We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK, if you have very low expectations....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castaway Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK, if you have very low expectations....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

There is good and bad. The location on the beach is great and the pool was good and well maintained. But., the motel facility is pretty well run out and on its last legs. The exterior cleanliness is marginal and there are many items that are well past due for maintenance and upgrading. The concrete door sills are deteriorating and crumbling with the debris remaining. This could easily be repaired at little cost including an afternoon with a power washer. The rooms are stale and in need of some ceiling and wall repair and paint would do wonders. The window style A/C works well, but they are extremely noisy. Thread bare towels should have been converted to cleaning rags long ago and a trip to Costco for towels is way past due. There is a bit of a 50's feel, but the odor matches. The room is useable, but retained a musty, previously smoked-in odor. There was an array of add-on charges, not the least of which was a phone charge for an old phone that did not work in our room.
It appears that the facility is being run out prior to selling expensive land for new development. Too bad.
In any other location, this would compare to a $29-$39 room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lumpy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    18
    13
    40
See reviews for
61
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The management here was awesome, so very nice and helpful and several times when we had family members looking for us and they were calling, the management would see us pull in and come let us know someone had been calling for us. Even had one family member that was worried because she couldn't get ahold of my mom and management went to check on her and make sure she was okay. We had two rooms, one ocean front and one ocean view (the only rooms where pets are accepted). The oceanfront room was nice, the ocean view could have used some updating. The a/c in both rooms was excellent which is a top priority for us and the rooms were clean, with housekeeping doing an excellent job each day. Any problems that we had were addressed right away. The only complaint I have is that they are a few parking spaces short of having enough for all the rooms. They stated that they are working on that, and make sure to find you space to park even if it's not an "official" space. We didn't have any problems with our pet which was also very important. This motel is a great value and very reasonable. It's not a resort, but allowed us to do a lot of other fun things with the money we saved. The family loved the pool and the lazy river. Was nice to be in North Myrtle Beach and not in the chaos that is Myrtle Beach. We went there a couple times, then came back to our nice peaceful area.

Room Tip: If you're not traveling with pets, be sure to get an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriele-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This was our first time stayin at this hotel. The rooms need to be updated asap. Our room was in an excellent location as we overlooked the lazy river. Beautiful view of the ocean as well. We were able to check in early which was a plus for us! The air conditioner was great. The bathtub appeared as if it were coming away from the wall and the floor in the bathroom was coming up. There was mold on the shower curtain and the shower head was made for midgets!! All of that is not a big deal though. The beds were very comfortable. Like I stated, the rooms needs to be updated and some repairs need to be done. I will probably stay here again due to the location. All staff were friendly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chesneegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington WV
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

First the pluses, the pool and lazy river were nice. The price of the rooms were very affordable. The room came with two beds a stove, fridge, microwave, and dishes and silverware. Beds and pillows were comfortable. No towels when I got there. I went to the desk and asked for towels. They said they would bring them up. Still no towels. Had to go back again the next day to get towels. Also the shower curtain had mildew around the top by the rings. The deadbolt on the door would not turn all the way over into the door jam. The door would still lock and had a pretty good lock but still why have the deadbolt if it didn't work. Each room has a window A/C. The one in my room had the cover off of it and it was laying on top of the fridge. The curtains looked really old and picked. Still all in all it was a pretty good place to stay if you want to stay right on the beach, have a pool and not pay an arm and a leg. Also the staff were all nice. I'd recommend it but don't expect the Taj Mahal. The place could use a little bit of upgrading but it was fine for my stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorZom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have just returned from vacation and stayed at this motel. We planned for this vacation hoping for some much needed rest and relaxation. When we walked into our room we immediately knew we had made a huge mistake. We knew that the motel was an older, family owned place but it was very run-down and not kept up very well at all. Even some very simple improvements would have made it alot more comfortable, for example....there were no towel racks in the bathroom or the kitchen, the bathroom tissue holder was completely worn out, the carpet was very worn and dirty (hated to walk barefoot on it), the dining chairs were worn out and sagging, the bed mattress was very worn out to the point we could not even sleep or relax. The room smelled musty and damp. We had to ask for a coffee pot and when they brought it to us it was even dirty too. We had to ask 3 times to have a light bulb for the bathroom. We moved the sofa a little to get to the bed and the dirt and trash under there was unbelievable. The whole place was very dirty and unkept. We were not able to enjoy our vacation at all because of this room...not a place for rest or relaxation !!! I would not recommend this place to anyone, infact....it should be condemed !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie28327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

rocky mount
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I loved this motel.It was a nice quite place to stay. Family owned and wonderful. It was clean and cozy. the maids came by to clean every morning by 9am. The pool was cleaned every morning and the view from our room was great. This is a great place to stay with family. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back very soon. If you want to be in the middle of the crowds and all the attractions this is not the place for you. It is in the North end so to get to most attractions and great eating places you have to drive a little. .My husband and I decided that we did not mind the driving as long as we had a nice cozy,clean place to stay. I will be back very soon.. Thanks for making my labor day weekend great...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond ky
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

i am writing this review about this motel not based on the fact that i stayed there but on the fact of the rate quote i was given i rec,d other quotes near the motel by the sea and all of them charged 12 percent tax on the room when this motel gave me a quote the tax for there rate was just a little over 22 percent i am writing this to let people beware of this place so they don,t scam you for more tax than they need to charge

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.1 km away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
3.5 km away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
5.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.6 km away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Property: Castaway Beach Inn
Address: 1717 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing