh. I would recommend visiting Shem Creek Park and staying someplace else. The hotel just did a renovation according to there website but it was very basic. We were greeted by a not so friendly person that gave me my room key. When we entered our room and saw the basic nature based on the price and heard the very loud noises bouncing above our heads and the loud band coming from the bar outside we knew we made a mistake staying here. I went back to the front desk to ask for another room based on the loud noise and of course I was told there were known available in my price category. The other side of the hotel faced the parking lot but I guess since it was quiet I would have to pay more. Oh well all I can do is warn people not to stay here. Stay someplace else in the area the cost you much less and receive more. I'm not a fan of the chains like Holiday Inn express and those places but they would be a better choice than this place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Scott! We would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you had experienced while staying with us. I will be sure to speak to my guest services team to make sure a situation like this does not happen again. We do apologize if you felt like the area around the hotel was a bit noisy, the weekends are the busiest not only for us, but for the whole area itself since we are in such a convenient location. We do hope we get another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future. Please do not hesitate to call us if you would like to speak to us in further detail about your stay. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was friendly, the location is perfect, the rooms were clean, and the price is reasonable - considering it's Charleston. The Shem creek area is a very chill location in Mt. Pleasant, minutes from Sullivan's island beach and downtown Charleston, but the whole area feels like it's own relaxing coastal town. The restaurants are pretty good, and the shem creek park is lovely. The hotel is well maintained. There is a bit of a smell to the entire place, but I've been coming to Charleston for over a decade and I've never really stayed in a place that didn't have "that smell" - I think it's just a bit more prominent since this hotel is right on the water. The breakfast is similar to any continental breakfast at other hotel chains, everything was basic but tasted good. The King room we stayed in had a comfortable bed, plenty of space for our belongings and a great shower. I would have enjoyed the balcony more if the furniture had been a bit larger and plusher, but overall no complaints.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Joanna! We are so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We always love hearing how our guests enjoy the convenience and location of our property. We're so glad that you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you for choosing the Shem Creek Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If booking was an experience then the stay should be amazing!

Im not sure how many resorts get reviews before they actually stay at a location, but if the stay is 1/2 as "Pleasant" as the customer service & willingness to go beyond to make sure our stay is an experience, then I can't wait to visit again already. Amber (I believe her name was) insured just that. Looking forward to a great stay at this unique Inn with Resort level customer service.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Delvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback Delvin! We are so happy that Amber was able to assist you in making a reservation with us and we can't wait to see you! I will let her know that you mentioned her in your feedback and praise her for her excellent hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shem Creek Inn was the perfect place for boyfriend and I to stay for our fishing trip over Veteran's Day weekend! The rooms (which appear to be recently renovated) are spacious and clean, and we had a great view of Shem Creek from our 2nd floor balcony. Check-in was hassle free (bonus: they even gave us a free beer at check-in; yay!) and the staff was courteous and helpful. Shem Creek Inn is within an easy walking distance of several restaurants and bars in Mount Pleasant. Bonus: they gave us a coupon to Water's Edge Restaurant (next door to the inn) for a free appetizer w/ the purchase of an entree. Though, if you want to eat somewhere in Charleston (we ate at Magnolia's on Bay St our first night since it is my favorite Charleston restaurant), the inn is just a short Uber ride (or drive if you prefer) into Charleston. We will definitely stay at here again for any future trips to the Mount Pleasant/Charleston area! There is a free breakfast included. It isn't much, but it was sufficient for my needs. One of my favorite things about this inn is that the room had BOTH a mini-fridge AND a microwave! I feel as though almost everywhere I stay has either one or the other, but not both. This was a major perk for me, as I always order a TON of food when dining at my favorite restaurants, can never eat it all, and like to bring home leftovers to have later. In this inn, I could easily do that!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback Penny! We are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you and your boyfriend the perfect place for your fishing trip over Veteran's Day weekend! Thank you for mentioning how courteous are staff was! I'd be more than happy to let them know you mentioned them in your review and praise them for their excellent hospitality. We love hearing all of these compliments from our guests and so happy to learn that you will definitely stay here again with us. We can't wait to see you again and hopefully it's sooner rather than later! Thanks again for everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was very quiet. Even offered a free breakfast that included eggs, bacon, etc. which we didn't expect. The location was right on the harbor and very convenient to Charleston and surrounding places of interest.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback Terry! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We agree that our location is fantastic and convenient to downtown Charleston. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had originally booked a beach front hotel for our trip, but it was damaged by the hurricane and closed during our vacation. A friend suggested we book Shem Creek Inn, and we are so happy we did. It's such a cute, quaint hotel. We loved the free beer at check in, and I really liked the fruit water in the lobby as well. My kids loved watching the creek from our balcony, and Amber showed my daughter the trick to seeing dolphins (watch the shrimp boats). We loved the location of the hotel too. My only complaint is that the bathroom could use a few more towel hooks, but we made do. We will be back for sure!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank mlbnyoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that your kids were able to witness the many dolphins swimming in the creek! That's always a wonderful experience. Thanks for mentioning the small issue you had with the lack of towel hooks in your bathroom. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel so we appreciate the feedback. We're happy to hear that you will be visiting us again in the future and we hope it's sooner rather than later! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
2.4 km away
The Beach Club at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
3.5 km away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
6.8 km away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
8.7 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimp Boat Ln, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4379
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $183 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service, we are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing