We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,145
408
134
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,145
408
134
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish shack beach bar fishing pier restaurants within walking distance surf diner pool and hot tub river city cafe small balcony ocean view across the street days inn great place to stay bike week clean rooms location was perfect short drive front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Where to begin? Booked in April after reading all the great reviews. Newly renovaed. Hah! When? 1980? The internet photos were decieveing. Anyway...we were excited to go and bad booked for May 5. But we could get out early so we re-booked for May 2. Had planned to say for 9-10 days;

We stayed for 2 hours tops. Checked in and the staff was pleasent. Got our stuff and dragged it up to the room. First thing we noticed was the smell of the evelvator. Old and musty. The floor was dirty and I got a sinking feeling thigs were not going to get any better. Got off the elvelator and the decor was circa 1972. Old and worn. Made it to the room and opened the door.

I can only describe the smell as old dog and cigarette cover-up spray. No smoking room, but obviously there was a ton of smoking on the balcony. This narrow, dirty sliver of cement with some broken chairs.

My wife said that maybe it wouldn't be so bad. The bathroom floor was dirty. The room was small, which would have been fine had it been clean, and didn't stink. The pool was/is in he parking lot with bar goers learing from above; There was no way my wife was going to hang out there with that crew.

We got some extra towels and went to get something to eat. But never made it to dinner. We went right to Mytrle Beach and checked in at the Hampton. Matter of fact we didn't even stay the night at the Surf Side. The Hampton suggested we try to get our money back.

We went back to the Surf Side to get our stuf. We felt bad, but hey, it's our money. We told the woman at the desk that this was not what we expected and were leaving. She was very nice about it and said, "I understand." She had to get her Mgr. Bill. Bill was ok with our desicion, but still charged us for the room. Matter of fact charged us for our original reservation and didn't give us or AAA discount. Which was totally wrong. He should have charged us for non weekend rate with the discount. But frankly we couldn't wait to get of there.

Resort? Maybe if your 22 or 72 years old and could care less what the accomidations are like. 22 if your with your pals and are just going to drink and could care less what the room is like, 72 if you stayed there many times and know what to expect. It was a $138 lesson.

Oh, yeah, I had read that they were working hard on renovating, including room safes. No room safes. I have no idea what all these other great reviews saw that we didn't.

Technically we stayed becasue we flushed the toilet and ran the shower to see if they worked. They did. That's the high. We knew about the old TV's prior to going, but figured it was no big deal. I'm sure it was swank in 1967, but where is the renovation? What a mess. I'd like my money back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank walts44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

I am sad to hear that your stay was less than what you had expected. We are always happy to work with our guests when there is a problem with their accommodations. I would urge any guest, no matter where they choose to stay, to allow the management and staff the opportunity to remedy any problems they may encounter during their stay. . Our hotel has undergone an extensive renovation including paint, carpets, bedding, draperies, bathroom fixtures, tile floors and more. The photos on the website are all current photos taken within the past few months. While not given the opportunity to assist in this instance , we are always willing to help if notified of any shortcomings. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We will use them to better our product and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Came to Myrtle Beach for a quick mini-vacation. Chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and the cost of the room. We had flown down on a crazy early flight. Called the hotel the day before to inquire about an early check-in. Thank goodness for Bill. Told me to just come on in and he would move some things around for us. Got to the hotel at 10:00AM and he had a room all ready for us. This made our day just so much better. Able to go to the beach, shower, relax. Otherwise, for the money this place is great. Rooms are very clean, refrigerator for waters, soda etc. Housekeeping very quick. Room was always done early in the morning. Ocean view. People at front desk extremely accommodating. I would recommend Surfside Beach Resort to anyone coming to this area. Oh, if I had one negative to give, it would be the elevators, boy are they slow.

Room Tip: HIgher up would be better for view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebjrnBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

I couldn't have said it any better. The Surfside Beach Resort has what you are looking for in an economical resort. We are smaller than many of the resorts along the Grand Strand and our elevators are a little slow but so are the days that you spend with us. From relaxing on the beach or having a cool drink at Scotty's Beach Bar to taking a stroll on the Surfside Beach Pier or simply enjoying the views up and down our beautiful coastline from you room, you will soon feel all those everyday tensions simply melting away. Our staff is great at putting you at ease and in touch with what's going on in the area. They know the places to take in and the ones to pass on by. We are pleased you had such a good time and we will be happy to see you when you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

So, this place was exactly what we wanted. Cheap, on the beach, pool and near food and bars. It was just three ladies...me, my mom and a best girlfriend. All we do is sit on the beach, drink beers, watch people, get a tan, go swimming...then clean up and go to dinner and then drinks. So this place was perfect.
There was not a lot of people around, the beach was pretty empty during the week. The weather was fantastic. The room was clean, hotel staff was nice, for the most part. We had a cooler, sipped beers. Went to Scotty's Beach Bar to get frosty pina coladas at 1pm. Then we'd hit the pool around 5. Then go up get showered and hit the local pubs and restaurants. Overall this place was great. It is "low" season so the rates were WAY reasonable. We loved it, we'd stay there again. The only thing that we got a chuckle out of was that the pool is literally in the parking lot and the beach bar over looks it...so sometimes you feel like you are on show when there is happy hour. But it was more comical than anything.
Supposedly they are making an area to host a continental breakfast. So that will be nice in the future. They did have coffee in the lobby. And a computer.
If you aren't in your room, you are running around this is the place for you. Cheap, clean and you could not have a better spot...so close to everything! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We got a room with no balcony. The balconies overlook the parking lots...they cost an extra $10 or more. I did fine without it....we were in room 204. It was at the end of the all, near the vending and ice machine. Since there was barely a sole in the hotel there was no noise or people walking by. It was also great because there was an entrance/exit right there to the beach/parking lot so you didn't have to continuously walk through the lobby. I'd actually request this room again.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmccart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for the nice comments. The Surfside Beach Resort is the perfect getaway spot for friends and family. We have shopping and restaurants all around us and the beach is just steps away from your room. Parking is convenient and the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Scotty's Beach Bar is a great place to hang out and watch the beach while enjoying a refreshing beverage. We are glad you found us and we look forward to your next visit to the Surfside Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place used to be the Days Inn. It was closed last year for remodeling so when we needed a place for 2 nites we thought this would be an excellent deal for the money. You really can't complain too much as you are right on the beach and the rate was only $69 for a room if you got no balcony and were on the side that faces north. I don't know why you would spend a lot of money remodeling and then put in old tv's. The bathroom was very small but the room itself was large. The beds were comfortable. We had one problem that should not have been a problem at all.My husband was recovering from surgery for a broken hip. We were told that when we traveled we should ask for a rubber bath mat for the tub.We were in 4 different resorts while in Fla. and this was never an issue. We went to the desk to ask for one and the clerk had no idea what we were asking for.I said it was a rubber mat that you put in the tub to prevent slipping in the shower. Still no hint of what we were talking about. She called a man from maintenance who also had no idea what I was talking about. Really? You don't know what rubber bath mats are? That being the only real problem, this was a good deal for the money and the location was excellent

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10 for a room with a balcony and ask for a room facing the south.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Auburn_NYVacationduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent stay on the Grand Strand of South Carolina. We are glad you took the time to comment on our resort. I am sorry for the misunderstanding about the rubber bath mats. When our rooms were recently renovated the tubs were replaced with new ones that have non slip bottoms. Because of this we do not have rubber mats available for our guests. We also have numerous handicap units with walk in showers and tubs that also have non slip floors. We still have some items to replace and televisions are on that list. We have replaced the sets in our suites and the others will follow shortly. Thanks again for your feedback and come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel filled all of our needs. It was on the beach and near restaurants. It was very clean and well kept. Our only complaint would be that the wi-fi and the elevators needed upgrading. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavTap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your travel needs. We do have one of the best locations on the Grand Strand if you want to be close to restaurants and shopping. We are also working to improve both our wi-fi system and our elevators. We hope to see you again soon and we hope you will tell your friends about the Surfside Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews