We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-22
ZenHotels.com
US$123
US$87
View deal
SAVE US$36
FindHotelUS$104
PricelineUS$104
StayForLongUS$123
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
65
42
50
21
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
65
42
50
21
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable hotel staff person business stay room was clean the staff was great cracker barrel complimentary breakfast enjoyed my stay exercise room great stay outdoor pool pet shift bathtub charleston interstate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 212 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2020

When we first walked into our room, the first thing I noted was all the lights were on. I thought this was odd, but it was almost 11:00 pm and we we tired after a long day. After we unpacked and got ready for bed, I went into the bathroom, looked in the trashcan and saw a tampoon wrapper and plastic insert in the can. I reported it to the front desk the next morning and was told that housekeeping would remove it. We were gone all day. When we returned to the room later that evening, the trash had NOT been removed. However, most of my husband's medication that he needs for pain from a motorcycle accident was gone. The thief only left him 2 pill from a bottle of 20 pills. We would NEVER stay at this hotel again. We would have made a police report but we had no way to prove theft. I reported this to the front desk. There reponse was, "I am so sorry." Because the medication is a controlled drug, it will be difficult to replace it. We have never had these issues when we stayed at a Choice Hotel across the street. When we go again, we will stay at Comfort Suites.

Room tip: Choose another hotel.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnebJ9806RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Owner at Wyndham Garden Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2020

Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We apologize for the unfortunate incident of you losing the prescribed medication from your room and for the difficulties you and your husband experienced. We are also sorry for the response you received when bringing this to our attention. We regret the inconvenience caused and appreciate your patience, while we investigate. We know that this stay may not have been the best, but we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you both back for the flawless experience you deserve.

DJ Gajjar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2020

The Hotel was very nice and clean and the pool as well. Price was okay and staff was friendly. The only problem was the reward points not given due to Booking ,com. I wasn't aware that I had to book the room from Wyndham website to get points and free night stay.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Owner at Wyndham Garden Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2020


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Wyndham Garden Summerville. We are delighted to know you not only loved our courteous service and well-kept hotel but also found us to be a good value. However, we regret the disappointment you had with regard to the reward points. We hope you will choose us again whenever your travel brings you our way.

DJ Gajjar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for a funeral this weekend. The staff was all very nice through out our stay. Room was nice, but we requested it be cleaned in morning because wasnt as clean as it should be, we arrived after 8:30PM. They did clean it and it was much better. However all the exterior trash cans and dog trash cans where all over flowing all weekend. Not once did they empty and by sunday all had trash around them. Drop off area had same 2 pieces of trash in all weekend. Designated smoking area was super nasty with trash and butts everywhere. Elevator floor was sticky and matts dirty all weekend. Hallways where filthy and need cleaned, look like throw up on a spot outside our rooms door. Also pool picture on website is misrepresenting the size and look of the pool. Much smaller in person and not near as nice looking as online. Exhaust fan in our bathroom was falling off and rusty. Remodel job was poorly done. Bar and entry where nicest part. Breakfast was amazing and the ladies serving where great too. They did have plenty of sanitation stations set up, so that was good. Building and cleanliness was not upto wyndam standards...still feels like the Holiday Inn. I have pictures, this site wont let me upload, just take one...but I bet you can imagine.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JessieSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2020

Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were here for a funeral. Although you were pleased with our courteous service and breakfast, we are very sorry for the disappointment you had with the cleanliness. We do not take these concerns lightly, especially with the cleanliness of our hotel, as this is an essential priority. We will address this matter with the head of our housekeeping department to ensure that it does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves on a future visit.

DJ Gajjar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2020

Always a good visit at this location. Have stayed here quite a few times and the experience is always good. The staff is very friendly and the rooms have been clean and comfortable. Most hotels with return visits have something that does not work on some of the visits. This location always has everything in the rooms working and presentable.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HCD246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2020

Thank you for always choosing Wyndham Garden Summerville while you are here for business. We are delighted to know our service and accommodations are always above and beyond your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great visit.

DJ Gajjar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2020

Hotel definitely needs to be updated. Room was decent. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Staff very accommodating with our large group. Floors in the hallways needed to be cleaned. Overall suited our needs for the weekend.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank crstwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2020

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend getaway. We are glad you were pleased with our friendly service as well as our delicious breakfast. However, we are very sorry for not meeting your expectations with the condition and cleanliness of our hotel. We have made a note of your feedback as we plan future renovations. Your comments have also been shared with the housekeeping team so that they can be more diligent about their work. We hope you will choose us again whenever your travel brings you our way.

DJ Gajjar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews