We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dunes Oceanfront(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Oats Motel(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Blue(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans One Resort(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Quarters Resort(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,728)
Filter reviews
1,728 results
Traveller rating
607
396
284
210
231
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
396
284
210
231
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamusement parkocean viewoceanfront resortolder buildingfamily kingdomlazy riverfront desk managernorth towerfull kitchenoff seasonspring breakbeach accessocean blvdgreat vacationpoolsjacuzzicondo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 1,728 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I checked into Westgate Oceanfront Resort. Front desk staff was helpful and recommended we upgrade to an ocean view room. This was a great idea. However, this building is in sad need of repair and remodeling. The door to our room was not very tight and hallway light spilled through. The room smelled old and musty. WI-fi did not work in the room as advertised and there were not enough electrical outlets to plug chargers into. The front desk offered me a device meant to boost the signal, but to no avail. Also they charge $10. a day for access unless you are an owner. To his credit the clerk at the desk comped the usage because of the trouble.
This was my second use of a Westgate property this year. The experience at the Orlando property was worse.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTJoe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for returning to the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort and for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are sorry that we were not able to connect properly with the internet during your stay, I am glad the staff worked hard to please you. The Bridge units are required for internet access in the hotel units for the best connections. We will have our engineering team investigate the unit you were in to identify what the issue may have been and correct it.
All guests regardless if they are renting a room or own a condo, are treated as you said, with the utmost respect and willingness to assist, while being mindful of the needs of each family. We appreciate your kind words.
The units in the hotel have been getting special care during the off season and we should have all completed before season. The hotel units are our economy units but they do receive the same high standards of cleanliness and maintenance attention as our top of the line 5 star condos receive. We certainly will bring this to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance departments for follow up. Again, thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Westgate in January for Emmy's 21st birthday. The room was immaculate, and we loved the view. They were really nice and when we asked for more towels, they brought them right up. It is in a great area. We could walk everywhere. If you are looking for a nice, clean, spacious hotel...this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_Emmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. It was great hearing that room was immaculate, and that you loved the view! Thank you for mentioning that the staff did everything to make your stay pleasant, and that the front desk took such good care of you.

So happy to hear you recommend to other that if they are looking for a nice, clean, spacious hotel...this is it!

Sounds like your family really knows how to take advantage of your vacation time and we are so pleased that we were able to help make your vacation is positive and memorable experience. We can't wait to welcome you back once again soon!


Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Exquisite amenities, very polite, kind, and CHEAP!! We first were interested because the hotel allows pets. We had 2 dogs, large. The hotel was kind enough to allow both of them considering it was off season. We were even upgraded upon checkin! Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay :) Excellent location, extremely clean rooms/villas. Very impressed with our villa! I travel a lot, and I'm very picky with reviews. I can honestly say the ONLY thing I didn't like was that they charge for wifi, but hey, we cant really gripe about that! We loved it! Will def return again soon! I think we have found our go to place in Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanover606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for letting us know that you had such a great vacation with us. We are always pleased when people like yourself take the time to let us know we did a great job. Again, thank you so much, we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I got this hotel for pretty cheap so that affected my opinion but there is one VERY important thing to know that will cause me to probably NOT stay here again-they charge for ALL internet usage. They have a business center but even charge to use that!! Most people staying in a hotel are going to need directions to a restaurant , etc. or want to check in for their return flight home and print their boarding passes. You can't do this unless you are willing to pay and that is just unacceptable in my opinion!!
The room itself was old and needed updating badly but was definitely ok for what I needed and paid for. The TV was so old that a lot of the channels didn't even work and there was a line running down the middle of it so they definitely need to change out room 602 tv. :)
It is ok for a basic cheap hotel and is right on the beach which is nice, but if you are looking for any UPDATED, extra ammenities this is NOT the place to stay, if you are just looking for a basic hotel and can get it for a basic hotel cost it is worth it as the view of the beach is awesome!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovexphyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeManager92, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We always appreciate when individuals take the time to review our property. We do provide complimentary wireless access for all of our Westgate Owners. This is one added benefit that our owners really enjoy. We do have a very large selection of rooms to fit everyone’s needs. It appears that you had selected a basic hotel room that is oceanfront. Staying in an oceanfront room with the beach right out side is a great way to enjoy the beach. We are very pleased that you thought our view of the beach was awesome. We also have one, two, three, and four bedroom condos that are oceanfront and do have such added amenities as granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, rain head showers, hot tubs in the rooms, as well as other countless comforts of home. Once again, thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

Thank you,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, we realized that the room we booked through Expedia.com was not the room we thought we had reserved. We went down to the office and talked to Trevor, the Front Office Supervisor, who upgraded our room to the King Deluxe Suite for free! The room was amazing and had an even better view of Myrtle Beach and the ocean than our previous room! The jacuzzi tub was great and very relaxing and the bed was very comfortable! The hotel is within ten minutes from Broadway at the Beach and was very convenient to the strip and many restaurants. The only problem that I had was that there was a window without black out curtains and it was pretty bright in the room while we were sleeping, but I have trouble sleeping unless the room is pitch black so this did not effect my husband's sleeping! We will definitely stay at this hotel for our next visit to Myrtle Beach! Thank you so much Trevor, you really made our vacation even better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeManager92, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We do have such a large variety of rooms for everyone and we are very happy that were able to accommodate your needs. We are very glad that you found the Jacuzzi tub to be great and very relaxing. Nothing could be better than relaxing in your own personal Jacuzzi in the room. We are glad that you found the bed to be comfortable as well. We do have a great location in Myrtle Beach as we are close to everything and right on the beach. Shopping at Broadway at the Beach is just a short trip from our property as well as Coastal Grand Mall, Tanger outlets, and The Market Common. Thank you for your recognition of Trevor and stating that he made your vacation even better. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews