We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Whispering Winds Cottages(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Inn(Hill City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Inn(Hill City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
51
13
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
13
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenblack hillssatellite tvgreat hostscuster state parkcomfortable bedsneedles highwaymount rushmoreporchceciliacabinattractionsgrandchildrengrillkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose Janssen's Lodestone for our vacation for the reasonable price and because they were dog friendly. Though we knew they were close to the Black Hills attractions we were pleasantly surprised at how close. Hill City was also very close and a nice town to walk around. We enjoyed log cabin, #4, though it was small it was the perfect size for us and our dog. The cabin was clean and provided all that we needed for our stay. Relaxing in the porch swing was quite nice. The owners were friendly and their greeter, a large Newfie called Watson, made us feel welcome. Would I chose to stay here again? In a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank stevenjo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2012

3 adults and 2 kids (suite would accommodate another adult and child or 2) used this very clean and friendly and very conveniently located motel as home base to explore the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Harney peak trailhead were within a 20 min drive. Wind Cave Nat'l Park was a little further but the drive there on 87 is BEAUTIFUL. We packed light since we weren't camping and it was nice to pull the car off the road and right up to our motel door. We booked 2 adjoining rooms to create a "suite" with a "kitchenette" which was more of a small kitchen with a beautiful view of the creek and birds and bright morning sunshine and all 5 of us could sit down to breakfast together (and fits a 500 pc. puzzle). Since we had two rooms we also had 2 bathrooms-one with a shower, one with a shower/tub which was nice. The motel has a nice setting porch out front with a beautiful view of the craggy rocks and pines across the road and a very friendly, large and disinterested Newfoundland dog seemed to be the motel mascot. There is a lovely small garden in front and some open area but no real recreation options on site which was good because we were way too busy to spend any time besides meals and sleeping at the motel, which had good quality blue gingham sheets, nice firm mattresses and plenty of pillows. There is a groc/liquor/hardware store a quarter mile down the road and beyond that, Hill City which looks to be a lovely tourist/cabin town with plenty of restaurants and an outdoor RR museum AND Diary Queen.

Room Tip: We had rooms 5 and 6. There is a little highway noise and voices can be heard out in front if people are talking there. The walls between rooms are cinderblock and very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for one night in a cabin. I will say it felt a bit dated in terms of furniture. The couch could use an upgrade and it felt a bit "old." The bathroom, however, was perfect. It felt remodeled and was nice in the morning.

The service was awesome! We got in late and the owner waited up for us. You don't get that kind of service at a national chain (like you would find in Keystone).

It is a bit rugged, so if you are looking for modern, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want to crack a beer, swing on your mini porch or simply hit the bed, this is affordable and perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvrandshker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2012

There were absolutely no amenities at Lodestone Cabins. It was very, very 'barebones', but it was clean. There is no place to relax or sit and eat except outside which has a table and chairs. Only three hooks in the main room, no where to hang anything. Bathroom is very small. Toilet is between two walls and when sitting, your elbows can touch the walls. Barely enough room to wipe your butt. One bed was fine, other saggy in middle.

My biggest mistake was not to ask to see the cabin before they ran my credit card. I was told earlier there is no cancellation policy once you check in. You are responsible for the full amount whether you leave or not.

Like I mentioned, the place was clean and the owners nice, but I definitely would not stay there again!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank lorilynn1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My father and I stayed here for four nights. It was his first trip to the Black Hills, my second. The central location and easy access was fantastic. We received some good local dining suggestions from the owner and tried different places each day. Our cabin was comfortable and very well maintained. Very pleased with the accomodations and the experience. We enjoyed using the cabin's grill and kitchen for one night of playing cards and hanging out. They have enough things in the kitchen to do all the basics. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews