We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Hotel/Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel/Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our first stay here and we chose it based on all the great reviews. Overall we were very satisfied. The staff throughout the resort were always very friendly and very helpful. The indoor water park was a huge hit with my kids. Although crowded at times, they spent hours every day there. The breakfast each morning was very good and they do a nice job of getting people in and out. The room, although very quiet and comfortable, is in need of updating and some additional furniture. Both the carpet and the casual seating is beyond its useful life. They also need more casual seating. We are only a family of four and there was never enough room to hang out and relax. The only real negative was that someone either stole or "borrowed" both my sons' shirts from the water park. Not cool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We pride ourselves in friendliness and outstanding customer service, and we are thrilled that you noticed. Our water parks are a main attraction here, complete with some adult-sized slides so that any age can have some fun. I am sorry to hear about your missing shirts. If you want to call here, we can check our lost and found to see if they were turned in.

Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,467
    1,232
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,814
668
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was my first trip to MB, and staying at the Dunes made it just about perfect. Our room was ready early and we were able to go right up, and get right out to the beach on one of the few warm days during our stay. The room was clean and comfortable - quality and comfort were no different than a recent stay at Embassy Suites. Surprisingly, the room was quiet - all noise came from the outside pool area vs. our neighbors. The best part of staying at the Dunes was the location. It is pretty much 1/2 way between all of the attractions, with a few minutes either way (north or south) getting you into the main tourist areas while our section of the beach was less crazy and over-run even during spring break.

I have three kids (15.5 to 11) and they all had fun with the pools and slides at the resort, and only wished they had more time on the beach. The full size fridge was great, and the stove was efficiency size, but with an oven and a microwave, it was big enough to cook meals.

As some others have said, the wifi left a lot to be desired, and we had to use the balcony to get a decent cell signal - but we weren't at the beach to get on the internet or call people.

Parking was across the street, but for check in you can park near the door (15 min slots) then move your car to the deck. Remember to write down your license plate - you need it when you check in. We used the valet parking - $10 per day and you can come and go as much as you want - a life saver in the cold wind and rain.

Will we come back? - my kids were asking when as soon as we got in the car to leave.

Room Tip: Ocean front are nice, but side rooms might be quieter, especially if you retire early or want to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmnynkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are so glad you chose Dunes VIllage Resort for your first Myrtle Beach experience. We are such a family friendly resort that I can understand why the kids were asking to come back again. With 30,000 square feet of water amenities, including adult sized slides, this place is a dream come true for most kids. On top of all that, there are pool tables, giant checker and chess sets, ping pong tables and the like for those who have had enough of the water. We also have organized crafts and games happening all year long.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stopped on way home from Ft Lauderdale for 3 nights. Excellent place to stay. Very friendly and always greeted at door. Oceanfront with large beach. So much to do for children. A great water park on the lst floor. Had not been to MB for many years and this was a great way to return. It was recommended by my son who has been there a few times. If you have small children, I would highly recommend the Dunes Village.

Room Tip: They have 2 towers and either one would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words with regard to Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you found us on your way home from Florida. We are a family friendly resort with many amenities to keep families of all ages busy for days on end. Please make sure to thank your son for us as we appreciate people spreading the word about how wonderful we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

As I read reviews on Travel Advisor I realize why customer reviews are not as reliable as professional reviewers. The reviews on the Dunes Village Resort is a perfect example. I'm sure most of the people staying here are probably not used to going to true 5 star hotels.

Here's my summary of my stay here:

Myrtle Beach - A trashy town full of carnival type shops and "attractions."

Dunes Village Resort - Outdated design with uncomfortable bedding.

Onsite Restaurants - Low quality. The breakfast is similar to what you find at Hampton Inn except they charge you for it here.

Overall - Expect to see several people using bad judgement. Also expect to see their children running around unsupervised and being loud. I like to call these people the mullet contingent.

Do yourself a favor. Save your money and go to a nice carribean resort instead.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This past week was my third visit to this hotel, and once again I had a wonderful time, great service and great people. The valet/bell men go out of thier way for everyone. Room was very clean and the whole place looks like brand new. This is the place to bring children as there is so much for them to do and no smoking anywhere near them. Love it here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPusateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you found everything to your liking - again. We agree that this is the place to bring children. All year long we have activities, fun and games for them, a water park to occupy them, and wonderful rooms to put them to bed in.

We appreciate your loyalty, and are anxiously awaiting your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay in three years. Both times we got an angled ocean view two bedroom unit. Compared to our stay from three years ago, customer service has improved quite a bit. The staff from the front desk to the pool maintenance to the valet parking attendants as well as the restaurant waitresses went out of their way to make sure that everything was the way we wanted. I do agree with the previous reviewer regarding spotty wifi which can be annoying. My only other complaint is that the restaurant for breakfast buffet makes you pay as you enter but asks you to fill out the gratuity amount BEFORE being even served. But the service at the restaurant was very good. Overall kids loved the buffet and the pool area and I liked the tiki bar so everyone was content.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We take pride in our customer service, and are happy that you noticed the improvements.

With regard to breakfast, prepaying gratuities is not a necessity. You can wait until the end of your meal and add it on then if you wish. Either way, you will always receive phenominal service in the Admirals Room, as they are the best servers in the business.

We are glad everyone was content, and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was my family's second time at Dunes Village and we had a blast. Our son loved the pool area and enjoyed the activities with Cari. She was excellent and our son loves the frames, tshirt, hat and spin art we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiedid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Dunes VIllage Resort. We strive to make it a fun-filled environment, from plenty of activities to an amazing 30,000 square foot water park. Our rooms are fantastic as well, with most of the comforts of home. We hope you can bring your son back soon for some more memory making! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.1 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
2.7 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
1.4 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
3.0 km away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing