We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable experience”
Review of Calypso Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Motor Inn
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitable experience”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I spent a week with my wife at the Calypso on our 3 month long tour of the US. We thought that the Calypso was one of the better motels we stayed at and would recommend it. The rooms were clean, well equipped with all the amenities and were very spacious. The pool is very nice and the motel is well located - close to the beach and within walking distance of the pier, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    0
    1
    37
See reviews for
19
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My family and I had a good stay at the Calypso. Staff/management were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean. Would recommend to anyone. Good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The manager (or whoever he was) was extremely rude! In a nice hotel people are happy to see customers any time, but this individual gave us attitude.We should have turned around right away, but my family was so tired after road, and we dicided to stay. The conditions of the room was so not worth it the price he charged us! It seemed like he doesn't even have a price list, just got the rate out of his head: 85$ plus 11$ tax and 10 $ deposit for keys. And this all for that conditions!!! The sheets were dirty so we were sleeping in clothes and on our own towels. There was no hot water in the bathroom, and the sink was leaking. The furniture was so old and tv didn't work. If we only knew what other places offer for much less! We are not americans and never stayed in any hotels in the USA before. That horrible manager didn't even tell us that we had to check out strictly before 11 a.m. When we came back around 3 p.m. we were shocked to be yelled at and told that we had to get out and pay another 96$! He followed us until we came with him to the office and threatened that he would call the police. Honestly HE should have paid US that we gave him a favor to stay in that disgusting room! He doesn't even have drying machines to dry his dirty sheets: he put them on the fence to dry on the sun!! We even made pictures of that!! Please stay away from that place. That man has no idea how to do business in the US. He doesn't put money in it, he just collects it from stupid people who don't know nothing or international students who will eventually overpay him anyway. That place has no future and it will be totally his fault.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We weren't in there for more than 2 days and got bit up by bed bugs! Eeek! And there's drug activity and prostitution in every floor! The owner is rude and ignorant and walks in your room any time! He looks in through your window in the morning. He also kicks people out if he is in a bad mood and calls cops even if you paid for a week!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelgirl24011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
0.6 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,205 reviews
3.0 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,834 reviews
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
2.5 km away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,965 reviews
0.3 km away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Motor Inn

Property: Calypso Motor Inn
Address: 101 Flagg Street, North Myrtle Beach, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Calypso Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Calypso Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing