We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Terry S
Ottawa, Canada

A good basic, clean hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 31, 2024via mobile
This was my first time staying at a Tru by Hilton hotel. My room was very basic but clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were very nice. I do appreciate a walk-in shower with big dispensers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Staff were friendly and accommodating. I was travelling with a small dog. The only negative thing was the crazy room charge because it was Easter weekend. Come on, they quoted me $350 USD for the night and a $75 pet fee which I ultimately didn’t have to pay for some strange reason. I think that it was overlooked. I would recommend this hotel when you’re travelling. Clean and quiet.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this review
Responded Apr 1, 2024
Dear TerryS681, Thank you for choosing Tru by Hilton Orangeburg for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. We're thrilled to know that you liked our clean, comfortable room, bed, pillow, amenities, and the service provided by our associates. We appreciate you bringing up the billing discrepancy you noticed; we will address it with our respective team for further improvements. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again soon.

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$221
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$128
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free parking
Pool
C$169
  • HIExpress.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$117
  • Choice Hotels
    C$132
0.1 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$89
  • Wyndham
    C$92
0.3 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Choice Hotels
    C$87
  • Lol.travel
    C$81
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Choice Hotels
    C$144
  • Lol.travel
    C$137
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$67
  • Wyndham
    C$70
0.2 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Wyndham
    C$96
  • Lol.travel
    C$92
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Wyndham
    C$82
  • Lol.travel
    C$76
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Tru By Hilton Orangeburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Orangeburg
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
172
40
18
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
172
40
18
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table chicken sausage rooms are small basic amenities walk in shower breakfast selection clean hotel comfortable bed the staff was extremely friendly front desk staff great stay would definitely stay here again cracker barrel scrambled eggs an overnight stay bagels first floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 255 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2024 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room on the small side but very clean. Great breakfast offerings including a machine that makes pancakes you just wave your hand. Fitness room, pool table in the lobby. Walk to a Cracker Barrel. Easy on and off Highway

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2024

Dear Kerri G, We're thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience at Tru by Hilton Orangeburg! Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff and clean rooms. We're delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and amenities like the fitness room and pool table. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay soon!

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2024

Multiple issues. This is not a hotel for experienced, well-behaved adult travelers who know what they should be getting for their money. No coffee maker, no microwave, no ice bucket, not even water cups in the bathroom, no bathroom fan, no closet, no comfortable chair or place to have a quiet in-room meal, lightbulbs burned out. Then, an $80 (yes, EIGHTY dollar) pet charge, for a shih tzu. We live in a true tiny house and our bedroom at home is larger than this entire space...we were constantly tripping and bumping into each other. And this, so far, is just the room. Customer service is next. There was some kind of coon hound convention going on with dog fights happening right in the hallways and in some of the rooms. A serious domestic disturbance that carried all the way to the parking lot. As if this weren't enough, some trashy basketball team was staying here and behaved like animals. We finally had enough and called the front desk...at 10:30 at night after trying to sleep for hours...only to be told there was nothing they could do. Really? Nothing? How about go knock on the door and ask them to keep it down? No customer service...so I said fine, we'll just call the police. Like a miracle, within minutes, all the raucous stopped. And then the smell of Marijuana was so strong it was choking us. This is not our kind of place and will never stay here again. On a positive, bed was fairly comfortable and it was clean. I wasted my reward points on this low-class joint. Never again. Adults, go somewhere else.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2024

Dear christinemB2651RC, We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. Your detailed feedback is crucial, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. We understand the importance of amenities and a peaceful environment for a comfortable stay. Your experience does not reflect our usual standards, and we're actively addressing the issues raised to improve our guest experience. Please know your concerns are taken seriously, and we appreciate your patience. We value your loyalty and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust with a more positive experience in the future.

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2023 via mobile

Major rip-off. New hotel,.but small room with no easy chair in king-size suite. No microwave. Only one end table by the bed. Price was $156 USD whereas we paid $90 USD the night before at another Tru By Hilton Hotel in Winchester, VA.

Despite being a Hilton Rewards Member will not return to this hotel.

Room tip: Avoid this money trap.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank schaynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2023

Dear schaynu, As a member of Hilton Honors, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands. Thank you for evaluating your recent stay; your comments are valuable to us. Our team strives to ensure an exceptional experience for each guest. Therefore, we are disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations and that several inconveniences led you to a less-than-favorable impression of our hotel. We appreciate you bringing these observations to our attention. Feedback like yours helps us as we strive to provide complete guest satisfaction. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the outstanding stay you deserve.

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2023 via mobile

Great hotel! The staff was so kind - from the front desk to the breakfast staff, every staff member checked in to make sure we had a good experience and went above and beyond. Very clean hotel. My kid had a great time playing pool and other games in the lobby. The room was comfortable and well designed. Pet friendly. Good continental breakfast included. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Parking is easy. Orange burg doesn’t have a lot but there’s a grocery store nearby.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2023

Dear Susan R, Thank you for your wonderful review of Tru by Hilton Orangeburg. We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience and appreciated our clean facilities, friendly staff, and various amenities. It's fantastic to know your child enjoyed the lobby games. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2023

My one night stay was good. Check in was quick and easy. I was recognized as a Diamond Member. My room was clean and the temperature was good. The hotel was quiet overall, but I awoke to music blaring from below my room. Breakfast was suitable to start off my day. The loud music continued until I checked out.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tru by Hilton
Thank mom42398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tru By Hilton Orangeburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2023

Dear mom42398, We're thrilled you had a wonderful time during your one-night stay. It's fantastic that you enjoyed our clean rooms, AC temperature, breakfast, and service. However, we are sorry your sleep was disturbed by noise from nearby guests. We are grateful for your patience, and we want you to know our front desk is always available to help make your stay as restful as possible.
Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will return as we would love to provide you with a better experience and a good night's rest!

Thank you for choosing Tru!
Tru by Hilton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews