We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Housekeeping service was absolutely horrible. It was the worst out of all the hotels we travel to and we travel a lot! They never came on time even when we called in ahead of time in the morning especially with a small toddler who needed to nap in the afternoon and so we requested early service. We found a ton of mold and mildew in the bathroom upon checking in on our first day. We called housekeeping and the lady that came to clean the mildew had a huge attitude problem. After that episode we didn't even bother to deal with the mediocre service the hotel had to offer. We will not be returning to this hotel. It is a third class hotel. We will be posting this review on other travel sites as well so that people know how overpriced and mediocre this place is.

Stayed: April 2012
7  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

AP - Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience on TripAdvisor. Obviously we are very concerned about your housekeeping experience at the Marina Inn. The team strives to provide excellent service in all departments so we apologize that we failed you in this area. We are also displeased that that this experience kept you and your family from exploring other wonderful services that the Marina Inn provides. It is very unfortunate for us that you feel that we are a third class hotel when we have so many loyal guests that return on a regular basis.

Thanks again for your feedback, AP. Rest assured that your service issues will be addressed to avoid this situation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,410 - 1,416 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We actually live in Myrtle Beach but stay here when we want a romantic night away. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, gorgeous bathroom. The restaurant (Waterscapes) is one of my husband's favorites -- he prefers it to Ruth's Chris next door. The location is far enough away from the madness downtown that you wont run the risk of drunk teenagers running around. We love this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K8Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you K8Mart for choosing the Marina Inn for your staycation! Most Myrtle Beach hotels will not even accommodate anyone with a local ID - sad! But we appreciate and enjoy accommodating our local business! As you have already experienced - WaterScapes, our onsite sustainable restaurant is also a favorite for locals where you can enjoy luxuriously casual, sustainable dining. We appreciate your local business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel has all the amenities we were looking for in celebrating our 19th Wedding Anniversary. My husband has already said this is the hotel we will stay in when visiting Myrtle Beach. Customer service was impeccable. Great atmosphere and the room we stayed in was FANTASTIC. Great hotel for the cost.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms...it will depend on what you are looking for. The hotel isn't on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hello Tara W and thank you for sharing your wedding anniversary experience at the Marina Inn! We appreciate you acknowledging the impeccable customer service, atmosphere and value. We are an ideal venue for intimate occasions such as anniversaries & honeymoons. We look forward to having you back again for your 20th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel was gorgeous. It was a perfect location, grocery and drug store right across the road. The private beach access for guests was marvelous, decked out with lounge chairs and umbrellas, restrooms, showers, nice powdery sand and much cleaner and less congested than the boardwalk area. The valet parking was a nice feature (and free). The room was top notch. The views were amazing!! Sat on the balcony every morning and watched the private yachts go by. Played ping pong with my son and chilled at the pool while listening to Bob Marley. Love this spot!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shulamite1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thanks shulamite1969! Your shared experience is a wonderful generalized summary of what the Marina Inn represents: luxurious accommodations, great location, outstanding amenities and a relaxing enviroment. We appreciate your time and hope you will consider another visit to Marina Inn soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have always driven by the Marina Inn going to the outlets in North Myrtle Beach, but I have never stayed there. I was in for a treat when I decided to stay here during my Spring Break for a few days. I stayed in a very spacious and very clean King suite. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The great parts about the hotel were the beautiful landscaping, great amenities, and amazing view of the marina. However, there was hair in the bathtub and shower on arrival, the fireplace wouldn't work, room service from Waterscapes was terrible (frozen chicken fingers that tasted like they were warmed up in a toaster oven and pizza that had a crust that was still doughy). The shower also had a funky smell. The indoor pool was great, but we couldn't find any chairs available at the outside pool. The fitness center is very small, just your basic equipment. There is a full kitchen in the room which is nice, but there was only 2 spoons, no dish soap/sponge to wash said spoons to use again unless you wanted to run the dishwasher for an entire cycle. The curtains could be a little better at blocking out the sun in the morning, we pulled them closed as well as we could. They say they have an evening turndown service, but we saw no evidence of such. Overall, housekeeping could do a better job, but the hotel is a great choice in the Myrtle Beach area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night while we were on vacation. It was our one night without kids. The food is awesome and our king suite was relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnobriens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.9 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,358 reviews
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2 km away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
7.9 km away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
15.4 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $156 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing