We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
11
1
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
1
0
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stopped in in December with lots of vacancies to be had. Looking for long term rental of a year or longer as I was working construction at the power plant. Asked if rates would change for summer and response was as long as you commit to stay long term it would be no problem at all and nothing would change. Well after we got them through their dead time, now all of a sudden rates go up $500 a month and oh yeah we need everyone to move out for 2 weeks since we can rent the whole resort to one group. Then of course you are welcome to come back. When I asked why they didn't tell me this in December, the response was "we just couldn't predict the future back then." All I can say is construction workers beware as they will tell what ever you want to hear and then do whatever profits them the most. Now as far as the rooms go... the fan on the heater shuts off for about 30 seconds at a time. If your watching tv, the remote never leaves your hand because of the volume. The walls have no insulation between units and you can hear a normal conversation in the unit next door without trying. Other than the view I have no positive comments for the place or the owners.

Room tip: heres a tip...look elsewhere
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdfitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We returned to Schmidts Landing again this year because we had such a great time last year. We brought 2 more families with us and everyone wants to return again next year. Fishing was good, the resort clean and well stocked with everything you need. This is a great place to go with a family. Kids went up every morning for waffles in the C store. Cabins were clean, stocked with everything we needed. Jim picks up the garbage multiple times during the day and the fish cleaning house is also cleaned several times throughout the day. If you don't want to go out in the boat you can catch plenty of fish from the dock as well. We will return again next year.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanakerans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm going to be 100% truthful so if you want "fluff" don't read this. I thought about this for months and decided I would be remiss to not post.
No matter when you book both Jim and Donna will tell you "that's our second busiest time of year". We believed them, but when we arrived there were only 3 units rented the entire week we were there. They may promise you a specific unit but you probably won't get it. They promised my dad the end unit as he has a heart condition and trouble walking, but when we got there they had already given it to someone else. The one bright side is the Walleye fishing. If big Jim says they are not biting...well they probably ARE biting. If he tries to sell you a lure it's not because fish are biting on that lure but more likely because he has a large stockpile of them for a kick back from the distributor. We caught fish--walleye, perch, bass, etc from the dock and from the boat on both worms and minnows. Never tried his lures-didn't need to! The water level was so low that using the dock for the boat was nearly impossible.
The rooms: the units are a nice size as far as that goes, but as a previous poster had mentioned they have a worn out couches and a flimsy table and hard bench. Neither the kitchen the bathroom nor the bedrooms have ANY storage or counter top for you to use so you end up living out of your suitcase which has to sit on the floor. The stove/oven is so small we had to cut the sides off the pizza to fit it in and one burner didn't work. If you are a coffee lover bring your own pot as theirs is a small 2-3 cupper. All of the appliances are small and the cheapest ever made. It just drives you nuts to not have any place to put any of your stuff in the kitchen or bathroom. The bedrooms each have a rock hard "full" sized bed and a folding chair. There is no dresser or closets, just a bakers rack type of deal to hang up clothes.
The walls are paper thin, if you sneeze the person in the next room WILL bless you so be mindful of your bedroom activities if you know what I mean!
The unit was clean and there are brooms, fly-swatters and a small vacuum supplied so you can do your own clean-up also which they encourage.
We were looking for a place to have a family reunion but I don't this is it. Love the fishing tho!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lulu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visit Jim and Donna every year for the fishing opener. It is a great time. The fishing is good, and the hosts helpful. Can't wait to go back. It is a very well run campground and very well maintained. Yes there are rules just like any other resort but they are for everybody

Room tip: we brought a camper
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just got back from a week stay at Schmidt's Landing. Donna and Jim were excellent hosts and went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. The fisher people in our foursome were out every day in the boat that was provided in our package and, following Jim's advice on where to fish, caught a bunch. I mainly stayed around the cabin and on the grounds and read, but did go out a couple of times and caught 5 fish on my own. The cabins have all been completely remodeled, were clean and well maintained. Since they make it very clear in their brochure that if you are looking for a place to have a wild party, look elsewhere, it was a very peaceful environment and beautiful setting. We would highly recommend this resort.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattyg1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews