We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Pits"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Ranked #189 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 9 July 2012

unfortunately, i made reservations without checking reviews....BIG MISTAKE!!!! Visualize the FEBREZE commercials. WE COULD NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, IT WAS DIRTY, DISGUSTING SHEETS, SINKS DIRTY AND MOLD IN EACH ROOM THEY SHOWED US. IF YOU HAVE ALLERGIES OR ALLERGIC TO MOLD, ETC....STAY AWAY. also, there was a lack of communication between the manager and the desk clerk. bottom line, they did reimburse our deposit but would not recommend this hotel to anyone. i would have stayed in my car.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank San H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We saw the pictures, read the reviews and talked to the desk staff....we were sold and ready to book our 2 rooms for a week. There were 2 Adults and 3 kids so we got two adjoining rooms. We opened the doors and saw....dingy yellow sheets, nasty carpet in one room and dirty grout between cracked tiles in the other. In the bathrooms, MOLD, MELDEW and just plain DIRTY. Just b/c you have a little round table and 2 mix-match chairs (in both rooms) it's not a suite! Save your time and go down the strip to the comfort inn and SUITES for the same cost. That's what we did....that same night we checked-in, we checked out. Even in my worse, single, college days i wouldn't have stayed there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank as s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This place is disgusting!! To say the least, roaches are everywhere!! We had to put our bags on the balcony because we Didn't want them getting in our stuff and take them back home with us! Hell we even slept on the balcony. Just out of curiosity, we opened the microwave and there were 2 roaches crawling around in there!! Roaches crawling all over the couch, inside and out. They were in the bathroom, crawling up the walls and windows, on the furniture, Everytime I turned around a roach was crawling! And not to mention the shower didn't have warm water it was either scalding hot or cold. The bathroom sink was clogged up and took 10 mins to drain just from washing your hands. The office was closed by 9 o'clock and didn't open til 8 am. The sign on the elevator said it was out of order and repair man was suppose to be there 4 days ago to fix it, it was still broke. The list goes on and on. This place needs to be shut down. All these reviews are so true and I wish I would have read these before I checked into this hell hole!! 

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was our fourth time staying at SummerWind and this fourth time was horrible. We arrived at midnight because they had left our room keys out for us only to find out they were not activated we had to call and call before we were able to get someone to let us in our room, but we finally got in an hour later. As soon as we walked in roaches in the bathroom sink and on the nightstand. One night we had to call the law because the people in the room beside us were so loud aruging and throwing their clothes from the balcony on peoples car. However the law came and nothing was done. We had no ice bucket or trashcan in the bathroom we requested one and still never received it. The elavator broke the second day we were there and was not fixed when we left. Needless to say it's not easy to load and unload all of things from the fourth floor. Another day there we could not get any clean towels until after 1:00 and still only received two towels and no wash cloths.The pool was not cleaned on a daily basis. I was in it one day and everytime I got out I had someones hair on me and there was white frothy looking stuff floating in it. Since this "new managament" has taken over needless to say the previous management was a lot better. I will never go back here and I will pay a little more money somewhere else to get better service!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Have stayed at summerwind the past 3yrs, this yr was veryyy bad! Water bugs in room,elevator broke for 3days,no phone book in room, one day could not get towels b/c they had none clean until after lunch! Air conditioner was leaking water on our carpet in room the whole time.People fighting one evening up til midnight got throwed out the next morning! Point is, could not sleep! Sorry to say but will never go back gonna look for new place to stay even if cost alittle more it will be worth it not to have to put up with all this crap!! Last but not least had no water presser in shower! & pool was not clean properly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

June 22, 2012
We found this motel randomly as we drove down Ocean Blvd. It seemed okay from the outside and the room we previewed appeared to be acceptable. We assumed the room we previewed would be the room they would give us...wrong! We stayed in room 306 (well, we tried to stay in room 306). Upon entering the room, we realized that it wasn't a wonderful place but we assumed we'd be able to stick it out for the two nights (there was a two night booking minimum). Right away we realized four things: 1. dead roaches 2. uncleaned room, 3. there wasn't enough towels for everyone- there was one super thin towel and one wash cloth and 4. there wasn't a microwave in the room like they said it would be. We went down to the front desk to ask about the microwave and for more towels. The tall guy and the woman appeared to be shocked that there wasn't a microwave in the room. She told him to get the microwave from room 302. He replied that it had already been taken to a different room! Then he said he'd get one from another room and bring it to our room. Then the tall guy (forgot his name) presented two more towel but then took one back because he realized it was stained! Eventually, he brought us a microwave and gave us 3 more very thin towels and 3 wash clothes. Problem solved....or so we thought.
We turned on the TV and the picture was fuzzy. We asked about the TV and the tall guy said that it never looked that way before and that he would call the cable company??? (that didn't make sense because the cable was working properly..it was the TV that did not show clearly.) At this point, we are wondering what else is wrong with this place.
We decided to check the sheets to see if they'd been changed. Big mistake! Not only were the sheets dirty but they still had hairs from the prior guests!! Once again, we went down stairs to ask for more sheets. The lady got up to get more towels...we followed her into the room to make sure we were getting clean sheets. She gave us more sheets.
To relieve our stress of the evening, we decided to go down to the beach! Nice experience! When we returned back to our room, we noticed that the pictures were hung upsided down on the wall. We laughed at their mistake. Out of curiosity, I peeked behind one of the pictures and found a shocking amount of mold!!! It was growing on the wall and on most of the back of the picture! We went back downstairs (oh yeah, notice how we have to keep walking back to the front office? it's because the phone didn't work!!) I explained the mold issue and asked if there was another room available because of the mold and that a person in our party had asthma. She said there was a beach front room available but we'd have to pay more for it. I asked her about early checkout and she said we'd have to pay for one night. She sent the tall guy to our room to look at the mold. He said he had a "cleaner" for that. I asked if the "cleaner" had a loud smell. He replied no, just the regular bleachy smell of bleach!! He said the bleach would take it right off!! He left the room.....I'm not sure what happened but by the time we made it back down to the office...they agreed to let us go without any penalty! This was the worst motel ever!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Book Here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ida g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have to reverse my review of this place. Alot has changed and not for the better. Stay away if possible.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the 2 room suite. That shelf mounted on the wall is a friends entertainment cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryjane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#165 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
520 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
4.3 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#98 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,020 reviews
3.1 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#95 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $66 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing