We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You get so much LESS than what you pay for.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viking Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #170 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You get so much LESS than what you pay for.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I planned a last minute trip to Myrtle Beach. I had to find a cheap hotel quickly, and didn't look at the reviews. I understand the whole get what you pay for thought process. We checked in and told them we wanted to look at the room before finalizing our check in. We booked the two bedroom ocean front room. As we were walking to the room (having to go down stairs from floor level to "ocean front") it smelled like a dirty bathroom through the walkways and down the stairs. I am not stretching the truth. We go into the room looked around a little and left. It wasn't up to standard living for any decent person. The view was a sand dune and the sky. That was it. I can easily over look the outside appearance for a clean decent room. The room smelled like dogs were allowed to urinate everywhere. We went back to check out. The receptionist was as unprofessional and ghetto to say the least. We were transfered to a sister hotel with no problem. Apparently they get this problem a lot. Will never stay or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diehardhimfan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    34
    39
    135
See reviews for
138
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Unsafe room door, the room stinks, stove didn't look safe, the refrig was noisy, the pool was dirty, the motel made me and my fam sick as soon we open the door, the staff was very mean, they need to knock it down and rebuild, we stayed from april 23 -28 nightmare everyday it seem haunted... Never again... Somebody call 911 hated...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betterchoic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very terrible place to stay rude staff smelly rooms smlled like ciggerettes and mildew one of the worst hotels ever n u had yo pay for icr

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staciebug28352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I go there looking at the pictures and having a confident attitude torwards it. Instead the people there seem to hate their jobs and look deppresed. There are a bunch of hispanics there (not that I have a problem with it), but they look at me like I dont belong to the motel. (glaring, staring, things that make you unconfortable) The vending machines are empty and the place overall smells bad and is a dirty mess that definently needs remodeling. It smelled like smoke in my room, and there was black stuff in the toilet. (people smoke) There is sand on my bed every night, and I sleep unconftorably. You can't walk bare feet in the room. Its disqusting. My drawers are broken and so is my closet wood. The only good thing about it is that it is cheap, the shower waters are big, and there is a ocen right next to it. End of Story.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catawba, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I def don't recommend this place to anyone unless you're completely desperate to find lodgings. I would stay again if I had absolutely had to and had no other options. Of course, as most people have pointed out, the rooms are dirty and smell. My sheets had blood on them which really made me unhappy. The thing that bothered me the most was that I didn't know that since my brother, who was with me, was under 21 at the time, I had to pay a security deposit. I was unaware of this at the time of booking and that's my fault because I booked thru Orbitz and didn't bother to get all the information from the motel directly. We decided to leave the next day and stay at Springmaid and went to get our security deposit back. We knew we wouldn't recover the Orbitz fees but at least we could get our security deposit. But, they wouldn't give it to us until the day of checkout which really upset me. So, we booked at night at Springmaid, got up the next morning and went back to the Viking to check out and collect our deposit. Also, the only night that we stayed, we had people who were partying outside our room at 3am so we could not get any sleep. I was told there was to be no loudness after a certain time. So, needless to say, we don't plan on going back but if we had to, I would. I just hope that the management reads these comments and tries to improve.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

stayed in room 218 side veiw for spring break and experinced many bites from bed bugs. Went to the doctor and He say I was bitten by bedbugs. Stayed on 04-07-2012. I am up set because i cant find a number any where to talk to a GM.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank India M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I order on-line under book it.com

Pics that show online looks nice and beautiful (maybe when they open the place) place was duty, when you walk to your room you will find beers that people throw - no one clean the area- our room smell nasty but for real nasty (like someone cook shrimps or fish) I called to the front office and they say that someone will show to clean (never did) i have to go like three times requesting my money back and they she give me another room just because they dont have nobody to clean...

when we get the other room i guess that one dont smell the bad... but beds are very uncomfortable, bathroom was not good and all place was nasty - duty... I know we pay 85 plus taxes but for next time i rather pay 50 dollars more and stayed at better place... dont stay at the place.... unless you dont care... also NO internet at least no signal!!! bad!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 km away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.4 km away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.3 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#134 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.3 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#140 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Ocean Front Motel

Property: Viking Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1811 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Viking Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Ocean Front Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Viking Ocean Front
Viking Hotel Myrtle Beach
The Oceanfront Viking Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing