We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Passing through and needed a place to stay. Made an on-line reservation on the road. Its close to the interstate, check in went smoothly. We stayed late Dec., it was really cold outside, we get to our room, they didn't have the heat on. We sat with our coats on for over 30 mins., had grabbed fast food to eat in our room, had to eat it quick before it got cold. The in-room heater wasn't blowing out a lot of warm air, so it did take a long time to heat the room. We went to bed with it on high, and sometime in the middle of the night it warmed up enough we woke up hot and had to dial it down.

We had a queen room, it was about what is to be expected for the price. It seemed clean, linens were fresh, but as with most hotels, I wish they would learn to put more stuffing in the pillows. Three of them together wouldn't make a good pillow. Good for the price.

Room Tip: Only thing I can say is ask them to turn heat on prior to arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Road Trip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out our survey. We appreciate you comments and will look into why the heat wasn't on. I apologize for the room being cold. No one wants to walk into a cold room in the winter time. But, we are so glad that the rest of your stay was good. Thank you for staying with us.

We hope you will give us another try the next time you are in Brookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

We booked the room on line about 3 hours away and had no problem getting a nice clean double for the night. The room was OK, but the breakfast was very good for a semi-budget hotel. I would definitely stay here again if passing through. The internet connection wasn't as strong as we would have liked it to be.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs about in the middle - all was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our main focus is for our guest to have an enjoyable stay in a clean room. We'll have the internet checked out and make sure it's working correctly.

We hope you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We were in Brookings for a SDSU college visit for my son.

Quality inn was a nice place to stay. That is literally the only thing we did was sleep there as we didn't spend any other time there. Basic hotel with basic amenities which was fine for us for a quick stay. Things were clean and maintained

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out our survey. We appreciate your good comments on the hotel. We strive to make your stay a comfortable, clean, and quiet one.

We hope you'll stay with us again the next time to come to Brookings to visit your son.

Go Jacks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I changed my plans on this particular day because it was obvious that I wasn't going to make my destination, in Minnesota. When I asked if there were rooms available, I was told "yes." The young lady at the front desk, probably a local college student, she was about that age, asked me what I preferred in a room and check in was quick and professional. After I got to my room, I was surprised to discover she had given me a suite but charged me for a king room! I thanked her for it when I went back downstairs later and she said very sweetly "You're welcome sir." That, plus getting a suite, made my day on a day when I was way behind schedule. The room was clean, but not immaculate. There were a few minor cosmetic issues, but nothing to complain about. I would stay here again if I am ever in Brookings again. There is a railroad nearby, so there is some train noise, but it isn't that bad.
I did not eat breakfast at the hotel because I prefer to eat out when I can. This hotel was a Comfort Inn until very recently. It is on the east side of Brookings and not far from South Dakota State University. It is close to everything, restaurants, shopping and convenience stores. It is also just down the street from the university's arboretum.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brushcountrydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn, and taking the time to fill out the survey. We are so glad you liked your room, the staff, and the hotel in general.

The staff does an excellent job of making sure every guests stay is a good one. We look forward to you staying with again when you pass through Brookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Overall the motel was pretty decent, but it is showing some age. I would have given it a 4 star rating (it was quiet and pretty clean) if I had paid $69 for the room. It cost $100 with a AAA discount. It was not even close to a $100 room. I think I should have paid an extra $10 and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express or Hampton down the road. Very visible difference in upkeep from the outside.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank pd722016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. We feel we provide good value to our guests with a quiet, clean, friendly hotel that serves a good breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased overall with our accommodations! The one thing I always look at when we stay somewhere is the breakfast reviews - this Quality had a great, FREE, hot and yummy breakfast. A variety to choose from: cereals, bagels, toast, muffins, egg omelets and ham one day, biscuits and gravy the next, 2 kinds of waffles, 4 kinds of juices and milk and coffee. Plus, the lady running the breakfast area was very nice and very visible, so you didn't have to hunt her down (like in so many other places) if you needed her.

The Quality Inn is a bit outdated with old carpet and some minor cosmetic issues, but the staff, cleanliness and comfort of our room, and of course price made up for that. We definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busyx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

quality inn was quality. great breakfast and comfortable room.s bathtub was a little small but it worked. the staff was great when the tornado sirens went off and they asked everyone to go downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannonmarye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Brookings
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
1 km away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
0.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Brookings
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 514 Sunrise Ridge Rd, Brookings, SD 57006-2455 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Brookings
Brookings Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing