We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waikiki Village
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dixfield, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

what a great place to stay for mature adults and couples
My wife and I just came back from a ten day visit and are making plans to return next year for a longer stay.
Everyone was great from Nancy the owner to Larry on the front desk, all the guests we met and the wonderful lady that cleaned our room.
Waikiki Village is a older type motel- just a great place to "kick back" and relax. You can't go wrong if you want a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: there are quite a few room types get in touch with motel for info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frostysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    45
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
108
63
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

we have been coming here for years!!! Love this place!!! Have made lots of great friends who come year after year! My daughter and her family are now coming!! Very friendly staff!!! Look forward to this trip every year!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank udaytonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

No doubt the owners are very nice, but make no mistake about it, this place is a bit of a dump. On the plus side it was clean, but so old, the bedding was stained from so many years of use. And oh my god, the beds were so old they squeaked and groaned every time we moved on them - every time we rolled over one of us would wake up. The toilet needed to be flushed 2X to work and the bathroom door wouldn't shut. We were willing to deal with all that, because it was cheap and we figured we go what we paid for, but when they started to do roof construction and we had to listen to that we had enough. Although Nancy was apologetic, she really should have let us know when we arrived or at the very least on the day it was going to start. We had enough after 2 days of noise and were given a refund so we could move to a quieter hotel. For $20.00 more we had a beautiful clean suite with a king bed right on the ocean, just up the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
localmyrtlebeach, Owner at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Waikiki Village. We always appreciate hearing about both positive and negetative comments. We want all of our guests to be happy and enjoy their stay. When you complained to me about the roof repair, I apologized. You asked why you not told about these repairs and I expalined that we did not expect the repair to start this week due to heavy rain. Since you were upset, I offered you are refund which you failed to mention in your post. We want all guests to be happy and to return again.
As for your other complaints, these were never mentioned during your brief stay. After reading your review, maintenance took care of all your issues. It took about 30 minutes to change the door knob and to repair the toliet. The mattress has been changed. These problems should have been told to us so we could have corrected them for you ASAP.
Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but unfortunately repairs have to be done. I do understand that everyone wants to enjoy their vacation.

Thank you,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Murray,SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great location,friendly mgmnt,clean rooms. Very relaxing atmosphere & good times can be had with no WILD party types! We've been going here for 13 years and look forward each year to coming back. We travel and cruise but always look forward to our vacation here every year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I had a great time on my recent visit to MB. This is probably the 6th time I'm staying at the Waikiki Village. The staff is very friendly and helpful and as usual the rooms were clean and comfortable. This time around I noticed that the towels in the bathroom were a threadbare, worn and of poor quality. This was a bit surprising and totally unexpected. The wireless internet service was also totally unsatisfactory. It is time that the hotel make a decent effort to provide acceptable service in this area. I could actually get a signal from the Landmark Hotel across the street. So I can't understand why they can't boost the signal so that all rooms can get an acceptable signal. I'll be back, hopefully Nancy and company will have dealt with these deficiencies by then.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool or on the backside of the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This was the first time as an adult I have stayed here (stayed with my parents a long long time ago) and I am so glad I did! This was the first vacation my soon to be wife and I had taken so we where wanting a good stay and boy did we get it!

I work for a rental company in the gatlinburg tn area and they could learn a lot from Waikiki Village. The customer service was friendly and caring. The room we stayed in was clean and came with a kitchen that had everything you could need ... Just bring the food. The view from our balcony wasn't a million dollar view, but hey we could see the ocean and it was 300 feet away. The pool and sauna were clean and temped just right.
WE WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhspooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I just returned home from our 12th visit to Myrtle Beach and the Waikiki Village. Once again we had a great vacation. We were greeted when we arrived by Harry who always gives us a laugh. It's such a pleasure to return each trip to see Nancy and Sandra along with Larry, Harry, Mike and Vena who all add a little something to our trip to make it memorable. Each of them are great folks and truly add to the daily fun around the hotel. It's so special to return each trip to a familiar room and staff. Yes we are extra lucky to have the same friends return each year along with us making it always feel like a reunion of sorts. On this trip we decided to fly instead of drive and Nancy came by personally to make sure everything was on schedule with our flight and our room booking. She's the heart and soul of the Waikiki and we truly enjoy her !!!
We took a drive along Ocean Blvd and sure there are bigger, fancier hotels, but drive by the Waikiki and you'll see guests in the pool, sitting around the tables getting to know one another, playing cards or enjoying a meal together out the back. It says alot that the Waikiki has repeat guests who come back year after year !
We can't express enough how much we enjoy returning each trip. Yes of course the Waikiki has been around for a while and you won't have all the fuss and frills - but let me tell you the staff go out of their way to keep you comfortable and to make your trip enjoyable. We'll see you in 6 months for another visit !! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracyBerryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.4 km away
Regency Towers
Regency Towers
#16 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#50 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.4 km away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#24 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
1.5 km away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#52 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Village

Property: Waikiki Village
Address: 1500 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Waikiki Village Myrtle Beach
Waikiki Village Motel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing