We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Get away from it all, including WiFi”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Cottage

Wake up to this in the morning.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wake up to this in the morning.
Aerial view of the Mill (centre) and the cottages (far right) Kingfisher Cottage from across the mill pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Wake up to this in the morning.
Aerial view of the Mill (centre) and the cottages (far right)
Kingfisher Cottage from across the mill pond
Big enough for two?
No, it's not a real fire although it can get hot
Looking out across the millpond from the kitchen
Stormy skies over the millpond
The mill gardens can also be stunning in deepest winter
Frosty river at the Mill
Sunset at the coast
Most people sleep really well here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Itteringham, Aylsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JackQuate...
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get away from it all, including WiFi”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at the cottage and I'd highly recommend it. Everywhere we wanted to go while on holiday seemed just under half an hour away which was great. Visiting some of the busier spots it was also good to know we were always returning to the peace of the Mill.

Considering the cottage only sleeps 2 it's huge and there's ample parking. In addition there's a large garden you can make use of.

I'm deducting 1 green spot because on arrival the male half of the owners had no idea we were arriving and seemed a bit sceptical of our story. In addition for want of a 20 pound signal repeater in one of the mill's south facing windows the WiFi is awful. Also as the toilet cistern finishes filling the most bizarre whine is emitted that can be heard in both cottages.

We ate at the Walpole Arms which is just at the end of the drive and not busy out of season but failed to get to the shop that I've heard a lot about, but maybe next time?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness of the site
Liked least: poor WiFi and whining toilet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your review. Can only apologise for the confusion on your arrival. We do have a repeater in the mill for WiFi but the main problem is our distance from the exchange. The noise from the cistern is a concern. I have tried changing and cleaning the valve but the problem comes back. I think we will need to fit a pressure reducer or go back to the good old old-fashioned brass valve - these plastic things aren't up to the job.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0036
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent location , quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

excellent location , peaceful and quiet , hosts very pleasant and helpful.
kingfishers cottage couldn't be faulted a beautiful well presented property.
nice to wake up and look out over the mill pond and lovely gardens.
a bonus is the gastro/pub at the end of the drive, if you don't fancy cooking.
i wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rural location plus peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallya196...
Stotfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A very warm welcome from the lovely owners, the cottage was very comfortable, a home from home feel to it and adequate heating if required. Very picturesque surroundings, local pub at the end of the drive serving excellent food. Would definitely like to visit again in the future and would certainly recommend the cottage to family/friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet surroundings
Liked least: for me the mattress was a little too hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha48
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful peaceful location”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage is set in a peaceful location, it was very clean and well equipped, lovely and cosy to come back to after a day out. The owners very nice and friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing