We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
marietta GA
Level Contributor
624 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“great family destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

no complaints at all about this property

PROS;
great waterpark - pools were a great temperature (even ones outside)
everything was very clean, even with the crowds over presidents day weekend
very nice sized rooms with kitchenettes.
staff was great - everyone was very helpfull and friendly - every staff member i ever saw said good morning or hello - in teh elevator, walking down the hall, even cutting through the water park in teh morning to go to the coffee shop
had a problem with tv and maintanence was sent up quickly to fix the problem
beach in front of hotel is not crowded and has llots of wide sand for activities
two tvs in teh room was nice - one for kids, one for adults
balconies were nice to sit out on
it is a bit away from the crowded, older section of town
never had a crowded feeling on a busy holiday weekend - for example, never encountered a slow or jammed full elevator (and i was on 8th floor)

CONS
water pressure was somewhat low in our 8th floor room
no retail or food within walking distance
kind of a pain at times to walk across street and get out of parking garage
morning breakfast buffet was always crowded

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,467
    1,231
    429
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,813
667
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Dunes village is a very nice resort we stay every year. The 2 bedroom Condo is my favorite clean, oceanfront view, full kitchen etc.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites are the best if you need lot's of space..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dreeme38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was mid-February, so we didn't expect much in the line of excitement in town or the hotel.
In that respect, we weren't disappointed.
Lots of places were closed.
Not many cars on the streets.

We were checked into a relatively empty hotel.
The exterior looked nice enough.
When we arrived at the room, it was occupied.
We had to return to the desk to receive another room assignment and complete further paperwork for the change.
This meant returning to the parking garage for a second time to change the placard that goes on the dashboard.
The bathroom and kitchen were filled with cutesy swanlike towel foldings.
The sliding glass doors to the oceanfront balcony were unlocked, despite a posted warning on those windows to keep them locked.
Once parking inside the garage, there were no signs to tell us to simply drive up to the gate that said "ENTRANCE ONLY" to leave.
The hotel expected us to use an UNSECURED WiFi site.

We went to two restaurants that night seeking dinner.
The first two were not associated with the hotel.
In one, there were only about 20 people, all sitting at the bar, smoking cigarettes.
The menu was, decidedly DOWNscale.
The second restaurant smelled so strongly of cigarette smoke when we opened the door that we didn't even enter.
Leaving, I spotted the restaurant our hotel promised a discount on food
There were peanut shells on the floor.
The walls were covered with old license plates.
The napkins were a roll of paper towels situated next to the condiments.
The waitress brought our drinks in plastic cups.
Even with the discount, the bill was higher than I would have expected for the Olive Garden, not too far away, and a much better choice.

Management welcomed our evaluation with a shrug.

Room Tip: UGH! See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janek2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Apologies for your experience covered in your review. Except for the swans it sure doesn't sound like Dunes Village . All employees and managers are trained to exceed all expectations and we take that responsibility and commitment very seriously. We're known for our indoor waterparks, family friendly atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Your experience would not be acceptable and I wish we would have known about it.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal at one of our great restaurants in Myrtle Beach. It is a shame that you did not try our outstanding menu at The Captains Cafe located Ocean Front at the Dunes Village. It is non smoking and offers a great view of the ocean along with outstanding food and service.
Next time you come to Myrtle Beach, stay with us and try our restaurants, I'm sure you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Dunes Village Phase 2 during January. The pictures on the web site were accurate to what we found for our room. Plenty of space in the bedrooms but very small common living area. If it was summer most time would have been spent outdoors but on those days where we stayed at the resort it was cramped for 2 adults and 2 children. OK quailty of furnishings. It was loud and noisy as this resort is more for families. If you are going to vacation without children I would not recommend you stay at this resort. We have stayed at South Wind without the children and found it very comfortable and quiet but still close to everything. Overall Dunes Village was clean and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie1993093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Exchanged into a 2 BR, deluxe suite (angled to see south beach from the hotel)
The rooms were very nice, traveled in Feb 2012.... surprised to see it so busy over the super bowl weekend. Didn't use the water facilities, designed mostly for kids and was busy with kids.
Just my choice to let the kids scream away. Would be nice to have a quieter adult section.

As we read about the parking, no big deal. Parking space right on the beach is really a waste of premium space, so I got over a couple minute walk. Had breakfast at the hotel once, it was OK but very convenient. The room was pretty clean and all TVs most functional. Nice but simple amenties. Don't plan on complicated meals... we used a square oven pan for a round pizza. Don't get freaked out of it not being like at home. Beds were good, we slept well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lydell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Several slides in their indoor eater area make this a ggod place to go in less than beach weather. As with all of Myrtle Beach, there'always a ggod deal to be found. Location is north of the Strand, so it is quieter. Breakfast buffet is an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cycle4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed from Feb. 5-7 and what attracted us to stay at this resort was the indoor waterpark. However, the chlorine levels were so high in the pools and hot tubs that it burned mine and my husband's eyes to the point that it looked like we were crying. Also, our daughter suffered from coughing fits along with burning eyes that thankfully went away after she left the waterpark. When we went to the front desk to complain, two other families were already there complaining about their children getting sick from the chlorine and vomiting! When we checked out on Sunday, the front desk clerk asked my husband if we enjoyed our stay and he replied that we hadn't because the chlorine levels were so high we only used the waterpark once. She told my husband that we weren't the only customers who had complained and that the matter would be addressed. Were planning another trip to Myrtle Beach in March, and will probably stay at the Landmark Resort. Hopefully, they monitor the chlorine levels better than the Dunes Village Resort! If a person's main reason for staying at the Sand Dunes is for the indoor waterpark, you may want to reconsider.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We appreciate you candid response regarding your stay at Dunes Village Resort and I would like to respond regarding our Indoor water park chlorine levels. All of our pools, spas and specialty water attractions are constantly monitored to have the correct chlorilne and PH levels. Many people have different tolerences to chlorine, especially when not using sunscreen to protect the skin. Our weekends do have a high volume of use but we monitor these periods even more strictly and always try and provide a safe and fun environment for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.1 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
2.7 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
1.4 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
3.0 km away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing