We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“The Only Place to Stay in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caravelle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Alabama
1 review
“The Only Place to Stay in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Caravelle since 2009. We have always had a great experience there. Pricing and rates are very reasonable.The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice and the views from the balcony's are breathtaking. Planning to be there in the next few days and am looking forward to seeing familiar faces. I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryfender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    707
    308
    233
    214
See reviews for
1,120
636
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We are currently staying at the "resort" and it is definitely not as expected based on the website. When we first arrived the check in staff was not very friendly. They were dealing with an upset customer on the phone and didn't even bother to tell me it would be a minute before getting to me. Even though they had two people just standing there with one person sitting in an office. The parking garage is not very safe as it is for one car at a time when turning each corner, if you can find parking at all. Two of the elevators have not been working in the two days we have been here and waiting is awhile. The room was OK looking but you could tell it is not very clean as should be. The shower still had hairs in it and it was not long hair if you know what I mean. The beds are terrible. Very small and not much padding. The pools are very disappointing from what the web shows. Outside are a pool, hot tub, kiddie pool, lazy river and kiddie play area. The play area has been closed the whole time and workers’ drilling all day long beside you while trying to relax is not acceptable. The lazy river is VERY small & not deep at all so watch your knees dragging the bottom. The hot tub is big but barely any jets. The indoor pool is just NASTY! About a foot below where it should be for water level. The hot tub inside does not work either. The hot tub located outside the indoor pool on the 7th level is very cold and & doesn't work. Overall the only good thing we have found in 2-3 days now is that we are ocean front and it is amazing without all the pools below you or being able to see anyone around you. Hope this review helps because I sure would have liked to have read it before I booked here! They do have good wireless internet service in order to allow me to post this review though! lol

Room Tip: If you want privacy, book oceanfront.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank NoraPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Loved it! TRUE oceanfront accommodations, CLEAN, and GREAT breakfast restaurant centrally located!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! It is our pleasure to have you as our guest! There is alway a room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was a bit worried at first to try the Cravelle Resort due to several negative reviews. But it just so happened that the weekend we chose to visit Myrtle Beach all of the hotels in Central Myrtle Beach were packed. So we drove 5 mins to North Myrtle Beach to stay at Caravelle. Check in was quick and easy. Still scared of previous reviews I was afraid to see the room and I also heard that parking was bad. We were given the Queen Efficiency Oceanfront room. We drove across the street from the Registration office to the parking garage, which said it was full but we decided to go in anyways. To our luck the 5 & 6 floors had PLENTY of spaces. Upon entering the room we find a VERY clean and updated room! Granite counter tops, flat screen tv, small dining area and the view AMAZING!!!! We were on the 15th floor directly in front of the beach & your balcony is PRIVATE, you cannot see your neighbors (if in room 1513)!!!! I read that some people had dirty out dated rooms but this was not the case with our room. Maybe we got lucky, I don't know but our room was wonderful!!! North Myrtle Beach is quiet compared to the hustle & bustle of the Central area. I would recommend that if you want a more mature crowd of people then pick North Myrtle Beach & pick the OCEANFRONT view (there is a difference between oceanfront & ocean view)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SooulGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest, and we thank you for your review. We always want to make sure that our guest receive the finest we have to offer and we thank you again. We look forward to your return to the Caravelle Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a king jacuzzi suite. It was very spacious. It have a porch that walked out to the grass in the back and you could see the ocean through the brush. The room was in need of some repairs and upkeep. The outdoor pool was average and had a play area for kids. The indoor pool was under construction and I was not told about that during the booking process; which would have been nice. The hotel was right on the ocean and had a walkway but the view from the bottom floor was lacking do to brush.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our Jacuzzi suite and your stay here at the Caravelle. We always do our best to make sure that our guests have the best experience when they visit any time of the year, with winter time having a much different atmosphere then busy summer time.

Even thought our water amenities on our outdoor pool deck: our children’s waterpark, our large outdoor jacuzzi, our olympic size pool, and our adult and children lazy rivers, are open all year long and maintained at a controlled temperature of 84 degrees, these are not in use very much during this time of year, with just a few children with us, and with the cool air temperature. We did have a mechanical problem occur with our equipment at the indoor pool and Jacuzzi on our 7th floor during your stay, but this was repaired as speedily as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

All our accommodations at the Caravelle have private balconies, with our ocean front accommodations on the ground floor having porches going directly out to our ocean front lawn, which ends at the slatted sand fences the city has put up to catch blowing sand, and vegetation does grow there in its natural state, all this to prevent beach erosion.

Thank you for bringing the condition of your room to our attention and we will make sure that the proper staff is notified.

We hope to have you as our guest again soon. There will always be room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We come here from Ontario Canada...we are called snowbirds. We fly south for winter. We have been coming to this resort for 18 years and the last 2 as snowbirds. We love the location away from the busy Grand Strand, but easy access to all, restaurants, shows,shopping etc. The resort is well managed, and offers many kinds of accomodations. Our 1 bedroom suite in the St.Clements Bldg, has a wonderful view of the beach. All suites are different as they are individually owned, but rented through the Caravelle Resort. We will continue to come here as snowbirds for many years, its our place away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been coming here on and off (went rv-ing for 5 years) for over 15 years and always have a great time. We are "monthlys" and Patsy and Sheila run a program for us that is second to none, complete with a weekly cocktail dinner, coffee hour, etc. The staff from maintenance, to front desk are always friendly, professional, and helpful. I don't golf anymore, but i have seen Ken in action, and i can vouch that he works extremely hard to make sure his golf groups are 100% accomodated. This is not a new building, but they are constantly making changes and improvements to keep up to date, and most folks we talk to are enjoying their stay. The heated pool(s) are an additional incentive. All in all we believe we are getting good value for our buck, and always recommend the Caravelle to our friends.

Room Tip: Try "ocean front" if you like the sound of waves and the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
customerservice_12, Guest Relations Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
It is our sincere pleasure here at the Caravelle to spend the winter with our snowbird couples, and especially our couples who have stayed with us over the years, you are part of our Caravelle family! We do have a great time, don't we? Patsy, Shelia and Kenny work hard along with all of us to make sure that you have the finest accommodations, food and beverage and events we can offer. We await your return next year with even more events being offered to make sure that you always enjoy your winter beach home!

There will always be room for you at the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
5.1 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
2.3 km away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Property: The Caravelle Resort
Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing