We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay there again for sure :))”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Ranked #128 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I was very scared to stay here at first thanks to all these negative reviews i debated staying somewhere else but i took a chance. when i got there it was only 2 so we couldn't check in yet. they gave us keys to use the restrooms and swim at the beach. when my room was ready at 3 i was in the waves building 5th floor oceanfront. The rooms was great nice and clean very comfortable beds, everything worked great air conditioning was nice and cold. I personally thought the balconies was a nice normal hotel size. This hotel was close to everything, from shopping to restaurants to the boardwalk. they offered free breakfast every morning at the Patio across the street the breakfast was awesome the staff there was great. also parking was across the street but not a problem at all like other people seem to be complaining about. I always found a parking spot. My one and only complaint to this hotel would be the staff. I think mainly that has to do with palmetto shores recently purchased the two atlantica buildings and now they are short on staff. Alot of the housekeepers barely spoke english so that was a bit of a problem. I am going back to myrtle beach next year and i will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brown1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel was FILTHY! We had an "oceanfront" room which meant our window overlooked the ocean (no balcony). We booked online, asking to be put with our friends traveling with us (two rooms close together). When we check in we learn we are in two different buildings (there are 5). We asked for close rooms and are put in 101 and 102 (efficiency with two beds plus fold down bed). We were right next to the elevator, so EVERY time someone came in the door, we were awakened. The staff didn't even tell us the correct building to go to initially and we had to go back and find someone who could tell us which building we were in. I honestly don't know how this hotel has passed health inspection. The cold air return vent for the air system was COVERED in filth, the outside of the fridge door had some brown stuff running down it, the basedboards were black, etc, etc. The shower when started sounded like we were running a jackhammer in our bathroom! If we hadn't arrived so late with tired, hungry kids, I would have cancelled and gone elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbeck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoShores, Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

Thank you for bringing to my attention the frustration you have experienced at our resort. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite, and efficient manner. When such is not the case, we want to do our best to correct the problem.
All the hotels in this area have parking across the street. We are buying a 6 person golf cart to take guests back and forth to help with this issue.
We are sorry for the confusion with the rooms and the location of the rooms. We just took over management of the 2 Atlantica towers at the beginning of August so there was some disorder and learning that we had to go through. We now have all the little problems worked out and we are now concentrating on fixing the rooms.
We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay and assure you that it is not the standard for Palmetto Shores & the Atlantica. It is vital to our resort to communicate with our guests at every level of our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked their online opening special and got a great rate but also when few reviews were available. Check in was a little slow, only one front desk clerk and 3-4 groups in line. Our room was on the ground floor in the main building, just outside the elevator and the door to the pool/beach access. That's my main complaint...it was just so noisy at all hours. Crowds of drunks outside the elevator in the middle of the night; families going to the beach, slamming the door early in the morning; ocean-facing on the ground floor means looking straight out to the pool which comes with NOISE!

The refurb is a bit of a misnomer. Our kitchen area was not at all new. the microwave finish was flaking off, the oven was old as dirt (and was on and hot when we first arrived!). The toilet was blocked, the lightbulb in the bathroom was dead, and when we called and asked for more toilet paper we were told to come and get it from the front desk...WTF? Parking was tough too. I don't have a problem with it being across the street but there were times when I truly didn't think we were going to find a parking place.

But the location was excellent, the room was clean, and the beach is just outside the door. Just have low expectations and you'll be satisfied.

I'd recommend this to certain friends as long as they were clear on what this hotel offers and what it doesn't.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulah3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoShores, Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

Thank you for bringing to my attention the frustration you have experienced at our resort. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite, and efficient manner. When such is not the case, we want to do our best to correct the problem.
We do accept requests for units on a higher floor which would cut down on the pool noise.
In the 3 Palmetto Towers, we did refurbish all the rooms. We did leave some of the kitchen appliances that were still working. We have a new management team on staff so there will not be the maintenance and housekeeping issue you experienced. I will have the staff go through and inventory the appliances to see what needs to be replaced.
We have 7 parking lots across the street so there is ample parking. We will have a parking lot diagram created for guests at check-in so there is no confusion.
We would like to apologize for the problem you encountered during your stay and assure you that it is not the standard for Palmetto Shores. It is vital to our resort to communicate with our guests at every level of our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the Palmetto. We had an oceanfront room. It is a very good value for the money. Some of my wife's family stayed in a motel down from us ,they paid twice the amount we paid and thier rooms were not any better than ours. I found all the staff the very friendly and helpful. WE will be staying there again next year.
Robert Turner

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank Savoybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Well, I am glad I did not take any of the reviews that I read on here to heart. I checked in to this hotel last Sunday (Aug. 8, 2010). I took advantage of the Travelzoo special and I am GLAD I DID! Check in was a breeze. My family arrived early and pre-registered went to the pool and the beach which is literally steps away from the hotel. Went back @ 3:15 and picked up our keys. The room was clean, the balcony was avg size, no smaller than any others on the oceanfront. For the price, you can't BEAT IT! Parking is quite ample. The Free bfast made it even better! Plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKASunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I checked in 08/08 and it took me about an hour to get checked in b/c they was over booked...however they finally found me a room. I read reviews prior to making reservations and just assumed the worse. Well the room was nice and clean, we had a oceanfront on the 10th fl in the main bldg... However the parking was not that bad even tho it was across the street.. Housekeeping was very nice and was always prompt when needed. I felt very safe because there was lots of security at all times...The lobby offered Wifi and the pools were nice as well. So if you want to budget your money and still enjoy a nice resort then this is the place to be...Excellent locations b/c you are close to everything...Grocery store is walking distance...They offer all your cookware and stove and fridge worked great. The AC gets really cold so nothing to worry about.. PleaSe dont let these negative reviews change your mind. We checked out 08/11 and my $50.00 deposit was back in my checking account the same day I checked out.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank tiffanyandhollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

After reading the reviews posted, we expected the worst and hoped for the best. We got the best. We checked in on Aug. 3 with no problems at 3:00 on the dot. We stayed in the waves building on the eighth floor. Our room was very nice, clean-not oceanfront but oceanview. We were surprised how nice everything was. The fridge and air condition worked great. The toilet was good. The elevator was fine. No problems with the power going out. Our balcony was just fine. The water in the shower was very, very hot. The staff was very nice and curteous. The trash and towels were picked up every day by a very nice lady. I have two girls who are 9 and 11. They enjoyed the pools, indoor and out. Within walking distance of the pavillion and several stores. Parking was not bad. Sure across the street but very reasonable. Security all around. No problems until dark and all the crazies came out. Fireworks starting at 10pm and ending around 3am, but that is not the hotel's fault. Town of Myrtle Beach needs to enforce the laws. Checked out Aug 8 with no problems. My family had a very nice stay and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoftballMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 km away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,188 reviews
10.6 km away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,229 reviews
0.9 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
1.4 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Address: 1706 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3216
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Shores Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing