We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I visited and stayed for 4 evenings 10/23/11 thru 10/27/11.We could not have been happier. Every member of the staff was not only friendly, but also very attentive. The room was great on the 4th floor overlooking the beach. The room was clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable as well.The breakfast was great, and the wait staff was great too. We walked the uncrowded beach each day and even got a couple of dips into the ocean. Grant it that it was off season, what a great place to visit - no crowds. Each day was sunny and in the mid 70's. A great escape from a cold fall in Massachusetts (we had a foot of snow when we got home). We will return again, and enjoy another stay at this hotel in the future! If you are looking for a quiet vacation in the Myrtle Beach area; this is the place!

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room on the upper flooors. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear about your experience this past October. You are correct, weather can be outstanding all the way to Thanksgiving. If you are traveling from an area that normally gets colder in September and October, we are the perfect fit. Temperatures are normally in the mid 70's.

If weather is a concern or if you simply have a room request, please call us directly in advance and we will be happy to do our best to meet those needs or answer any questions.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed one night. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. A good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to have met your expectations and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

South of Myrtle Beach, but an easy drive to all attractions, this small resort is nestled between beachfront homes rather than in the strip of skyrise hotels north. This property features a pool, hot tub, restaurant, bar, and seasonal Tiki Hut and ice cream stand. Probably better suited to couples then young families. The beach was not crowded at all in September. One evening I witnessed a wedding from our surfside balcony. Friendly staff, buffet breakfast not included, free coffer for Priority Club members.

Room Tip: A beachside balcony may cost you a $30 upgrade, but with a table and chairs out there, and sliding d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for these wonderful comments. You did an excellent job describing not only the hotels location but all amenities, thank you! We are located south of Myrtle Beach, in a quiet location close enough to the areas events and activities.

April, May, September and October are at times the best weather months to visit. The area is less crowded and all the attractions/entertainment venues are in full swing.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location if you prefer to be on the beach and not in the heart of Myrtle Beach action. Unfortunately we got a very lousy experiense while staying in this hotel which was so unlike what we had gotten used to in Holiday Inn hotels. The restaurant staff was excellent and the room cleaning staff did the best they could. Our room was dark but clean, however, the open garbage bin right below our balcony was so stinky that we could not use the balcony at all, not that it would have been any good anyway, because of the huge and noicy air condition machines right below as well. The garbage truck came to empty the bins every night except Sunday around 2-3 a.m. and the banging was so loud we could not sleep. Last but maybe not the least the lounge chair paddings were dirty and stinky and there were animal feces under several chairs one morning when we tried to use them. Needless to say we were disappointed and will not go there anymore. Not the typical Holiday Inn quality.

Room Tip: If you can't get a quaranteed sea side room on the two top floors, forget this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Maankiertaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a response regarding your stay. I wish that you had left with a better impression and would be happy to speak with you offline.

We do have dumpsters used for the hotel that are located along the north side of the property. The trash is removed from these dumpster on a regular basis throughout the week. Our trash services can start as early as 7am, we do not have trash service overnight.

Pets are not permitted on pool deck. We are a pet friendly hotel. The pool deck, furniture, and pool are serviced daily. Please check out our pictures online for a better idea.

Our hotel does pride ourselves on cleanliness. We were awarded the 2011 Gold Star of Excellence Award for cleanliness. This is the second year in a row we have received. This award is voted on by local peers and business professionals in the community.

We would love to show our property off to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Visiting with our four legged friend, we were assigned a room that faced away from the ocean. The staff was accomodating in moving us to an oceanview room the next night -albeit at a premium rate. Situated in a residential neighboorhood, away from the hustle and bustle of US 17, this hotel offers a nice quiet beach vacation spot for couples or family. Swimming pool, tiki bar, and poolside restaurant are within steps of the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChasMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thank you for your response. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. More importantly, I am happy with our staff's responsiveness to your needs. We strive to exceed expectations with product and services.

We do offer a full service experience. Restaurant and lounge are onsite, with a seasonal ice cream shop and outdoor poolside bar. Our location is south of Myrtle Beach, but close enough to all the activities! Pets welcome!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were traveling through from the Outer Banks to Hilton Head and named our own price for a night and were placed here. It ended up be the best hotel of our trip.

The property is right on the beach and not in the crowded tourist area. We swam in the Ocean and the pool. Our room was on the side away from the beach but could see the ocean from our balcony if we looked left.

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hate2stayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for this wonderful response! I am very pleased you found our hotel along your trip. I appreciate your brief description of our property and location; you summed us up very well!

We will definitely be here the next time to venture to the South Carolina coast!
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had a great 1st visit to the Myrtle Beach area and I am glad that we stayed at the Surfside Holiday Inn! It was a small drive to the actual Myrtle Beach action, but it was also much quieter on our beach than if we had stayed right in the main area.
After reading some of the reviews on here, we were a little hesitant to stay here, but since it was a last minute vacation, we took our chances. We were pleasantly surprised. The main thing we knew was that we wanted ocean VIEW, we wanted to be able to go our on our balcony and look straight at the ocean. This is the spot! No buildings, trees, houses or anything blocking our view. We were only feet away from the sand.

1) The staff was wonderful! Friendly! Helpful!
2) Our room was great. The lobby was constantly being cleaned. Our hallway was clean. The pool area was clean. For being feet away from the ocean, this has to be a hard job. I was so surprised that the pool had little sand in it.
3) We did have an issue with our tub..it wasn't draining. Called the first day, they came and fixed it while we were out...no issue after that.
4) We asked for extra blankets, pillows, toothbrush....never turned us down. Always helped us with a smile.

Because of the wonderful people who leave wonderful tips, we knew to ask for the highest floor room. We ended up at the top floor. Our room was great and clean. Sure, it isn't the fanciest of rooms...but we weren't there to be in the room, we were there to be on the beach. It has seen a lot of people, but it was always clean.
We visited during the week in the first week of August. I'm sure the weekends get much more busy, but our time was great.
We went horseback riding at the Inlet Plantation Horse place. Great time there also. Friendly people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as you can. Oceanfront is a must! Why go to the ocean and not look out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frmgrl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

After reading your comments, I understand this was your first visit. We hope you make several more to Surfside Beach!!

I pleased to hear your feedback regarding cleanliness and condition. I am even happier to hear of our quick action and resolution to the concern that arose with your bath tub drain.

Thank you for this excellent feedback, we will definitely share this with our staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.7 km away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
111 reviews
1.2 km away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
9.1 km away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
20.7 km away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: $124 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant and Tiki Hut Lounge offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing