We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Abington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Third stay!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This past week was my third visit to this hotel, and once again I had a wonderful time, great service and great people. The valet/bell men go out of thier way for everyone. Room was very clean and the whole place looks like brand new. This is the place to bring children as there is so much for them to do and no smoking anywhere near them. Love it here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPusateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you found everything to your liking - again. We agree that this is the place to bring children. All year long we have activities, fun and games for them, a water park to occupy them, and wonderful rooms to put them to bed in.

We appreciate your loyalty, and are anxiously awaiting your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,660
    1,297
    460
    214
    142
See reviews for
4,063
696
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay in three years. Both times we got an angled ocean view two bedroom unit. Compared to our stay from three years ago, customer service has improved quite a bit. The staff from the front desk to the pool maintenance to the valet parking attendants as well as the restaurant waitresses went out of their way to make sure that everything was the way we wanted. I do agree with the previous reviewer regarding spotty wifi which can be annoying. My only other complaint is that the restaurant for breakfast buffet makes you pay as you enter but asks you to fill out the gratuity amount BEFORE being even served. But the service at the restaurant was very good. Overall kids loved the buffet and the pool area and I liked the tiki bar so everyone was content.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We take pride in our customer service, and are happy that you noticed the improvements.

With regard to breakfast, prepaying gratuities is not a necessity. You can wait until the end of your meal and add it on then if you wish. Either way, you will always receive phenominal service in the Admirals Room, as they are the best servers in the business.

We are glad everyone was content, and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was my family's second time at Dunes Village and we had a blast. Our son loved the pool area and enjoyed the activities with Cari. She was excellent and our son loves the frames, tshirt, hat and spin art we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiedid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Dunes VIllage Resort. We strive to make it a fun-filled environment, from plenty of activities to an amazing 30,000 square foot water park. Our rooms are fantastic as well, with most of the comforts of home. We hope you can bring your son back soon for some more memory making! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Sadly, our last visit to this resort, as we were informed that the owner's association has decided not to have a monthly rental discount for the month of March. We have been coming here for at least the past three years. This year my room was ready when I arrived, around noon. "Have you stayed with us before?" It sure would be nice if they had a way of flagging your name, for repeat customers. Some minor issues with the room, which were reported by telephone, to the front desk. "We will have someone up to your room within 15 minutes, have a great day." Ten minutes later, all was taken care of, efficiently, and completely, with a smile.
It is quite obvious that this resort prides itself on customer service. Strangely enough, we stayed in the same angle oceanview on the 12th floor, from a previous year. 2 bedroom unit, with a long balcony which could be accessed from the living room, and master bedroom. Room was clean, and all appliances worked well. Always good water pressure, with tons of hot water, at any hour. Property is very well maintained, and staff are always visible looking after the property. All staff we encountered were extremely polite, and always offered a smile, and polite conversation.My only concerns/complaints, were that I found the mattress too firm, which caused my back and hips to be quite stiff in the morning, and the noise factor. A staff member from the resort was blowing leaves on an adjacent property @ 7am!! Wi-fi was also very tempermental. We called down, and were advised that they would reset the system. This only resolved the problem for a couple of days. Might not be an issue for some, but we were visiting from out of the country, so we relied heavily on wi-fi. We did have to call down a couple of times to get fresh towels. One tip: Don't go to the front desk if you need something, because the staff go through a lengthy description of the property to anyone checking in. It is much quicker to just call. We called down to check out, with no issue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side receive the sun from late morning, until sunset, and have a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your monthly stay here at Dunes Village Resort. We are happy to hear that your room was ready, and any minor issues were taken care of promptly. As you mentioned, we take our customer service very seriously.

Additionally, we are terribly saddened by the fact that this was your last visit to Dunes VIllage Resort. It was very hard to say goodbye to our March Monthlies, and we certainly hope you come visit us again if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central VA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Thank you Dunes Village for a fabulous fifth stay! We've been coming to this property since our son was 14 months old and will not even bother looking for another property when we visit Myrtle Beach.

This trip we saved a few pennies and just booked a Double Queen Angle Suite. Perfect. Room was clean. Noise was minimal even though the area was overtaken by a Cheerleading Competition this weekend.

Water Parks were still great...however, the hazard cone has now been in the splash pool for a year now...time to do something there.

New walkway being built to the beach...Yay!

I enjoyed a massaged in the Oasis Spa with Bonnie. Fabulous.

Thanks again Dunes...see you later this year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
We appreciate the great feedback regarding your most recent stay at Dunes Village and will work to make the 6th even better. Sorry about the cone but I promise it is not the same one. For some reason that particular elephant takes and amazing amount of abuse. Fixed for now. Glad you enjoyed the Oasis Spa and our other amenities and hope your children continue to grow up with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in an angle 2 bedroom room on the 11th floor. Everything was great. Even when we had a minor issue of not being able to find the remote control for the TV - they had someone at our room within 5 minutes. Wow. And CHEAP.

We were there the last week in March. The kids were in the ocean and playing in the waves although it was too cold for us old parents. The best is being able to go back to the indoor pool and water park and climb in the warm water and be comfortable. or into the hot tub and really warm up. Pool tables, ping pong tables, foos ball tables, shuffle board....it's all fun. Makes the off season fun at the beach

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if you want a low or high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momma_christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demorest, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We loved staying at the Dunes village in Myrtle Beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job daily in keeping our room clean and that was not a easy task with 4 teenagers. We will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: We had a angled room and we still had a perfect view of the ocean. The angled rooms are cheaper if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrysta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A P, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
"perfect stay" is what we all like to hear and we're looking forward to beating your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.7 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,123 reviews
2.7 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,106 reviews
5.0 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
3.3 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,834 reviews
2.7 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing