We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunes Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$269
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$269
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Shores Ocean Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$265
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay View on the Boardwalk(Myrtle Beach)
US$265
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Reef Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,405)
Filter reviews
6,405 results
Traveller rating
4,037
1,426
523
249
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,037
1,426
523
249
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor waterparkwater parkcaptain's cafepalmetto towerping pongacross the streetocean frontqueen suitekids activitieslazy riverangle oceanfrontshuffle boardpalms buildingparking garagefamily vacationwasher and dryerfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
4,875 - 4,880 of 6,405 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was my first trip to MB, and staying at the Dunes made it just about perfect. Our room was ready early and we were able to go right up, and get right out to the beach on one of the few warm days during our stay. The room was clean and comfortable - quality and comfort were no different than a recent stay at Embassy Suites. Surprisingly, the room was quiet - all noise came from the outside pool area vs. our neighbors. The best part of staying at the Dunes was the location. It is pretty much 1/2 way between all of the attractions, with a few minutes either way (north or south) getting you into the main tourist areas while our section of the beach was less crazy and over-run even during spring break.

I have three kids (15.5 to 11) and they all had fun with the pools and slides at the resort, and only wished they had more time on the beach. The full size fridge was great, and the stove was efficiency size, but with an oven and a microwave, it was big enough to cook meals.

As some others have said, the wifi left a lot to be desired, and we had to use the balcony to get a decent cell signal - but we weren't at the beach to get on the internet or call people.

Parking was across the street, but for check in you can park near the door (15 min slots) then move your car to the deck. Remember to write down your license plate - you need it when you check in. We used the valet parking - $10 per day and you can come and go as much as you want - a life saver in the cold wind and rain.

Will we come back? - my kids were asking when as soon as we got in the car to leave.

Room Tip: Ocean front are nice, but side rooms might be quieter, especially if you retire early or want to sleep late.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We are so glad you chose Dunes VIllage Resort for your first Myrtle Beach experience. We are such a family friendly resort that I can understand why the kids were asking to come back again. With 30,000 square feet of water amenities, including adult sized slides, this place is a dream come true for most kids. On top of all that, there are pool tables, giant checker and chess sets, ping pong tables and the like for those who have had enough of the water. We also have organized crafts and games happening all year long.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to your speedy return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stopped on way home from Ft Lauderdale for 3 nights. Excellent place to stay. Very friendly and always greeted at door. Oceanfront with large beach. So much to do for children. A great water park on the lst floor. Had not been to MB for many years and this was a great way to return. It was recommended by my son who has been there a few times. If you have small children, I would highly recommend the Dunes Village.

Room Tip: They have 2 towers and either one would be great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMM4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words with regard to Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you found us on your way home from Florida. We are a family friendly resort with many amenities to keep families of all ages busy for days on end. Please make sure to thank your son for us as we appreciate people spreading the word about how wonderful we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

As I read reviews on Travel Advisor I realize why customer reviews are not as reliable as professional reviewers. The reviews on the Dunes Village Resort is a perfect example. I'm sure most of the people staying here are probably not used to going to true 5 star hotels.

Here's my summary of my stay here:

Myrtle Beach - A trashy town full of carnival type shops and "attractions."

Dunes Village Resort - Outdated design with uncomfortable bedding.

Onsite Restaurants - Low quality. The breakfast is similar to what you find at Hampton Inn except they charge you for it here.

Overall - Expect to see several people using bad judgement. Also expect to see their children running around unsupervised and being loud. I like to call these people the mullet contingent.

Do yourself a favor. Save your money and go to a nice carribean resort instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This past week was my third visit to this hotel, and once again I had a wonderful time, great service and great people. The valet/bell men go out of thier way for everyone. Room was very clean and the whole place looks like brand new. This is the place to bring children as there is so much for them to do and no smoking anywhere near them. Love it here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPusateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you found everything to your liking - again. We agree that this is the place to bring children. All year long we have activities, fun and games for them, a water park to occupy them, and wonderful rooms to put them to bed in.

We appreciate your loyalty, and are anxiously awaiting your fourth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is our second stay in three years. Both times we got an angled ocean view two bedroom unit. Compared to our stay from three years ago, customer service has improved quite a bit. The staff from the front desk to the pool maintenance to the valet parking attendants as well as the restaurant waitresses went out of their way to make sure that everything was the way we wanted. I do agree with the previous reviewer regarding spotty wifi which can be annoying. My only other complaint is that the restaurant for breakfast buffet makes you pay as you enter but asks you to fill out the gratuity amount BEFORE being even served. But the service at the restaurant was very good. Overall kids loved the buffet and the pool area and I liked the tiki bar so everyone was content.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We take pride in our customer service, and are happy that you noticed the improvements.

With regard to breakfast, prepaying gratuities is not a necessity. You can wait until the end of your meal and add it on then if you wish. Either way, you will always receive phenominal service in the Admirals Room, as they are the best servers in the business.

We are glad everyone was content, and hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews