We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wish we could have stayed the whole vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed the whole vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent 4 days here before moving to another MB resort to spend a week with family, loved it! It was clean, had easy beach access and great pools and water park for the kids. The front desk people were not warm and fuzzy, but tolerable for the brief interactions we had with them ( checking in and out). They did let us check in a little early which was really great after driving for 10 hours with two little ones.
We had an ocean front room - the view was amazing. I particulary loved the way the beach area was lighted in the evening - was great for playing on the beach after dark with our children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennylynn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    930
    297
    121
    91
See reviews for
1,463
662
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
smyrna, north carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We rented a 4 bedroom condo (oceanfront) for a long weekend recently. This is the second time we've stayed with them, and we've been pleased with them both times. The rooms are very clean, and the hotel is very responsive to any problems that arise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This past weekend was not our first stay at Ocean Reef. This past weekend was outstanding. Everyone of the staff was great and the rooms very well maintained and clean. Breakfast at the restaurant each morning was outstanding. Eggs cooked to order and buffet was clean and full. This trip we stayed in the 2 bedroom and the view was great. We have stayed before in a 3 bedroom and that was out of this world. We just booked our upcoming vacation back here this summer. Looking forward to a week of fun at Ocean Reef.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan_fran_dickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Being from SC I have stayed in so many places at MB. I was so happy to find the Ocean Reef for my wife and two children to have a few days away at. We liked it so much we booked our summer vacation for this year there. Clean, courteous, and well spoken employees along with great service are a big plus of this resort. We have recommended this place to all of our friends. Can't wait for the summer trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in a 1BR suite for 1 week as a family of 5 and had plenty of space. We were on the 2nd floor over-looking the pool area and still had a nice ocean view. Noise was never a problem.

Check in was fast, friendly, and efficient. Smiles from the service desk are always welcome after a long road trip to get there. Housekeeping was good as well and they were respectful enough to realize when our 1yr old was napping to ask before running the vaccum. Pool maintenance was punctual and they always had a sign up letting you know when certain areas were to be serviced so you could plan around that.

Pool, hot tubs, lazy river and kiddie pool were always clean and staffed for safety. Pool bar was very nice and you could buy grilled food. Nothing like eating a burger by the pool! One last thing is the location is great and traffic was NEVER bad which makes the parking deck across the street a non-issue.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaybo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We go to Myrtle Beach very often and wanted to try a new place, We heard great things about this place on here, about the staff and all of it amenities. The things that this hotel offers is great and that is why I rate it a 2. We had arrive late friday night and hope to sleep in saturday morning, only to be awaken at 7 am to a flock of birds outside our balcony. It seemed that the couple above us was throwing chips, muffins, biscuits, etc. The debris was falling all into our balcony. Obviously at this point I am not putting blame on the hotel staff for this. So I had called the hotel and they said they will take a look at it and get back to me. This continued for almost 30 minutes before I called again and they stated we have had several complaints and they are working on the situation. Needless to say this continued for almost an hour before we just left for the beach because we couldn't sit on the balcony that we paid to sit on. Day 2 we woke up about the same time to the same thing and had called the desk right away. The said the same thing that we are aware of the situation. At this point ten minutes goes by and we call back to speak to a manger and they say they will send someone up to check out the situation. They send up a maintenance guy that says we know this couple and they are nice people. I said this has been happenning the last two days and he siad that cant be true. When we showed him the food debris he said well I will go talk to my manager. Meanwhile as he leaves the birds are still feeding and we get no call from the manager at all. My wife goes downstairs to talk to a manger and has to recite what was happening as to she wasn't aware of the situation. She offers a 50 credit to come back, which is not even one night and we will not be coming back here. On day 3 when we were checking out the birds we back again. We alerted the manager we left and she laughed and said sorry you experienced alfred hitchcocks the birds. Do not stay here there are so many other places much better for cheaper that we will be going back to instead of this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RayJ121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Ocean Reef resort. We were travelling with 2 young children and the 2 bedroom condo was fantastic. Now the location is away from a lot of the tourist attractions, however that was a good thing while travelling with children. Most of the rooms seem to be owned and then the hotel rents them out. The rooms are fantastic. There was a living area, a kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen with your own laundry. We couldn't have asked for more. If your heading down, I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MellyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
11.5 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
5.3 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.1 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.0 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
5.2 km away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing