We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Vacation”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Vacation”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This time we decided to stay at a different resort. We were going with other members that had never been. We were a little worried trying somewhere new and just relied on reviews for the Sandy Beach.
Everyone loved the location as well as the resort.
We are returning to the Sandy Beach in September.
I would recommend this Resort to anyone.
We were very happy with our rooms, the beds were very comfortable, great location.
Only one problem, if you are thinking of taking your laptop the WI FI is very weak, bad reception.
We had great weather and of course excellent restaurants.
Can't wait for September!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    382
    132
    84
    54
See reviews for
840
347
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Living like royalty in my home away from home! The wonderful reception begins in the unload/load section of the resort with Security being friendly, informative, and efficient. Reception/Receptionist are kind during check-in. I love being ocean front in my spacious suite that also faces the 3 pools. Enjoying this visit; will definitely return to my palace.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Sandy Beach is a beach side resort on Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach. They have many room options and we stayed in room 1111, a 3 bedroom ocean front condo. We had a w/d, two baths, internet and a balcony. The rooms were clean and they have housekeeping. The location was perfect for our 8-18 group of kids. Right next to the water park and family kingdom amusement park. We were 4 blocks from the boardwalk, which is a beautiful walk and has amusements, restaurants and entertainment. The beach was not too crowded at Sandy Beach, which was a concern of ours, but you do need to get your tent up before 9:00 I would say. They do require tents to be 10 feet apart in Myrtle now, which is a change and we don't like that, but that's an ordinance now. It doesn't make sense with the blue umbrellas the lifeguard puts up right next to each other, but you can't change it. That was the only downside since we had a group of 27. We were there from 7/9-7/23/11 and the weather was great. The staff and security at Sandy Beach were excellent too. I would highly recommend Sandy Beach and Myrtle Beach for families.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palmetto tower, it's newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shredmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This place was so much fun, in fact, we returned for our second year. The room was great, even with three teenage girls, we were very comfortable. The kitchen let us save money by having breakfast and lunch right at the hotel.

My favorite part of the hotel was our balcony. I could sit and read, air dry the towels, people watch... shucks, we even got treated to a Thunderstorm, complete with a streaker! :) Thankfully, we were high enough that most parts were blurry! Still, it make for a great laugh moment for our family.

The beach is great in front of the resort. Plenty of soft sand to sunbath and lots of hard pack to play in and build castles.

We plan on making Sandy Beach Resort our destination for 2012 as well.

Room Tip: Our room was a double bed, single bath, then kitchen. The lving area had the balcony and a hide-awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plinker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Drove down from Long Island to stay at Sandy Beach from the 10th through the 16th of July. It was very busy pulling into the driveway to unload but the security guard made this as smooth as possible. Check-in was very efficient and the woman at the desk was extremely friendly. We had requested a room in the Palmetto Tower away from the pool noise and received one on the 19th floor. When we got to the room it was exactly like the website shows only with a breathtaking view of the ocean from our balcony. From that height it felt like we were directly over the ocean. The five of us stayed in a one bedroom suite that had two queen beds in one bedroom and a pull down bed in the living room. The whole place was immaculate with plenty of storage in the rooms and bathroom. The pool area was very busy with plenty of families and children.I noticed a few people saving lounge chairs but we had no problem getting chairs and we are not early risers. Beach access is only steps away outside the pool area with a shower to rinse off the sand as you return. There is plenty of secure parking right across the street. Most of the retaurants are a short drive away on 17. Alot of the other entertainment is within walking distance. Sandy Beach was an exceptional value and well worth the 13 hour drive to get there!

Room Tip: Book through the hotel to get best rate and room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reeldeal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The hotel was packed with people when I stayed (I think it was sold out). There wasn't a point during my four nights there that I had any problems whatsoever. It is a 100% no smoking hotel. You may get the occasional rebel who was smoking on their balcony but when the staff spots them they take care of it. The pools (2 pools, 2 hot tubs, and a large lazy river) are great and are at the perfect temp (get there early so you can get a prime spot). Tons of off site (right across the street) parking. The views are like nothing I have ever seen before if you can get your room facing the ocean. Extremly friendly and outgoing staff. The room was huge with a full kitchen and laundry. Water pressure was not so great but that is the norm for Myrtle hotels. It doesn't get much better than only having to walk about 20 steps to get to the beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, stay in the new part of the hotel, and of course get an ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savocabol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My family stayed at the Sandy Beach the week of July 11th in a single bedroom suite (two queens) in the Palmetto Tower. We were graciously greated by the security guard, who assisted with check-in parking and check-in was fast, friendly, and efficient. Our room was cool, clean, and well stocked with supplies. Rooms have everything you need to fix and eat meals. Pools were clean and the property was well groomed. The Sandy Beach is in a great location for familys (across the road from Family Kingdom, near Family Kingdom Water Park, a souviner shop, small grocery story, ice cream shop, and within walking distance to the new boardwalk.) The 2nd Ave. Pier is very close and puts off fireworks on Wednesdays, which we always enjoy. The best part, is the BEACH, which is only steps from the resort. The resort has ample across the street parking, sufficent elevators, and the housekeeping staff are quick, trustworthy, and efficent. The Sandy Beach experience allows us a carefree vacation and we would highly recommend it. We started planning next year's Sandy Beach vacation on the drive home!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessed1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,201 reviews
9.2 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#56 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
305 reviews
2.3 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing