We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing value,all the home comforts"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Amazing value,all the home comforts"”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This has to be the most comfortable hotel I have stayed in in the USA to date. From the balcony overlooking the Intercoastal Waterway, to the fireplace in the sitting area, fully-fitted kitchen and spa-like bathroom, it offers everything you could possibly need,and more, for a short,medium or long stay. Located in the Grande Dunes golf course community nr HW 17 at Myrtle Beach ,it is convenient for all the Myrtle attractions and just a 3 hour drive from the Triangle (North Carolina).

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and view over the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameramum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Good morning cameramum! We appreciate that you took some time to share your positive Marina Inn experience on TripAdvisor! As you were kind enough to mention, our guest rooms and villas offer several amenities. Additionally, all of our accommodations include separate showers, upgraded bathroom amenities, bathrobes and wifi. And although the Marina Inn is located inside the 2200 acre Grande Dunes Resort; just outside our entrance is easy access to all of the activities the area has to offer.

Thanks again and since you live close by, we look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    309
    120
    50
    23
See reviews for
627
595
34
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

For the price, I was expecting something a little better. Check in was fine but there was no valet offer made and we had to ask someone to help with our bags. The room was a bit shabby - large stain on our carpet, smudges on the glass sliding door, loose seal on the shower glass door, lots of dust in the bottom of the robe. We had lunch at Waterscapes - food and service was just ok. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBrisbane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Greetings MelBrisbane73. It is never easy to hear that we did not meet our guests high expectations at the Marina Inn. Our bell staff typically provides outstanding customer service and we continually strive to ensure that our guest rooms & villas are clean and free of defects.
However, we obviously did not live up to our high standards during your visit. Hopefully these room defects were reported during your stay so that we may take steps to correct them.

We sincerely regret that we will not have the opportunity for your return visit. Thanks again for sharing your family's experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

i can't say enough about this property. the staff was commendable and sandy who worked in waterscapes restaurant and outside at the pool bar was a sweetie and went out of her way to help me. i was on spring break vacation with three children ages 2,4,and 6. a long story about what happened to hubby, but it was if the staff knew i needed a little extra help managing and they were amazing. from the bell boys to housekeeping (who i normally don't tip, but these housekeepers REALLY kept our room tidy)check in was hassle free and the even had FREE DVD's for my kids to check out and watch. plenty to do around the city. we stayed in room 6404 and got a groupon deal. sometimes u can never be sure of groupon hotels, but after reading the reviews, i was a believer and this has been such a great experience, we will be returning in the summer to stay in the two bedroom suite this time with hubby so we can REALLY enjoy ourselves. the waterscapes restaurant was fabulous as well and our sweet server went out of her way as well to accomodate and even packed three miniature fresh fruit cups for my kids as snacks for later in the day. that meant ALOT to me. property is VERY clean, pool is VERY clean, shuttle buses are VERY clean and everyone was friendly-except whoever was working at the pool bar on 4.3. i went there at about 6:00 to roder some food and she said she was closed, though she did offer to make some smoothies for the kids which i didn't mind shelling out the $ for since they were reasonable priced. she just had the attitude of "i'm tired and want to get out of here and not wait on the kitchen to cook your food). the pool service on 4.3 could have been better, she NEVER made rounds the whole time i was there from 3pm-6:00pm when i was there. other than that, everything was perfect and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: we stayed in the harbur tower which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScorpioWande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you ScorpioWande! We appreciate your personally detailed experience during your Marina Inn family vacation. Thank you for recognizing some of our team members such as Sandy who has been providing excellent customer service for several years and the others from housekeeping and our restaurant WaterScapes to the bell staff.

The Marina Inn is the ideal location for families with small children with oversized guests rooms and villas, indoor/outdoor pools, private access beach, two entertainment venues across the street and a central location to all of the activities that the area has to offer.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to your return visit that will include your entire family this summer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Can't say enough! The stay was excellent. We got there and they didn't have a room available with 2 queen beds so they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. We felt like we were at home. beds were comfortable...service great...hotel and room was beautiful. We stayed in suite 4505. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!!!!!

Rosemary

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosedeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed there with my wife and my 3 month old baby.They upgraded us to the Mediterranean suite.The room was clean ,beautiful and comfortable.The view was excellent.The hotel was quiet.We ordered a lot of in house food which is from their restaurant waterscapes , all the food was delicious.
We went to the private beach by our own rental car .It is 5 minutes by car.All in all everybody was very friendly and place was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbrinder2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Stayed there with my wife and my 3 month old baby.They upgraded us to the Mediterranean suite.The room was clean ,beautiful and comfortable.The view was excellent.The hotel was quiet.We ordered a lot of in house food which is from their restaurant waterscapes , all the food was delicious.
We went to the private beach by our own rental car .It is 5 minutes by car.All in all everybody was very friendly and place was perfect for us.

Good Afternoon harbrinder2007
Thank you for sharing your recent Myrtle Beach vacation with the TripAdvisor community. The Marina Inn has a variety of accommodations to choose from and ALL rooms have views! The private oceanfront access that we provide our guests is unique in Myrtle Beach and not only is access easy to drive to but our hotel shuttle will transport you to and from the beach as well.
Thanks again and we look forward to your family's return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A group of my clients met at the Marina Inn for a couple of days. The facility was perfect for us and we really appreciated the professional and courteous staff. Eddie Chaviano and Andrea Childers made it very easy for us to conduct our business meeting...great value at a great price! The meeting space was set up properly and it was easy to control the lighting which was important since we used a projector. We pre-ordered lunch off the Waterscapes menu and had our own dining room in the restaurant. The meals were charged to our individual guest rooms and the process was very smooth and without incident. We would not hesitate to return to Myrtle Beach and stay at the Marina Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello John K -

Thank so much for taking the time to review the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes as a great meeting destination. We are so pleased that you feel like we offer great value for our product. We strive to make service and flexibility a priority without feeling like you have overpaid. Our meeting space is well suited for a variety of meetings and events with wifi included in the cost of the guest room. Eddie & Andrea as well as the entire team worked hard to ensure your meeting was a success and we appreciate you recognizing them as well.

Thanks again and we we look forward to your future visit at Marina Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I will say that the hotel is beautiful. Our room was large and comfortable. Our problems came with the service.

First, we noticed a large red stain on the carpet in our room, and one of our chairs had a large rip in the upholstery, and the stuffing was coming out. When we pointed this out to the houskeeping staffperson, she acted like, "So what do you want me to do about it?" Nobody made any attempt to clean the carpet or replace the chair, which I would think would be the normal thing to do.

Later, I came back from a drive and when the valet didn't come out of the hotel after I waited for a few moments in my car, I went in and found the valet, who looked like he was surfing the internet, and asked him if I could leave the car for him to take. I told him the keys were in it, and he said, "No problem." A HALF AN HOUR LATER, I pass through the lobby on my way to lunch, and the car is still sitting in front of the hotel, WITH KEYS INSIDE AND THE ENGINE ON. The valet was still surfing the net. I asked him what was going on, and he apologized and said he would park the car right away.

Then my wife and I went to lunch. We stood for ten minutes at the front of the restaurant before anyone who worked at the hotel was even visible. The restauarant was ceary open as there were other people dining. Finally someone appeared and found us a table.

We did have experiences with the staff that were more positive, but I don't think you should encounter these kinds of problems at a hotel of this caliber, especially since there is no shortage of hotel options in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you Cadifor for taking time to share your experience during your recent visit to the Marina Inn. We take very seriously our service level and learning about your experiences are certainly concerning to us.

Please consider that these type scenarios are not typical of what the Marina Inn represents, but they did happen to you and for that we sincerely apologize. Rest assured that your concerns have been addressed with these areas so that we can make the corrections needed to continue to provide the best service and amenities in Myrtle Beach.

And are absolutely right - no one should encounter these kinds of problems at a hotel of this caliber! Thank you again and hope that you will give us another chance and consider a future visit with the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.8 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,144 reviews
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
8.3 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,322 reviews
7.6 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,134 reviews
5.0 km away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
5,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing