We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family with 3 young kids”
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #36 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a wonderful time here. The room was exactly what what pictured in the photos, It was clean, and the maid service came to sweep, mop, empty trash, and exchange towels everyday. We didn't have any issues with noise that we've had in other hotels. The view was great, and it is a great location. Every employee we came into contact with was very friendly. The breakfast on the deck was AMAZING and a very good price. There are so many pools. Some heated, some not, some in the sun, some in the shade. We just loved it. We only wish they had a bigger kiddie pool. The one they do have is VERY small, just for babies really. We can't wait to go back again this spring! We will be staying at Sew Watch again!

Room Tip: Bring you own umbrella and chairs to avoid paying for theirs! Our room happened to have an extra in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalieborynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMSabrina, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We are so glad that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to let the restaurant staff know how much you enjoyed the breakfast on the veranda. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent our 44 honeymoon at the sea watch. We had been there before as guests of folks who own a time share there. The stay overall was good and the room was, for the most part, clean and well appointed, however, we did find that housekeeping had failed to clean out the garbage from under the sink left by the former tenent. Empty beer cans, cardboard beer cases and old pizza boxes in addition to a trash can half full. I am sure it was an oversight, but a little discusting nonetheless.

Sort of took the edge off an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMSabrina, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

We are honored that you spent your 44th wedding anniversary with us. I realize that there was an issue with housekeeping not emptying the trash can underneath the kitchen sink. It truly was an oversight as we have some new staff members that are still training. Thank you for your understanding and we are so glad that you both had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you both for your 45th!

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My family and I have been going to the Sea Watch for the past 10 years. We usually go in July or Early August. During this time there are a lot of young families. The weather is usually gorgeous sometimes there is rain due to hurricane season. Luckily the last two years we had nothing but clear blue skies! I am now 22 and still enjoy my time at the beach. The staff is super friendly and always accommodating.

Some negatives that people are saying about the hotel is that it is a little outdated. I agree that the units have barely changed since we started going there many years ago. However, my family is down at the beach from early morning until about 5pm showers and leaves for the night. So only spent time in the room for breakfast lunch and bed. We never had any problems with cleanliness of the unit.

Some have said that the pool is full of sand. The reason for that is because people think the pool is a way to shower off from the beach rather than rinsing off in the shower stations. I see staff constantly cleaning out the pools in the early mornings.

There is also a DJ at the pool. The DJ has changed as of last year. I would have once said the DJ was a negative but they got a new one! For returning families the old DJ was very repetitive of what he did every single year. But, having a DJ at the pool livens up the place!

All in all we have been returning to this resort for the past 10 years. We even thought of going somewhere else for the past few summers but we always end up back at the Seawatch. Can't beat the location! We are already booked for this summer!


Aso, for those that have never been here before the ocean tide changes drastically throughout the day. Year after year my family and I get a chuckle from the people that set up their beach things and go up for lunch and come back and the tide has washed their things down the beach!

Room Tip: One suggestion is if you have younger children that may take naps during the day I would suggest sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about Sea Watch Resort and the staff! Most importunately we appreciate your loyalty as a retuning guest of 10 years. We have been working at refurbishments in the units and will continue to do so and we are working on a variety of pool side entertainment this summer that I am sure you will enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your summer vacation.

Kathy King, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just returned from a long President's Day weekend at Sea Watch Resort. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The hotel location is very convenient to many attractions, restaurants and shopping. The hotel staff was great, warm, friendly and accomodating. The $8.95 southern style buffet breakfast was a definite plus! The hotel itself is a little dated but the the rooms were clean and functional. Great ocean view as well! The winter pricing is a real bargain, the only down side was that it was too cold to walk on the beach so I would recommend visiting during the warmer months if you want to do a lot outdoors.

Room Tip: Definately choose an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMSabrina, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

We are so excited that you and your husband enjoyed your first trip staying at Sea Watch. Thank you so much for the warm comments you shared about the staff and the property. We have really enjoyed a mild winter for the most part but I know it was chilly last weekend. We look forward to having you and your husband stay with us again soon!

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My family has been to the Sea Watch twice and we wish we could go more often! Employees are so helpful, rooms are very clean and comfortable, and so close to a ton of activities. We went to the restaurant in the resort for a Sat. buffet....it was delicious!! So many choices and the staff were great!! We will definitely be keeping Sea Watch as our families little getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMSabrina, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with everyone about your stay. Our staff will be so excited to read your warm words about them and we are so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet on Saturday. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here last Spring. Our room was near the elevator so sleeping was difficult. Changing rooms isnt an option because of the layout of the building.
A woman committed suicide while we were staying at the resort last year. The police ordered everyone to stay in their rooms and off the balcony. Of course this isnt the resorts fault, but when I asked the manager for a discount or refund because of the incident, he refused. We ended the vacation two days short because of this. They had the nerve to send me some promo mail today. I called them and blasted the manager for the way they treated us and I would never return to this resort. If anything goes wrong while you are on vacation here, the staff will do nothing to make it better. You are on your own.

Room Tip: Never again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

This was a very unfortunate incident and our sincerest condolences remain with the family and friends of the deceased. As you requested yesterday I have removed you from our future mailings.

Kathy King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Sea Watch Resort is beyond excellent, the grounds, the upkeep, the location, cleanliness of the rooms, but especially the staff. We go ever year and wish we could go more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for the great compliments about the resort and especially the words of praise for the staff. We appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest and also wish you could visit more often!
We look forward to your return and a chance to make even more memorable vacations for you.

Kathy King, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.8 km away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
5.6 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,369 reviews
5 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
5.5 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $97 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing