We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
183
189
109
49
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
189
109
49
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool lazy river partial kitchen myrtle beach bedroom loft through rci poolside grill jetted tub full kitchen weight room washer and dryer brookgreen gardens short drive exercise room breakfast buffet king bed murrells inlet
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 608 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Our check in was a breeze, we arrived early and our villa was ready!! We were able to get in and watch the football games!!! We had a 2nd floor unit and everything was great, the unit was bright and very nice. It had everything we needed to hold us until we were able to go to the store. This was s great week! I would highly recommend staying at the resort!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsMack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantationResort1, Communications Department at Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

MsMack12, thank you for sharing this review. So glad you enjoyed the resort and your week here. We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

The resort was a nice place to stay. Check-in was a breeze. Our unit was in good condition. It was bright and cheery, clean, and comfortable. We really liked the outdoor pool. We were there off season, so it wasn’t really crowded, which was nice. It had plenty of loungers, tables, and umbrellas. There was a snack bar open during the day, or you could bring your own drinks in. The pool was quite large, and had two separate step entrances, and also a couple ladder ones. It only ranged from 3 to 4.5 feet though. I didn’t get a chance to do any resort activities, but there were a couple that sounded fun. The beach shuttle was nice so we didn’t worry about having to look/pay for parking.

A couple of slight annoyances included no pizza cutter in the unit, but the last few places we have stayed didn’t have one either so I guess I just need to start packing one. Also, the kitchen was a narrow galley kitchen, and the fridge was at the far end. It opened up toward the wall, making it awkward to try and squeeze past it to put stuff in or take stuff out. It was the kind that the door could be reversed to open either way, so I was surprised they hadn’t changed it around.

The WORST part of our stay was the Wyndham salespeople. Apparently they bought the resort very recently. At check-in the concierge promised us the amount of our RCI exchange fee in gift cards and/or show tickets, plus free breakfast buffet if we attended their 90 minute sales presentation the next morning. Well, we went, thinking we can give up 90 minutes of our day. BIG MISTAKE! HUGE! Breakfast wasn’t that great, and after listening to the presentation on the benefits of owning in Wyndham, they started in on the costs of people vacationing without it. We said we don’t care about that, how much is it to buy in? They wouldn’t tell us, and had to finish their spiel. Eventually, long after the 90 minutes they promised, they told us the price. Maintenance fees were much higher than where we currently own, and it costs thirty times more upfront to buy into it. We explained this to them, so head kid says he will go process us out. Well, 15 minutes later he comes back and says they can reduce the price by thousands. That royally ticked me off! We weren’t dumb enough to buy in at the outrageous price so all of a sudden it drops? We ran the numbers again, and still was too high. We could buy another week at our current resort and be money ahead. After some more prodding, and nearly THREE HOURS, they finally give up on us and give us the paper to go get our gift cards. I had also mentioned to them that it was the actual day of my birthday, the reason for our vacation, and asked if they could give us an extra gift card since they took up TWICE the time they promised, but of course it was a no. I gave up half my day for those jerks! All the way home, when I looked for hotels to stay at, if it said it was owned by Wyndham, I didn’t even look at prices or amenities. And I will continue this habit in future travels as well.

As for non-resort activities and eating, my favorites were Beachbeads Glass studio and Nacho Hippo. Beachbeads was very accommodating about doing a class on my schedule, and had plenty to choose from. Nacho Hippo was THE BEST FOOD EVER! Also had fun parasailing and visiting Ripley’s Aquarium.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SmallTownND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantationResort1, Communications Department at Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

SmallTownND, thank you for taking the time to write this review. So glad you enjoyed the resort and amenities while you were here. Plantation Resort is privately owned and operated and has partnered with Wyndham for sales and marketing. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional vacation and we apologize for your experience during the sales presentation. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This resort / villa was beautiful ( 200/F1/ this is 1st floor )
Large LR - with coffee table 2 chairs and pull out sofa & tv( wish had ceiling fan)- full kitchen -washer dryer -
1 large bathroom with shower and jetted tub- ( wish had perhaps additional half bath)
2 outdoor sitting areas ( 1 outside slab patio- 1 screen in room ( wish had ceiling fan!)( both areas had chairs and tables)
Large bedroom with king size bed -large walk in closet & had ceiling fan - large dresser / tv & two nightstand . Full AC in villa .
Across from area 200 is recreation center - huge indoor pool- 2 outdoor lounges- exercise room ( fully equipped )-play room- dining area - little way down the street is outdoor pool - kiddie pool-so much more)- upon registering and getting key - you receive " guest pass "for recreation center and pool areas. - they do have shuttle buses.
Soo much to see and do! Unfortunately we had mandatory emergency evacuation ( due to hurricane Florence)
( arrived 9/9/2018 and had to leave by 9/11/2018 - )-should of left 9/16/2018 !
The drive back to Connecticut was horrible!
Truly hope they rebuild up resort /' area again as would definitely want to revisit !
Everyone was friendly- ( felt very safe and welcoming- we had wonderful seafood buffet at " captain jacks " before we were evacuated !
If this is rebuilt - definitely book this resort & visit !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nguesu1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantationResort1, Communications Department at Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

So glad you had an enjoyable time! The Resort is doing well and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

My wife and I stayed here as part of Our RCI travel. The Resort is nice and our one bedroom condo was comfortable and well equipped for our week long stay. There were a couple of issues with the room but Housekeeping and maintenance took care of them very quickly. The WiFi was excellent and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook a couple of meals and enjoy a relaxing time.
The bad issues are we attended the presentation which we felt were pressured to do so and after a total waste of 2.5 Hrs. left frustrated and saying never again. Deborah was nice to chat with but the other lady could be better at her job and acquire more info on the travel industry. I would stay here again but the promise of free gifts is definitely not worth the time for the presentation.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantationResort1, Communications Department at Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Shane C, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort while you were here. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional vacation and we apologize for your experience during the presentation. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I drove in for a weekend getaway. From check in on it was a bit of a disaster. Check in took forever then we were asked to line up for the resort parking pass. As we had already been there I said we would come back so we didn’t miss our dinner reservation. Cut short our dinner to be back on time for a parking pass which turned out to be a ruse for a time share presentation. We were a little ticked at this point. Room was clean but not exceptional for a resort. Our challenge was a malfunctioning fan that made random noises that sounded like a muffled fire alarm at random intervals even when it was turned off so almost no sleep. It took 2 calls to maintenance for repair and lost use of room to come back and clean up for dinner. Pool was nice and convenient hourly shuttle to the beach. Will not come back or recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarolS2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantationResort1, Communications Department at Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

CarolS2114, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and shuttle. Our goal is to provide each guest with an exceptional vacation experience and we greatly appreciate your feedback, especially about the room. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews