We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
90
98
61
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
98
61
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib bus tour covered parking coffee machine breakfast buffet booked this hotel casino hotel clean rooms fridge and microwave trolley stop easy access nice room cadillac jacks shuttle downtown travelodge vehicle
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 289 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Judging by the photos online I was expecting a much nicer hotel. As soon as we walked in it smelled old and musty. The whole place looks like it needs an update, from the casino to the buffet to the rooms. I booked it non-refundable through an airline, or we would have moved to another hotel. We stayed in the "main" building that housed the casino. Maybe the Travelodge rooms are nicer, but I don't know since we never saw them. I found the atmosphere to be kind of depressing, along the lines of one of the older hotels in Atlantic City that's getting seedy. We went to The Lodge for dinner one night, and that was WAAAY nicer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LisaLovesTheSkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Enjoyed our stay First Gold Casino & Hotel, Only one thing lets it down for us was, its not until you get there they tell you you're staying 200yds up the Rd, in the Travelodge, so have a short walk to the casino during your stay, the rooms were very nice & roomy, with fridge & micro, great breakfast in the casino for $4,

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

David, Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and our rooms along with breakfast. Hope you choose us on your next visit to Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I decided to jump on the bike no idea where to go. Heading north then west we stopped and called the First gold /Travelodge in Deadwood South Dakota. We arrived around 3:00 pm the staff at the front desk greeted us with smile and welcomes. Went to eat dinner, of course the food was outstanding and service was top notch. Rooms are very clean. I highly recommend this property for a top-notch stay in the Blackhills. We just love the staff, so friendly .

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ironhorse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Ironhorse5, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you had a great ride and chose us here at First Gold for your stay. Happy that you enjoyed our dinner buffet and our services. See you on your next riding adventure to Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at First Gold for a weekend getaway and couldn't be happier. One of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in! The staff was very nice and very helpful. We also spent a lot of time in the casino and the employees were very friendly. We felt like family by the end of the weekend! We will definitely recommend First Gold to our friends and family!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Char, Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful buffet. Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends. Hope to see you on your next visit to Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We had the pleasure of staying in a 2 room suite for 2 days. Very roomy livingroom with a pull out bed, 2 chairs, nice tv and its own bathroom. And the adjoining room with 2 comfortable beds and another bathroom. Perfect for the 4 of us. Nice fridge and freezer which definately came im handy. And a coffee machine with a nice selection of coffees and teas. Plus a great view of downtown Deadwood. Easy walking distance to experience the rest that Deadwood has to offer especially First Gold Casino and the Deadwood Mountain Grand. All the staff members were very helpfull and cheerfull. Plus the breakfast buffet was the best ive ever had. I would highly reccomend staying here. I can't wait to come back

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Mary, Thanks for the review. We here at First Gold are glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Hope to see you next time you visit Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews