We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place for a night.”
Review of A Bridge View Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamberlain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bridge View Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice little place for a night.”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The wife and I live in Minnesota and make a pilgrimage to the Black Hills quite often. Since we usually leave after work on Friday, we've been staying in Mitchell but this time we had a little more time and remembering how much we liked the Missouri River I looked for a place with a view. This was it. Sherry, the owner, was very personable and showed us a few places to eat. Room was great for the price. A little musty, it IS right on the river, but after awhile it was no problem. TV, shower had great water pressure, and a comfy bed. Got an early Saturday morning start and we were an hour closer to Deadwood than usual. (After the obigatory stop in Wall but that's a story for another day). Sherry made sure we took some muffins along.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SYOSSET
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

A very reasonably priced mom/pop motel...reminiscent of those of days gone by. The room was extremely clean, the bed very comfortable, the owner extremely personable and the view of the bridge and Missouri from the gazebo outside spectacular. Muffins and coffee were available in the morning to enjoy as you watched the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redfoot620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here on our way to and way back from Yellowstone. It's nice to see friendly privately-owned motels are still around here and there. It's not fancy but it certainly had everything we needed, including bags of ice for the cooler and a nice porch and many chairs to watch the boats come in at sunset.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayray66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I was so impressed with the family who owns the place - so friendly to me and my children, they went out of their to make our stay nice! The location was lovely too, right on the river and very quiet neighborhood. The room was a bit musty, but I just think that goes with the territory on a older hotel with a humid climate. It really is a nice place to stay overnight on a roadtrip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Clean, older hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was quiet all night. The beds could use a little updating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lava9611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Every summer we love to stop at this motel. It is an older motel (Mom and Pop type) but very clean, the service is excellent. The owner is very courteous and friendly. The location is incredibly quiet. However, the main feature is the view of the river and the sunsets which make a stunning combination. This is certainly a reasonably-priced place to bed down but what makes it so special is that it's an oasis. Plan to get there in time to sit outside in the gazebo or on a comfortable bench seat and watch the sun go down. One year we arrived on the Fourth of July and the fireworks on the river were spectacular. Across the river you'll see an expensive, five-star resort, but they are the wrong shore to be able to watch the sun go down, and in our opinion that's a perk that money can't buy. And, after the sun goes down you can take a walk just down the street to a small park that borders the river, or take an evening walk on an easy and near-by trail. We really love this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bllgcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel and met friends to ride the river on our motorcycles. This place was wonderful! Clean rooms with no frills. I would come back here and stay without hesitation. We had a wonderful time.
The owner was helpful and friendly. She assisted us with where to eat and go in town and was very knowlegable about restaurants in the area and other sites and attractions. A Family run motel. You could not ask for a nicer place to stay.
I can't say enough about the great service we recieved.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deblpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamberlain
1.7 km away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#4 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.1 km away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#4 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
5.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.9 km away
Oasis Inn
Oasis Inn
#5 of 6 in Oacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bridge View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bridge View Inn

Property: A Bridge View Inn
Address: 115 North River Street, Chamberlain, SD 57325-1245
Region: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
a Bridge View Hotel Chamberlain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing