We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inside not as bad as it looks from outside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inside not as bad as it looks from outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

At first I was scared from the shady character walking outside and the shabby look of the hotel. Definitely not worth the price, but I guess Charleston hotels are as expensive as NYC ones. The service was good, the room clean, the AC blasting. The hotel looks old, the bathroom is very patched up and small, but everything worked. Not worth the price but is OK to get a good rest if you're not too picky. We couldn't hear the airplanes - big plus.

They could've provided a thin blanket instead of the duvet...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your business! I was pleased to hear that you found our product and service to be satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had recurring toilet noise problems that the hotel couldn't
fix, that kept us up all 4 nights--multiple complaints, multiple times the
hotel sent someone up but never fixed. We gave up complaining, problem
still there when we departed. Hotel never offered to change our room,
provide any gift or other compensation, and NEVER followed up to find
out if issue resolved.
Since Radisson has a room guarantee, we asked the hotel for 1 free
night's lodging--which the front desk person said she'd refer to the
manager (never heard back), then on checkout the front desk said they'd
take care of getting the refund handled through Expedia booking (never
happened--and it's been over 6 weeks).
Also, hotel is nowhere near any attractions in Charleston.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJCJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the running water. We appreciate your feedback because it will assist us in enhancing our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you in the future to prove to you that this was an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Allow this was not as I've remember the radisson quality of yesteryear it wasn't as horrible as I'd imagined it would be.. my fiancee and I needed a room and they were the only option.. and we were both satisfied.. the tvs are extremely old however..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fg5739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for giving our hotel an opportunity. I’m happy that you and your fiancé found our hotel to be comfortable and convenient. We hope that you will come back the next time you are in the area. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I want to begin this review by stating we arrived at this hotel disgruntled and exhausted. We had reservations at a hotel in Bluffton, SC but had to leave 3 hours later due to extremely rude management and nonfunctioning rooms. The Radisson was a little slice of heaven!!

The Sleep Number bed was amazing as was the desk attendant who helped us check in. At 1am, she was bubbly and very helpful. The gentleman checking in before us had two small children with him. He was also very thankful for the attendant's help - she was great. While we waited, 3 guests had a problem with their room, called the front desk and the attendant resolved their issues straightaway! Coming from our terrible hotel experience that same evening, I wanted to give her a standing ovation for customer service!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, General Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your experience on TripAdvisor. I understand how traveling many miles and hours can become stressful. I was thrilled to hear that our front office staff provided you with excellent customer service at check-in and throughout your stay. I hope that you will come back the next time you are in our area, now that you are familiar with our location and our relaxing sleep number beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I read many reviews before booking this hotel and was a little skeptical what I was gonna find. I had booked it through a deal on hotels.com and paid a good price. I was relieved to arrive and fine a decent hotel for the money we paid. The hotel is not new but they have upgraded some of the their areas. We were on the second floor and had no noise problems. Our room was decent and it was clean. The hallway on the first by the elevators has a chlorine smell, so if your on the first floor you may smell it more. Did not smell it on second. The bathrooms were all upgraded with granite and a modern sink. The shower had great pressure and was hot when we used it in the AM. Our room was decent with two queen beds. I was not impressed with the sleep number beds, slept ok but not using it at home could never find a decent setting. This is just my preference but I wont ever own a sleep number after this experience. The TV in the room is dated and has not been upgraded to what most hotels have in flat screens. IF your looking for a room with a view you wont get it at this hotel. Airport is nearby but was not a problem for noise at all. You are approximately 14 miles from downtown Charleston and we had no issue getting around to it. There is a Tanger outlet within 5 mles and it has a Dunkin Donuts if your looking for a late night coffee. Many other shops. We did not eat at the hotel so, we did not experience the meals there. Breakfast buffet was 7.95 ....There is also a McDonalds across the street for a cheap breakfast or if you want to take the kids. A brand new Dennys is only 3 miles from the hotel on international blvd. If your looking for an upscale Radisson this is not for you ...However if you want a decent hotel this should work for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBnFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guest as we are on a continuous quest towards excellence. The chlorine scent which you encountered near the elevator was our indoor pool area; which is located directly behind the elevators on the first floor. I hope the scent wasn’t too overwhelming, but it is a necessity. I can appreciate your comments about our sleep number beds. In the future, I would start off at a high number to maintain firmness and find your number from that point. We hope that you will return to our hotel and please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Mar 2012, Family Stay. Do not recommend this hotel it’s not well maintained. Whole hotel had a chemical or perfume scent. Dirt or worn material was easy to find. Not all rooms have sleep number beds and our mattress was more like a box spring. The Jacuzzi Hot tub water was visibly dirty and the pump produced a shrill which made it uncomfortable to stay in the pool area. However, the pool water was exceptionally clean. The scent of dirty grease mixed with the chemical scent near the onsite restaurant kept us from eating there. After staying at the hotel, I’d have to say that the pictures of the hotel are more like the pictures of a hotel that once was. The TV was not flat screen it was an older CRT (before high def). I’ve stayed at other Radissons before and had become accustomed to a certain level of quality from the chain. I didn’t read the reviews on this hotel before I booked; my mistake! This hotel does not deserve the Radisson name and the poor reviews are accurate.

Room Tip: Not sure that any rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for thanking the time to tell us about your stay we appreciate your feedback. Each of your concerns which you have informed us of has been addressed with the appropriate departments. Your comments have also been communicated with our entire hotel staff and we hope that you will return to our property so that you will see the positive contribute you have made with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.3 km away
No photo provided
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#43 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#9 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing