We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Holiday Inn I've stayed at” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Santee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Santee
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Worst Holiday Inn I've stayed at”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Slow. Painfully slow. It is a nice new hotel but as other reviews pointed out horrifically managed. My guess is ICH will make a move on the operator and force a sale or strip it of the brand. People seem ok. The second time I stayed there they charged me full fare as I checked in at 6am and made me check out at noon and not 3pm.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santee, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear CharlestonResident,

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you like our nice new hotel. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us another chance to host you again on your future stays.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    41
    33
    30
See reviews for
80
78
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stay at this hotel on my yearly visit to ST Mathews as a matter of fact I stayed here just after it opened but I don't remember how many years ago that was. You can walk to serveral different resturants and bars. There is truck parking in a lot next door. I am a big Holiday Inn Express fan and a holder of hundreds of thousands of Priority Club points and a former Royal Ambassador holder so beating up on one of their properties does not come easy for me.

The room was I stayed in this year was a great corner room no complaints there. However the bathroom was another story. There was mold in all four corners of the bathtub, dirt was built up in the corners of the floor. The bathtub stopper was not attached to the tub anymore and sitting on the tub edge. The towels were all thin and frayed.The hair dryer was the best, so much lint had accumulated on the intake that it rendered the dryer nearly useless. There were numerous handles missing on the dresser.

I did however sleep like a rock as the place was quiet. The Southern Hospitalitiy of the front desk makes coming to South Carolina a treat. I saw no reason to bruden them with my "concerns" and if Managment wants to check any of the above problems just go to room 228.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms they are the best but a long walk to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santee, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear coopervanning,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for being a Priority Club Member. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Heading to Florida by myself with my dog. I was going to stop in Florence, but thought go further to stay in a Holiday Inn. What a smart decision.... I am willing to drive 11 hours to stop here! Room is slightly warm though.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ann005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Convenient location right of I-95 and great staff, but we had two problems. Our room 203 backs up to the elevator! The off-on noise was loud and constant and prevented sleep after our 10-hour trip. Staff agreed to change our room. After re-dressing and re-packing, we were given a quieter room but not a non-smoking room, a challenge for an asthmatic! We can't imagine why room 203 and probably the others backed up to the elevator aren't either insulated or taken off the availability list. It's unkind to travelers. The rooms aren't cheap so we didn't get what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask where the rooms are which back up to the elevator. Ask for nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santee, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sue P,

Thank you for leaving a review. I deeply apologize for the problems you encountered with the noise from the elevator. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel is just off I95 and a good halfway point from DC to Orlando. Reasonable but not cheap and at least you have a good night sleep. Beds were comfortable. Indoor pool was ok, could be a little warmer. There is a good Thai restaurant down the road. The wildlife refuge about 15 minutes away is also a good place for a walk to stretch your legs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravel04_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice Hotel. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Had dinner at the restaurant and it very good. Only drawback was the a/c ---- didn't seem to cool as it should have.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

When I went out to dine at Clark's across the street I heard the room door close behind me. I figured it closed all the way and locked as usual but when I got make the door was open part way. I tried to lock from the inside but couldn't. The on duty handyman came and showed me how to lift up on the handle push in and turn the lock--GREAT.

The next morning I filled the sink to shave and after shaving the sink would not drain. The handle to release the plug was disconnected. when i brushed my teeth I rinsed out by spitting in the toilet.

Before leaving I decided to check my email but the passwork wouldn't work so I decided to chalk up the all stay as a bad experience without complaining about the morning problems. I did complain about the door the night before and got a 10% discount. 100% would have been more satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santee, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Craig G,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Santee Inn
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
32.6 km away
Hampton Inn Manning
Hampton Inn Manning
#1 of 7 in Manning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.0 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Santee

Property: Holiday Inn Santee
Address: 139 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Santee 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santee South Carolina Golfers Paradise! Surrounded by history and beauty, the Holiday Inn Hotel Santee, provides you with Southern charm in a contemporary facility, conveniently located in the heart of Santee Cooper Country, off I-95, half way between Miami & New York, and: Charleston - 67 Mi Columbia - 59 Mi Florence - 69 Mi Hilton Head - 119 Mi Savannah GA - 109 Mi When staying at the Holiday Inn Santee you can enjoy year-round fishing at Lake Marion, home of the landlocked stripe bass, as well as, excellent hunting in the prime fields and woodlands. A paradise to both the Corporate and Leisure traveler, the hotel offers 84 spacious rooms designed to make your stay comfortable and productive. Our state of the art guestrooms are designed to meet the needs of the high-tech traveler, offering complimentary high-speed Internet access, 27 LCD flat screen televisions workstations, and more. Join us for cocktails in our lounge and dine in Kem s Cafe, featuring American comfort foods. During your stay, take time to relax in our indoor pool, the fitness and business center. We specialize in corporate meetings, weddings, banquets or any special event. Our meeting rooms are equipped with wireless and Ethernet Internet access. Our excellent staff and service will keep you coming back so come and discover the newest treasure of the Low Country! Pet Friendly-$20 Fee per day per pet 25 lbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santee Hotel Santee
Santee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing