We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,759)
Filter reviews
1,759 results
Traveller rating
1,137
408
132
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
408
132
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish shack beach bar fishing pier restaurants within walking distance surf diner pool and hot tub river city cafe small balcony ocean view across the street great place to stay days inn bike week clean rooms location was perfect front desk staff short drive
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 1,759 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Our Niece had he wedding on Surfside beach so we wanted to stay at beach front hotel. After looking on the web we chose Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel which was 3 blocks from the wedding site. Paid extra for what I thought was an ocean front room
but the property does not have ocean front rooms all are ocean view rooms the extra charge was for the rooms on the ocean side of the elevator. Room was clean but dated and need more light to read at night. Unfortunately the Surfside pier next to the hotel was damaged by a past storm and was not open to fishing. The hotel just served coffee but there were a couple of good restaurants around to eat breakfast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same with small balcony that you can see the beach. Just have to pick North side view or South side view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear JeffNashville_TN,
Thank you for staying with us while visiting for your niece's wedding. We are situated on the beach, however all rooms offer a side view to the ocean so all rooms have a view. We are pleased you enjoyed the restaurants within steps from the hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

The hotel is on the beach with many accommodations nearby. It was relaxing and close to excitement if you wanted. The staff were wonderful and was available for any need. The restaurant next to the hotel was convenient and had excellent service and food.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katina_lpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear katina_lpc,
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our wonderful staff and great location close to several restaurants and shops. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

To not be a chain hotel, I was impressed with the operation. Staff was helpful and courteous. Check in was easy and smooth as possible. Stayed in a King size bedroom. you could tell the room had been recently renovated and looked nice. Nice view of the ocean from the balcony. There was a little self serve kitchen area which offered Starbucks coffee. Would have been nice to have a restaurant in the lobby, but not that big of a deal as the hotel was in walking distance of several restaurants and a few minutes drive to many other options. Would stay there again in the future if staying in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoelStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Joel Stokes,
Thanks for staying with us and reviewing the hotel. We are so happy you not only enjoyed you lean room with a nice view, but also like the convenient location with 4 restaurants, 2 ice cream shops, 2 gift shops and Scotty's Beach Bar just steps from the hotel.
Thanks again and hope you'll return soon.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

After a long ride, Zach, Taylor and Karston at the front desk were a wonderful sight with their welcoming smiles and eagerness to make our stay fabulous.
Bill was quick to come out when he heard us arrive to ensure we had what we needed.
A great place to stay! Staff made us feel like they were happy we were here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Dina W,
Thank you for staying with us. We are "happy that you are here to stay with us". We are lucky to have such a great team working for us. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I made the mistake of booking a horrible hotel in Myrtle Beach, and needed to find another hotel vacancy right away. This hotel only has side view of the beach, but it is still nice. The rooms are newly remodeled, the front desk is more then helpful, I couldn't possibly say enough about how wonderful it was to finally be able to relax after a long solo drive from PA. I booked the room on Sunday night and when I called the next morning to confirm and my room was ready, although it's only a few miles away from Myrtle Beach, it seemed a world away as far as the service and atmosphere. I am a smoker and I appreciate the fact that this hotel has a nice smoking area for those of us who care to indulge. I have seen some reviews that state the fact that you have to walk through the smoke to get to the entrance, this is totally not true, there are 4 or 5 different entrances that will take a non smoker into the building.

Room Tip: Best small hotel ever !
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bellasnana4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear bellasnana,
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our newly remodeled rooms and our helpful front desk. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews