We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was a time share exchange to visit some friends in the area. We just wanted to visit & play cards as we did in the past. The check in was not easy as nothing is clearly marked. I even called and were given cryptic messages like I should know where I was going. Once in the facility, check in was quick but getting a parking pass wasn't easy. After going thru this procedure often, I have learned not to be as friendly as they are as just want to get you to sign up for a tour. We stood firm that we were tired from a long ride from Orlando and just wanted to check in. The unit was in tower 4, floor 5 (the dreaded time share tower) The best part was the indoor pool & sauna were in that tower. We did have a nice young man help us with our belongings, he even got us ice - the ice makers are cleared out between guests. The unit was retro 50's furniture--but just too much furniture. The unit sleeps 8, not even close....you would feel like a can of sardines. I have a couple of complaints 1. The furniture was very uncomfortable. Sitting in the dining chairs for a length of time was painful. On day two of our card playing reunion, we had to take bed pillows to make the seats more comfy.The furniture was very, very heavy to move around. I ended up moving a side chair from the living room to my bathroom as it didn't fit in the bedroom. This is a one person kitchen. Complaint #2 is about the pool. The trip to the pool thru the tower just didn't feel safe or comfortable. It is very windy and desolate. Going to the pool alone was out of the question, you had to walk down a hallway and needed 2 hands to open the pool door (safety issue for kidz?), the pool had poor lighting and was cold for an indoor pool; the hot tub was small for the size of the tower. The is no locker room so you can't change before going back to the suite. Trekking back thru the wind tunnel in a wet suit wasn't pleasant. The beach is gorgeous but it was mid Feb. so all we could do was walk along the water. Myrtle Beach is not a winter destination but it served its purpose for us.
As far as the sales pitch, we had a lovely southern woman try to woo us on a visit to our suite to answer a survey (yea right). We explained that we were owners elsewhere and had no interest and she graciously left our gift and left us alone. We appreciated that!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Deedubu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Wyndham Ocean Blvd. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room with an excellent view of the ocean. Pools are large with plenty of seating around the pool. The staff is friendly and helpful. They will try to sell you a Wyndham timeshare but they were not pushy at all. Check out time is a firm 10:00 am which was a little early for us. Close proximity to downtown OD.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wth2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo in Tower 4 on the 4th floor, facing the pool for the week of Feb 25 - Mar 3. Had to go to Tower 2 via underground parking level P2 in order to check in and requested to be placed in Tower 1,2 or 3, the newer towers. Due to time of year, the resort has low occupancy, so we thought it would not be a problem, but because we booked through RCI, they denied us and placed us in Tower 4. Okay, so we got our parking pass and drove across the street and parked in Tower 4. Elevators were fast and efficient. There are bellman-type carts available to assist in unloading. The rooms are accessed via exterior doors. The unit had 2 bedrooms, 1 master with king bed, en suite bathroom with a jacuzzi tub (which was quite good, quiet and fits 2 people), separate shower and toilet, 2 sinks. The other bedroom had 2 double beds. Main bath had shower/tub, toilet and sink. Bath towels were of good quality and sufficient quantity...there was only 2 of us. There were 3 flat screen TV's which was good, 1 in each of the bedrooms and 1 in the living room. Satellite TV and free in room wifi.
In suite washer and dryer were sufficient for our needs. Full kitchen was equipped with stove, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. Having an electric kettle and baking sheet would have been nice. Hot water problem in Tower 4, main bath never got hot. Tower 4 is across the street from the three newer towers and beach. Hot tub and sauna in our building in need of major upgrading. Indoor pool and outdoor pool was not heated which was a major disappointment. Location was good, but about a 30 min drive from the airport (MYR). It was close to restuarants and Kroger for groceries. Car is a definite must. Beach was long, flat and wide for those who wish to walk. The lazy river at the beach side towers was quite small and mainly for kids. Think you have to rent the tubes. Overall, Wyndham is a good resort for budget minded accommodations. Would definitely not rate it 5 star like they advertise, but would give it a 3.5. Basic necessities were adequate and sufficient for our purposes. Would recommend to family and friends, however would not pay 5 star prices and only stay if the price was reasonable. We were presented with a welcome gift...travel blanket, and declined the sales presentation with no problem. Never hassled to buy time share.
Another plus is they had free local calls and an external balcony. Most staff that we met were friendly enough. So all in all, a decent resort and had most comforts of home and with full kitchen facilities, did not have to eat out every day. One last note, carpet in dire need of replacing, it was quite tired and the room smelled musty. Heating/cooling worked adequately.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower 1,2,3 rooms if possible (right on the beach). Try to get 2 bedroom for the extra spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The accomodations were nice, but the men trying to sell us the timeshare were rude and cocky. They told us that there presentation would be thirty minutes and we were there for an hour and twenty minutes. I told the men that I wanted to leave and enjoy my day and they ignored me and talked over me. So we tore up the paper work and left. On top of that, we didn't get our free gift for listening.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed the week of Jan 22 to Jan 29 2012 we had a 2 bedroom with an ocean view,on the 5th floor, the room was very nice washer and dryer,full nice kitchen, master room very nice and roomy, master bath 2 sinks,stand up shower,jetted tub,2nd room 2 full beds,bathroom. The activities that they have were great, we made candles,balt salts, feet soak,they had a list of things to do. pools were always clean, staff was very nice and friendly. they have 4 towers we stayed in tower 2 the parking is ok but if you leave late in the day and come back in the eveing time you may have trouble parking in the tower 2 parking garage, but we never had to park in the tower 4 garage. They also have a game room that has ping pong table,pool tables, you can rent dvd's/broad games. I would stay here again! Can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: Tower 4 is in the back of tower 1,2,3 so try to get tower 1,2,or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a very nice property. I am in a one bedroom deluxe timeshare unit in Tower 2, overlooking the infinity pool. When I saw the pictures and notes about the furnishings being art deco, I was afraid they would be over the top, but they are actually not bad at all. There is, however, one more chair than there needs to be in the living room. (The unit is quite spacious, but an extra chair is simply an extra chair.)

Check in was a breeze, and the room was clean - except for a couple of small pieces of scrap paper under the coffee table - when I entered. The staff has been excellent and attentive. Guest services responded to my request for help in solving a wifi problem by immediately sending a tech to the room.

I was able to politely decline the timeshare sales staff visit when asked by the concierge, and so, am expecting a relatively quiet stay.

As others have indicated, parking is probably a problem during the busy season, but in February it is not.

I say this is not quite the best because it is intended to be. Wyndham serves a different market than Marriott Vacation Club or Four Seasons , etc., but they serve it well. I would definitely recommend this location to any friends or family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The weather is fair- warmer than unsual, but still too cold and windy for the beach or pool. The unit has a view of the ocean out the patio door and patio which is very nice. We are on the 15th floor. The passage way to the units are outside and open. Leaving and entering your unit gives you a chance to appreciate the view as well.

Our 2 BR unit can sleep 8. There are 2 of us each using a bedroom and bath. The baths are nice and modern. They look recently remodeled and have terrific eminities like deep whirlpool tub and separate shower in the master. The other full bath is large and very nice. The master has a king size bed and the other BR has 2 queen (?) size beds. All very comfortable.

The kitchen is small resulting in many dishes on very high shelves out of reach. There are all the appliances and everything you need for a pleasant stay in the unit. Our unit had a washer and dryer that we used to wash our clothes and towels ( no towel exchange).

The unit has rather strange decorating. The furniture was a modern light wood style and was not particularly comfortable. The carpets are an odd orange color and needed a really good cleaning or replaced.

This is off season. All those great seafood restuarants that we wanted to try seem to be closed. The Conciege did not seem very helpful. We spend our time shopping, going to movies, sleeping, reading, playing with computers, and eating at chain restuarants. We could have done just as well at home or about anywhere else.

If planning this trip again, we would have went somewhere else- not North Myrtle Beach, maybe much further south and someplace warmer.

Like many have mentioned, the parking is sparse and many spaces hard to get into, but it is free!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UStravelmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,610 reviews
0.9 km away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,320 reviews
3.7 km away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,214 reviews
3.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
154 reviews
6.2 km away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Boulevard

Address: 410 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3206 (Formerly Fairfield Myrtle Beach at Ocean Blvd.)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $142 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Boulevard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeshare property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Hotel Ocean Boulevard
Myrtle Beach Fairfield
Fairfield Myrtle Beach Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Wyndham
Ocean Blvd Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing